We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!!”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2008

This place was absolutely fantastic, they really can't do enough for you. The rooms were clean, showers hot and the buffet breakfast was wonderful.

What really set this place apart was the customer service. I really felt taken care of, as we'd leave in the morning they's ask whether we had sun screen and hats!! when we arrived we were told what to do to avoid altitude sickness.

They recommended trips to take and places to eat and drink that used traveller friendly water and included in the price was a taxi service to and fron the centre of Cusco.

On the morning we left to go on the Inca trail we were given a little packed lunch to take away which I thought was lovely.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone it's fab.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2008

Agree with everything everyone has said, but just wanted to say that they ask you to pay in cash or else pay an extra 8% on top to cover charges if you pay by credit card. Apart from that, nice people. friendly, helpful, good breakfast and coca tea avaialble on every floor 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lazyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Absolutley wonderful B&B type hotel. Ms Peggy was a dream, as well as her staff of what appears to be somewhat of a family run business. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to answer questions, recommend restraunts, sites to see, & shops to visit. Ms Peggy knows how to run a business to make her customers feel they are getting true value for their business. We have paid high end prices for hotels, but Peggy's customer service and amenities offered at Torre Dorada beat them. They have a continental breakfast incl w/rate, you may also ask for eggs as you like incl. They offer comp airport transfers, as well as free taxi service back and forth to the Cuzco town square. They are literally at your convenience, which was a huge benefit in having to get taxis on your own, as well as a considerate complimentary gesture to their guests. Water is provided in your rooms, wireless internet, and awesome powerful water pressure in your private shower. Decor is very bright and cheery. There is also one computer in the lobby complimentary if you don't have your own laptop. The beds are enormous in the matrimonial rooms, as well as very comfortable. Big fluffy, down comforters and soft fluffy pillows. There are cute small living rooms on each of the 3 floors that offer a TY, rocking chairs, and a small trade out library of books from her guests. This adds to Torre's charm of a family establishment. Absolutely a great find!!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank 5Travel-Bugs-USAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I made our reservations for Torre Dorada months ago. I started to get cold feet, though, when I looked at the reviews just before leaving Florida at the end of June. All of these good reviews--could they be possible? Yes!! We were satisfied in every way. The beds were so comfortable and everything was immaculately clean. I don't want to leave out Raphael and his impeccable service. As a front desk man/host, he is able to help you with anything you could ever need--and in addition to all that--he can write upside down while giving you directions on your map. Raphael and Peggy helped us with all our plans to visit Machu Picchu and Dr. Peggy even administered oxygen to my ailing husband when he was suffering a little from the altitude. The breakfast is varied enough to satisfy almost any desire. I really know now what everybody was talking about when they raved about Torre Dorada. It's really a great place--you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolsSarasota_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed at the Torre Dorada the middle part of June ... we had a flight cancelled and arrived a day late and were not charged for the day we had previously reserved. We were exhausted on arrival after spending several hours in Lima due to another flight delay. We were too tired to go out to eat... Daniel bought us beer and pizza and delivered it and we ate it in the dining area of the hotel... what service and what a treat. I was having some problems with altitude sickness and received an oxygen treatment in my room, also courtesy of Daniel, which helped immensely... this was just the first day... the attention to our every need, question, requests continued throughout our stay. They accomodated our entire family party of 7 people in one area of the hotel. Victor was our guide, driver, and friend for a trip to the Sacred Valley. Gave us a tip on a great local eatery in Cuzco where we could sample what the locals eat (goat, pig, alpaca) which we would have never found on our own. Peggy and Rafael guided us to shopping, restruaunts, tours, taxis.... they went above and beyond what most hotels provide. We looked forward to breakfast every morning with the best coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice in all of Peru, eggs cooked to order, and tamales if requested... not to mention fruit, baked goods, yogurt and cereal all served in a dining room with awsome views of the area. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and warm. The bathrooms had toilets that worked, electrical outlets that accomodated hair dryers,etc. and showers that were hot with plenty of water pressure. They stored our gear while we were on the Inca Trek and then had them set up in our rooms when we returned. I cannot say enough about the hospitiality provided. Thank you to Peggy and her staff. Peru is beautiful, the people are wonderful, it was a trip of a lifetime... truly a magical experience... I would return in a second... Sincerely, Kathy Braverman

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyBIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be outstanding. The staff were so friendly, hospitable and helpful. Every need was taken care of and often anticipated. The facilities were clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Snipe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

All I can say is that the hotel and Peggy and her staff live up to EVERY wonderful thing you hear. Do not hesitate to stay here, one of the best experiences we've had and we travel a lot.

TIP: Book your machu picchu or sacred valley tours through them too. I was not aware they did that, and we had issues with our tour operator and her poor staff ended up cleaning it up for us. When we recommend this place to friends, we will also suggest having Peggy arrange things. If we could do it again, we would.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank madtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing