We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience you will remember for eternity...”
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
Ranked #5 of 173 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2007

The only downside to staying at the Torre Dorada is that no other hotel will be able to match the quality of service you will receive there! From picking up our Machu Picchu tickets for us, to having breakfast ready at an insanely early hour, to giving us a packed lunch for the train journey, to picking us up from the airport/train station/plaza de armas, to organizing customized day trips, to recommending the best restaurants, to just making you feel like you're staying with family - read no further and book a room now! You won't regret it. Peggy, Rose Marie, Danny, Oscar, Christopher - my wife and I applaud you. Take a well deserved bow - you give "hospitality" a new meaning.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tr4veller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2007

We stayed in Cusco for 4 nights as our bridge to seeing Machu Piccu. The owner of this bed and breakfast, Peggy (and family), speaks perfect English and looks out for your best interests for your entire stay. While their place is a little far from the main square, this is more than made up for by the free car service they provide both to and from their place, at any time of the day or night, including airport pickup. A very nice breakfast is provided everyday as is bottled water. As a bonus, they arranged our Machu Piccu trip for us and even had a driver take us around all the Incan ruins just outside Cusco for an entire day for under $50!! I would definitely stay there again! I have never stayed anywhere that provided such amazing service for such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MGK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Peggy and her family ABSOLUTELY knock themselves out. The accomodations are humble, but absolutely worth the rate charged. What sets this place apart is the service - they arranged tours for us, picked us up from the airport and really just treated us like family! We couldn't have hoped for a better experience. Peggy speaks fluent English which was a plus for us, even though we speak Spanish. Everyone else was great too - they have several people that seem to drive for them, so they were always able to schedule personalized tours. We were so pleased with our experience - seriously - stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChileLivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Having worked, trained, and studied the hospitality industry for nearly (2) decades, I thought I had seen and experienced good service. I can honestly say, I have never experienced the personal service like this. They hotel itself is plain, but very quaint, nice, warm and welcoming, for travelers who are weary and needing a nice safe place to call home. Peggy and her team go way beyond helping their guests to a point that so much is done, you cannot ask for more. We traveled during the beginnings for the recent transportation strike, and the owner herself offered to walk with us to town to make sure we knew the ins and outs in case anything dramatic happened. What a kind and amazing experience. They believe in their guests safety and security, while always doing whatever is possible. I am accustomed to the five star, black Mercedes life style that many fine resorts offer, however, with this service, you cannot go wrong. You will find a friend at Torre Dorada who will always welcome you back with a smile, open arms, and a hot cup of tea (please drink the tea, it helps!!!) I cannot express how special you feel when staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Service-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

This small hotel is a great value and is very clean and comfortable. Service was excellent, and so was breakfast. The only trade off is that it is a distance from the Plaza de Armas. Torre Dorada more than makes up for this by providing free transportation, including transport to the airport. For us, it was well worth it to take a 10 minute ride in order to have such a nice place to stay at an affordable price.

Torre Dorada is on the airport side of Cusco, which makes it a good place to stay the night before you are flying out. Also, most people need to take it very easy during the first day or two in Cusco to adjust to the altitude. To me, it seems an unneccessary expenditure to stay in an expensive hotel on the Plaza de Armas if I am going to be resting most of the day. Torre Dorada's comfortable quiet rooms are a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gingerhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Torre Dorada is simply amazing! Peggy and her family and staff are exceptionally welcoming and accomodating; they helped us with logistical details (some even before we arrived--helping us book tours to Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca), rides, and overall made our stay in Peru a wonderful one. They picked us up at, and took us to, the airport, made sure we got to and from the center of Cuzco safely (and for free), and offered suggestions about day trips (and advice on how to circumvent Peruvian strikes).

The bed and breakfast itself is excellent; the rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable, with fine accomodations and bathrooms with hot water and great water pressure. The included breakfast was an added bonus, as was the very speedy internet available in the building.

Torre Dorada is truly a gem of a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MicheleAndrew552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Torre Dorada is situated a short distance away from the centre of town but this was not a problem because Peggy and her team were always are on hand to take us into town or pick us up from restaurants or sightseeing.

The hotel was clean and safe which are the basics that we look for in holiday accommodation but we did find it a little cold after the sun had gone down. Breakfast was fine with a help yourself selection of food and drinks served in a room on the top floor of the hotel which caught the morning sun and provided a cheerful start to the day. Peggy held our unwanted luggage for us when we did our Machu Picchu trip. We chose Torre Dorada because of it’s ranking in Trip Advisor and we would have no hesitation in recommending it for other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank waiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 173 in Cusco
1,562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 173 in Cusco
962 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 173 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco 08007, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £34 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing