We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Superior hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My sister and I stayed here 3 days prior to Inca trek, and 3 days after. Small, clean rooms, hot water,warm with space heater, quiet, safe neighborhood. Lucy and Claudina prepared fabulous breakfasts, and always had a smile! Quaint dining room.
The staff went out of their way to help us with the altitude issues we had. Had a doctor to my room when I needed one. Felt very taken care of.
Rides available down to city with " 10 minute " notice. We were in Cusco during the winter solstice festival, and streets downtown were very NOISY. Glad to be in quiet neighborhood.
With gratitude to Marco, Martin, Ceasar, Mario, and Monica. Was a pleasure to meet you. Definitely would recommend your hotel!!!

Room Tip: We had room 304 first 3 days. Small ,sunny room, with a little view. T.V. in room. Quiet, back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    136
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
264
665
101
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here when travelling with some friends before/after hiking the Inca Trail. The picked us up directly from the airport, and upon arrival had one of the front desk people sit us down and give us an overview of the entire city as well as the hotels policies. The service was impeccable, they took care of absolutely everything we could have needed and then some. The breakfast was delicious, cooked in front of you by the nicest people.

The only slight drawback was that it isn't located in walking distance to the Plaza de Armas or other downtown attractions, but they more than make up for it by offering free shuttles to and from anywhere you want in Cusco.

Rooms were clean, and most important they were quiet. Great stay and I highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff is excellent; the rooms are very clean, and the breakfast is excellent.
The hotel goes out of its way to make your stay comfortable. For instance, when we first arrived in mid afternoon, they were able to prepare a delicious vegetable soup for us. There isn't an elevator, but the staff carries the baggage. It's located about 10 minutes outside of the city--a disadvantage if you want to be able to walk out the door and experience Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelperson97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here before and after our trek on the Inka Trail. The accommodations were comfortable, and the staff was spectacular. Peggy (the owner) and her people went out of their way to make our stay in Cusco enjoyable. On the mornings we left early, a car and box lunch were waiting when we arrived in the lobby. The car service was always prompt and staying not in downtown was a blessing due to the Festval of Corpus Christi!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Echoing the experience of many others we received first class service at Torre Dorada. All the staff were great. The buffet breakfast is awesome, and shuttle service is timely. Overall we had a great experience and highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

On our recent trip to Peru we booked at Hotel Torre Dorado in Cusco, based on reviews we had read. We had an excellent stay. The staff were all friendly, helpful & multi-lingual. Right from arriving at Cusco Airport we were looked after by the staff of this hotel. They picked us up (complimentary) as pre-arranged & went out of their way to help us at every point of our stay. This delightful Hotel is situated away from the hustle & bustle of the town centre, which we personally preferred. It was a simple 5 minute car ride (provided free at all times by the hotel) to the middle of town & they would pick us up again whenever we called. The rooms were clean, fresh, comfortable & spacious. The breakfast was excellent & a great variety....we were even given a boxed breakfast on the morning we had to leave a 4.30 am for the Inca Trail. We did struggle a bit on the first few days with altitude but did not require assistance.....some others staying at the Hotel did, and there was advice & oxygen on hand. All these things are important in Cusco....it can be an unpleasant experience whilst adjusting to the altitude & most people we met felt the affects to a varying degree. We were able to store some luggage & returned for another night after our trek. We arrived back late at night, very tired and were greeted with smiles and enthusiasm, and welcomed back by name, with our clean gear waiting in our room. There is no restaurant, but by pre-arrangement the staff can organise food if required. We had an excellent pizza one night. The whole experience was just wonderful......felt more like a family home than a hotel......and exceeded our expectations. Thank you Torre Dorada. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, but would've been very happy to stay longer. The service is absolutely grade A, from the moment you're picked up at the airport by a friendly driver (courtesy rather than paid for), to the coca tea and run through useful info on arrival at the property and especially the friendly and helpful owners and staff who go beyond the norm to make your stay a good one. All the way through to the moment you leave, it's abundantly clear that exceptional service has been made a priority by the owners and it makes a massive difference. The location is a little away from the centre of cusco, but that's negated as a problem by the 24hr car service that drops you off and picks you up, you just need to give 15mins notice. The advice from all staff members is very useful and reliable and helps to avoid the numerous pitfalls that can lie in wait in Peru. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the laundry service returns your washing ironed and flat packed, the breakfast is of a good standard with eggs at your request to compliment the usual array of cold options and the complimentary teas on each floor are a nice touch. You get the impression that nothing is too much trouble in Torre Dorada's collective effort to make your stay a great one and we were really very impressed. Staying at B&Bs (as well as hotels to be fair) can be a mixed bag, but with this place you're taking a very safe option.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Property: Hotel Torre Dorada
Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing