We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you like big, lavish, expensive hotels with aloof staff avoid Torre Dorada. If you like cozy, B&B, home-like over-nighters, with incredibly responsive and friendly staff who will make your Cusco stay so much more memorable, then this is your place. The free shuttles to and from town were worth it in itself with our private driver provided for a 10 hour Sacred Valley tour icing on the cake. Peggy, the owner, has beautifully decorated every square centimeter and adds the polishing touch with her presence. *****

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKOAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    137
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
269
683
106
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My cousin and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014 before and after our Inca Trail trek. The hotel is a bit off the beaten path so they provide transportation anywhere you want to go in Cusco, including a pick up to come to them (either from the airport or in our case from our first hotel). The check-in process was quick and luggage was taken up to our room while we were checking in. The front desk staff is fluent in English so this helps the process as well. The rooms are clean - my cousin and I shared a twin and the beds were super singles so lots of room. The bathroom was also clean and had the best shower - water pressure was fantastic and nice hot water. When we left for our Inca Trail trek we were told to just leave our suitcases in the room, closed and ready to go and the staff would put them into storage for us. After our trek, we came back to a new room with luggage ready and waiting for us in the room. They did have a safe in the room as well but we left some of our important belongings in their safe while we were gone on our trek. After we arrived back in Cusco I was recovering from altitude sickness and my cousin had just had a nasty bout of food poisoning and the hotel went above and beyond to make us comfortable and make sure that we were going to be OK. They offered to fetch a doctor (thankfully neither of us were that sick) and the owner of the hotel came in and made us homemade soup for dinner. The breakfast room is bright and sunny and while the included breakfast is basic, there was plenty and it was delicious. Each floor has a lobby area with seating, a TV (no TV in each room), a tea station and wifi. We also used the laundry service and our clothing was returned to us inventoried and folded so neatly we took photos. If you are looking for a wonderful quiet place to stay this is the place. I am so happy we stayed here after our trek as the staff here is fantastic and took very good care of us. I would definitely stay here again if I was to return to Cusco!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWoman7115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a welcoming hotel! My girlfriend and I stayed here prior to starting our Inca Trail hike. The owner and staff are so welcoming - picked us up from the airport, helped us settled in and oriented us well enough to get our bearings around Cusco.

While it's true that you're not in the heart of Cusco; there is something very peaceful about being outside of all the hustle and bustle. The free transfer service to the city center makes it easy to get into Cusco at any hour.

Breakfast every morning was delicious and relaxing. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel very safely while out on the trail. Price and value are right on the mark; would stay here again as a jumping off point for further trips in the Cusco region.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have traveled to many countries around the world, I spend 100+ nights a year in Hotels, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The personal service is exceptional. The Hotel helped arrange a driver for the day to take us (3) go ruins and attractions around Peru upon our arrival. The driver was great and the price reasonable, better than a big tour price. The Hotel personal helped us contact the airline in Lima to adjust our flight times and also confirm our other arranged excursion. The breakfast was great in the morning. I highly recommend this hotel if you want clean and quite rooms with exceptional service. The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxing and in a quiet part of town, but still fairly close to the downtown area. Only a few minutes away. The hotel also provided transportation to and from the airport. You will not be disappointed. This is a smaller hotel (about 16 rooms total) which makes it even nicer.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at Torre Dorado four years ago, so chose to stay here again. Everything that was good last time, held true this time.. beds comfortable, breakfast delicious, people all super friendly, price right. Not downtown, so nice and quiet, with taxi service to town just for the asking.. no problem. A great place to stay overall.

But what made Torre Dorado stand out this time was how they helped me deal with a medical emergency. My heart went out of rhythm in the middle of the night on our third night there (an old recurring problem, unfortunately). Early in the morning I called the front desk to see about going to the hospital. They offered, instead, to have a doctor come to my room (for US $30). Doctor came quickly, examined me, and he himself drove me to the clinic. When I needed to get my own medication, which the clinic didn't have, the hotel sent the car to pick up my niece, take her back to the hotel, and then take her back to the clinic with my medication! Martin, from Torre Dorado, also came to the clinic several hours later to check up on me and see if there was anything they could do. And Peggy, the owner of Torre Dorado came to pick me up and take me back to the hotel when I had checked out. They were so amazingly solicitous the entire time.. getting me cars, sending oxygen with me on the day tours we took.. the day I got out of the clinic, we took the train up to Aquas Calientes, and the front desk called on the way to see how I was doing. They had oxygen waiting in the room when we returned from AC. And after arriving home and going to the ER, I needed to know what dose of Xeralto the clinic had put me on, so I called Torre Dorado and spoke with Martin. He called the clinic for me and got the dosage and called me right back!

I cannot express how comforting and helpful the entire hotel staff was during this really inconvenient time. Despite the difficulty of being out of rhythm at 12,000 feet, they made me as comfortable as I could have been, and allowed me to continue to see the sites that we had scheduled.

You never know when something will go wrong on an international trip, but having local people who can help minimize the situation is, in my book, priceless. Thanks Peggy, Martin and everyone at Torre Dorado.

Room Tip: there is a tip box for the entire hotel staff in a little glass box by the front desk... tip generou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stef4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in total 4 nights and it was worth it! This is an exceptional hotel catering to every need. We were dealing with illness and they made toast and special tea for us, as well as providing help to change an airline booking. I am so thankful for their impeccable service as it was the best way to end our Inca Trail hike with hot showers, comfy beds and a quiet homey atmosphere. The owner and staff are incredibly helpful, providing free transportation to and from the main center whenever we needed. Highly recommended!! This is a home away from home- if I go back to Cusco this is where I will go. Suitable for couples, friends and families.

Room Tip: The third floor is nice with its own lounge. We stayed in two rooms here, though I suspect any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunasol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, since we had previously booked a hotel in the center for four nights around our trek. We were picked up at the crack of dawn from the airport and were met with coca tea and a fire blazing in the lobby. All the staff and the owner went out of their way to help us, so unlike the staff at the other hotel. We were even invited to dine at breakfast, even though we had just arrived. The place is immaculate with beautiful attention to details. Wish we had stayed there longer!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 167 in Cusco
2,894 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Property: Hotel Torre Dorada
Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing