We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service and the most feel-at-home B&B in Cusco”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a review for a hotel and let me start by saying that the service we received at Torre Dorada was better than any hotel I have ever been......anywhere. We traveled to Cusco en route to our hike along the Inca Trail to Macchu Picchu and my fiancé found this wonderful hotel on TripAdvisor. She did all of the research, read all of the reviews and, well......their reviews were absolutely right!! We were promptly picked up from the airport by one of the friendliest drivers you will find in Cusco and when we arrived at Torre Dorada all of the staff went above and beyond to make us feel like we were at our home away from home. We were greeted at the door with a warm welcome from the owner (Peggy) and fresh hot tea! Our rooms were cozy and exceptionally clean. When we asked the concierge for restaurant recommendations on our first night, he directed us to one of the THE BEST restaurants in Cusco. The next morning we had breakfast in their café, with eggs made to order however you like, and with beautiful scenery looking out toward the surrounding hillsides. Then we took an all-day tour of the surrounding countryside guided by one of their very friendly and experienced drivers who showed us all of the Inca sites in the area as well as a wildlife rescue center where we were able to get up close to some of the native species of Peru, including Condors!! The only downside is that we weren't able to stay longer, however when we come back to visit Cusco, we will most certainly stay at Torre Dorada again!!! Peggy, we want to thank you and the staff at Torre Dorada so much for a wonderful stay! And rest assured you will be our first and foremost recommendation for anyone visiting Cusco!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Torre Dorada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Cusco. It is somewhat removed from the core of the City but we actually liked that. The surrounding area is very quiet and the taxi service offered by the hotel was great. It was very easy to get wherever we wanted to go. And we were always promptly picked up when needed.
The staff and service at the hotel were wonderful. It really is an exceptional place to stay. The staff was very helpful and accommodating - always friendly, recommending all sorts of great restaurants and making sure our stay was perfect. The breakfast each morning was delicious and served in the lovely second floor dining area.
I'd go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. I'd highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyJMac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

All the reviews were correct, it was a very pleasant stay, staff was always very helpful, their pick up service to and from downtown was very efficient always on time, you might think that not being downtown is a negative but they managed to overcome that, on the plus side its a quiet area and it seemed like on every ride we had our own private tour, and its only a 10 min. ride so its not really far.
Breakfast was excellent everything you would want to get you started for a busy day, eggs, hot cakes, fruits, ham, cheese etc. and a great view also.
The staff is the best, from the reception, to maintenance to the kitchen, you can always see the extra effort to make your stay a very pleasant one, always checking how you feel just in case you might need oxygen or some Coca tea, it might not be a five star hotel but the service is , clean, comfortable, wi fi and a car and driver available to you 24 hours a day for your trips to Plaza de Armas, it does not get any better, I am sure the JW Marriott offers more luxury, Torre Dorada feels like home.
On each floor you have a small living room with different kinds of tea's available for you to enjoy.
If we needed to make a reservation or go on a tour no problem the staff was ready to help, it just seemed that anything was possible.
Once again thanks to all the staff and Ms. Peggy for a great stay.
Would go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergiorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent three nights at Torre Dorada on our visit to Cusco and it truly felt like home away from home because of how hospitable and welcoming everyone there was. They made every effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable, making sure we were coping well with the altitude. The room was cozy, clean and very well maintained. The hotel is located in a quieter part of Cusco, about a 10 min car ride from Plaza de Armas. Their 24 hour complimentary taxi service to and from the city center was so efficient that the distance did not matter at all. The breakfast spread was sumptuous with cookies, croissants, fruits, eggs, cereal, bread, fresh juices and yogurt. The morning we were leaving to Machu Picchu, Peggy even packed us some fruits and cookies for the journey. You will surely enjoy your stay at Torre Dorada!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anj_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Torre Dorada exhibits such an extremely high level of service where the staff seemingly can't do enough to help you, that it puts other places to shame and makes you feel like you're staying in a friend's house. Our main reason for choosing Torre was for quiet and you definitely get that in this lovely upscale neighbourhood. If you've been to Sth America you will know how hard that is to find! However, our stay was on the third floor and noise through the ceiling from the fourth level was pretty bad in the evenings and early mornings (chairs moving, thumping footfalls, toilet flushing...) but it just seems to be the way with so many multi-storey places. The only other niggles were hard beds (but the staff immediately remedied this by fitting my bed with a padded mattress cover - more great service) and very thin curtains that block out almost no light. In an east facing room, you're up early!! Bathrooms are a little tight too. Other pluses though, are lots of electrical sockets in the rooms, two luggage racks, central tea making facilities, powerful free in-room wifi, responsive and free, safe transfers available 24 hours a day anywhere you need in town (which is the icing on the cake for this hotel) and amazingly delicious fluffy pancakes for breakfast! We interrupted our stay with a night at Machu Picchu and just left our bags in our room when we departed at 5:40am. The staff stored them and had them waiting in our new room on our return. Perfect! They also gave us excellent restaurant and tourist tips, checked in our flights and printed the boarding passes and regularly checked all was ok. If you're not interested in the noisy chaos of the central zone and want to be with like minded quiet guests, Torre Dorada is highly recommended. Thanks for a great Cusco experience to Martin, David and the team.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place was wonderful! I can't say enough good things about the entire staff, reception, owner (Peggy),drivers, kitchen staff. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of. We had some problems with an ATM in ton and getting money.They worked hard to contact our credit card company in the States, offered to loan us money until we straightened it out, etc. Never had I experienced a hotel that was so personable. The rides into town- or wherever we wanted to go--was efficient and friendly. One driver helped us find a collective, questioning everyone to make sure we got on the right van. If you don't stay here you'll be sorry!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ketanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights and can't say enough good things about the hotel and the staff. Peggy the owner even shared her soup with us when we were stranded after our flight was cancelled due to a thunderstorm and we had to return to the hotel for an unplanned second night. We've never had service like that anywhere. A very comfortable place to stay and a fantastic staff. Five stars all the way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welltravelled2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 170 in Cusco
3,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#22 of 170 in Cusco
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing