We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

We booked directly with them through their website and emails, that gives you good flexibility to cancel or change things around. They are very prompt in their communication.
They do not have too many rooms for a family of 4 requiring separate beds for 2 kids, so book in advance if you need to do that.
The place is a small cozy multi-storied building in residential part of Cuzco. But it is very near to everything in Cuzco. The place has been built or renovated recently, so everything looked fresh.
Their staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They have a kitchen in house, where they serve free and excellent breakfast, both hot and cold. Laundry is very convenient, charged by the kilos, which we found to be very economical and timely after 4 day stay in the Amazon forests.
Our daughters had to be put on oxygen briefly due to high elevation, and they didn't charge us for that.
They also have free drop-off and pickup service to airport and all your local Cuzco city trips. They also help you plan other trips, including handling the booking for onwards journey to Aguas Calientes etc.

  • Liked — Reasonable, clean, very friendly staff, good kitchen/breakfast service
  • Disliked — Our room was a bit small after two additional cots were put in, also elderly people may have hard time going up and down the stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ashvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    135
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
259
660
101
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Positives:
Nice Bathrooms
Personal Service; Wonderful Hosts
Free rides into Cuzco
Quiet Location (no Cuzco street noise)

Negatives:
Since the hotel is 5-10 minutes drive from Cuzco and you need to call for a ride pick-up, the hotel isn't good for people that want to frequently stop at the hotel (most convenient for those (like us) who plan to spend the whole day outside of the hotel).

If the person in the room next to you is taking a shower, you will hear it.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Torre Dorado is a great place to stay! You feel very welcomed as soon as you get picked up at the airport. The staff is VERY helpful and always willing to help, recommend places to visit, tours, etc. Twice we had to wake up VERY early (4am and 5am) and Danny was there to greet us, make sure we had a breakfast and that our ride was there to pick us up! Everyone said staying in the city was very noisy given all the discos and cars beeping into the wee hours of the night. Torre Dorado is located in a nice residential area out of that hustle and bustle. The free rides into and out of the city was great. They even picked us up and drove us to the airport and train station when we needed. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. A common area on each floor allowed us to watch some TV (even some US stations) and meet some other travelers. Highly recommend to stay here! EVERYONE and EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Our family decided to go to Peru for a week, including a trek to Machu Picchu. Upon reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, I was lucky to secure 3 nights at the Torre Dorada. Two nights were spent there before our trek and one night after. We arrived early in the morning at the airport to find Cristobal waiting with our free shuttle to the hotel. Peggy greeted us and gave us a brief intro to Cusco and services provided by the hotel. Each floor has a sitting area with TV and the much needed Coca tea which was available all day and night. Free wireless internet was available on each floor, as well as a computer in the lower level lobby. The rooms are clean, comfortable beds, great showers. Distance to center of town was not a factor due to free rides from the hotel which were quickly dispatched to pick us up. As everyone has said, there were many benefits to staying at the Torre Dorada. At the top of the list was the exceptional service provided by Peggy and her staff (Danny, Rafael, Oscar, Cristobal to name a few). It truly felt like we were staying with friends who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and worry free. We returned to Torre Dorada at the end of our exhausting Lares trek through Llama Path (which we also highly recommend). As we rounded the familiar corner to the hotel my sister said "I am so glad we are HOME!!". We were so happy to return to our new friends. It was late at night and Danny and Rafael got all our boarding passes ready for us as we were leaving very early the next day. Overall I can't say enough about the Torre Dorada....Thank you Peggy and staff!
P.S. If the Torre Dorada helps you book a private Sacred Valley tour, ask for Victor... he was great.

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xcros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

We strongly recommend the Torre Dorada. Before we arrived, Peggy was very helpful with our reservations and her partner Rosemarie arranged our tour to Machu Picchu. Although we went first to Ollantaytambo to acclimate at a lower elevation, Rosemarie met us at Cusco airport bringing all our Machu Picchu tickets. When we returned on the train from M.P., a driver was waiting to take us to the Torre Dorada. At the hotel we had a warm welcome (litterally) with a fire in the fireplace, travel hints, and a great room. The hotel is very clean, unlike many in Aguas Calientes (M.P. town). The somewhat older part has a lot of fine woodwork everywhere and reminds one of a building in Austria or Germany. The entrance and breakfast area is of very modern construction and equally clean. The breakfast was extensive. A really nice touch for Floridians was freshly squeezed OJ, rather than the watered down Tang in other hotels. It appeared they would even cook egg dishes for you.

The hotel is located in perhaps the nicest residential section with a little park in front. The only down side is that it is too far to walk to tourist destinations and some areas in between don't look so safe. However, they provide free transportation back and forth from the Plaza de Armas, airport, train station, etc. All the drivers were professional and mature.

When we checked out fairly early in the morning for the airport, Peggy came out to see us off and waved goodbye as if we were family.

  • Liked — Very competent service and arrangements
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SamD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

Does this hotel provide excellent service? Yes
Is Peggy helpful and nice? Yes.
Would I recommend Torre Dorada to a friend? No.

Here is why:

1. The hotel is really far off the square. Not kinda far. VERY far. Walking is definitely not an option for distance and safety.

Torre Dorada provides a shuttle service but I found it to be a huge pain in the butt. If you don't mind calling the hotel every time you need a car back to the hotel, waiting 10 minutes for it to arrive and then driving another 10 minutes to get to the hotel....by all means stay here. And hopefully if the main line is busy, you still have their business card with you to call the other line. I did not and ended up having to go to an internet shop to look it up. If convenience is anywhere in you're top 2 factors for booking a hotel, don't stay here.

2. The hotel is overpriced.

$80 US is a pretty absurd price for what you receive here. The rooms are VERY basic. Beds were mediocre, the hotel was fairly loud, as your bathroom is connected to your neighbor (I was woken up 2/3 nights because of noise in the air shafts) I was pleased to have hot water, but in Cuzco, this is not hard to find. Breakfast is fine, but nothing to write home about. Friends of mine stayed on the square for almost half of what I paid. Their room was perfectly quiet, had hot water and they never had to request a car to pick them up. I can understand paying $80 US for this room in the US, but not in Peru. I'm baffled as to why Frommer's listed this as a "value."

3. They charge an 8% fee to pay by credit card.

Considering most CC companies already tag on 3%, this fee almost adds enough additional cost to purchase another night at a hostal on the square. After 3 nights staying here, I was almost offended to be asked to pay this. I have never been charged anywhere near 8% anywhere in the world to pay by credit card (if at all).

All in all, this place would be great IF IT WERE NEAR THE SQUARE. However, it is not. If you think you can't find a decent concierge service elsewhere you are mistaken. I found Peruvians to be helpful all over in each of the hotels I stayed at. Some of them cost as little as $25 a night. People need to jump off this bandwagon.

  • Liked — Peggy
  • Disliked — Location/Value
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mdguy2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We had a great stay at Torre Dorada. The staff is so friendly and helpful and the bed was huge and so comfortable. I wish my pillow at home was this comfortable. I agree with the poster who said that it is an advantage to be away from the center. There is a lot of noise in the center of Cusco so it is really nice to have quiet for sleeping.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Calliope_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
1.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Property: Hotel Torre Dorada
Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing