We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cusco Packers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 463 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After booking on the Web site for $12 per night, we assumed this was the amount we would pay. Little did we know upon checking out, they converted the payment to soles and used a conversion rate way above the average. We ended up paying quite a bit more and were extremely disappointed. They didn't bother trying to apologize or explain either. The staff spoke very little English and were generally unhelpful. The shower pressure was so light in order to get the warm water on... not hot. Bathrooms never had toilet paper and were cleaned randomly. Breakfast was ok. Nothing special. Just bread and jam. We're not picky and always laugh at negative reviews, but we were generally disappointed with this place considering it was #1 on trip advisor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aclark614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, Gerente at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear
we are sorry to hear you say that , but know that we have taken your comments seriously.
For the exchange rate of dollars to Peruvian soles. You should know that the exchange rate for the day your payment was 2.765 purchase and sale was 2.80 so we tubimos to charge at the exchange rate of the sale, because we we had to buy dollars to cover payment.
breakfast is served with coffee, selection of teas, fresh milk, bread, butter and jam.
on the cleaning is done every day
We are sorry to hear your comments on cuscopackers hostels, but we understand his discomfort, we will try our best to improve. thank you very much because we learn to be better
We hope you´ll return soon to see that we have addressed these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    80
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
132
115
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay in Cuscopackers. The owners are very friendly and make sure you have everything you need. You have a breakfast included and free tea all day. And of course a great view over Cusco :-). But because of that great view you have a to walk a little to reach the center. The water in our room wasn't really hot and the staff doesn't really speak english, but we got along.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chicoloco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What an amazing City, what a Great Hostel. Hot showers, Service on top notch, great view, free breakfast and Tee, coffee and Snacks for free all day. Nice Rooms, very new, Social atmosphere.... Good Deals on Tours

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank perser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hostel has GREAT potential, but there are several faults that tired and worned out travellers like me can't get past.

First, the good part: staff is truly nice, helpful, kind and available. From the owner to the girls and guys working there, they are all truly friendly. The common areas are nice and cozy - a nice covered terrace with a great view of the city, sofa, tv etc. I stayed in room 503 and that also has an incredible view. The place is quiet, clean, the beds are very comfortable. I did point out that it would be useful to have some hooks in the bathroom to hang towels etc and sure enough within a couple of days the staff reacted and placed them - which is something new here in Peru.

However, and here is the bad part: the rooms are freezing cold. It is hard to even get changed in that bone chilling cold. Showers hardly get any better than lukewarm (they are electric showers). I arrived there after 5 full days of hiking on the Inca Trail and Wayna Picchu, tired, dirty, dusty and sweaty and all I wanted was to have a hot shower, wash my hair and go to bed. NOT! I had a barely lukewarm shower and went to bed almost freezing.

Those electric showers should really be replaced with proper ones!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, Gerente at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Claudia TaFfani,
we are sorry to hear you say that, but know that we have taken your comments seriously . the hostel has blankets and/or space heaters available.
we would have happing provided these for you had. we know that if your room was cold
we´d like to thank you for letting us know about the lack of nooks in the bathroom . which we have posted instructions in each bathroom showing guests how to use the water heaters on the shower heads .
We hope you´ll return soon to see that we have addressed these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in this hostal. We arrived very early in the morning (5am) and we could rest temporarily in room until ours was ready.
We had à nice twin room, with private bathroom, hot shower.
The owner and staff have been very nice and helpfull . Even when There was a small problem due to misunderstanding of the language, everything was done to be as helpfull as they could.
Situated a liitle outside the center (15 mn) the view over Cusco is worth it. Nice view from terras and from some rooms. The hostal has very recently opened. Nice spaces to sit in couch, tables to eat. Only point : nô use of kitchen for the guests. You can use the fridge to store and microwave.
We recommand.



Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del uso del refrigerador lo tomaremos muy en cuenta le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in a private twin ensuite at Cusco Packers for 4 nights, and were collected from the airport in a private car by the hostel owners for S/.15. The hostel is about a 15-20 minute walk North of Plaza de Armas, with a hard walk up steep stairs to the top of a hill.

Our room was on the top floor, and every wall was exterior, meaning the room got very cold at night. The bathroom was small, but clean, the shower however wasn't very strong or hot at all.
The beds were comfy, and had plenty of wool blankets.
Unfortunately, on the first night I developed a fever from a parasitic infection (nothing to do with the hostel!) and spent most of the night awake, shivering uncontrollably. The hostel owners were great in helping my wife call a doctor at 3am, and drove us to the hospital at 7am the same morning.

Sadly we both ended up being very ill and having to stay in the hospital for 2 nights, but the hostel owners were so helpful in providing a driver to shuttle my wife back to the hospital with belongings for our stay. They even visited us at the hospital to check we were OK and didn't need any more help.

On our discharge from hospital, they had brought an electric heater to our room from their own home, to make our last night more comfortable.

We had breakfast at the hostel twice, which was basic but fine. Bread, jam, juice, tea, coffee etc.
They also had hot tea and coffee available 24 hours a day, including coca leaves and coca tea to help with altitude sickness.

Overall, the hostel is fairly basic, but good value considering the cost of the room. The thing that set them apart from most other places we have stayed in Peru is the customer service. They went above and beyond to help us and make us comfortable when we needed it the most.

We also ended up booking a 2 day/1 night Sacred Valley/Machu Picchu tour through Luis at Inka's Destination, as Luis was often at the hostel and also helped us while we were sick.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Tip: tell them you read Josh's review if you want the best service!

After a long haul from Patagonia to Peru in two weeks, Cuscopackers was exactly what I needed for some R&R.

Brand new, laid back hostel where you can actually get a good night's rest, but the location puts you just a few minutes from the Plaza de Armas, Plaza San Francisco, and the main artisan market. It's also a very safe part of town if you want to try cheaper "local" restaurants.

They have a bar in the lounge where you can enjoy dinner and drinks with the amazing view of the whole valley of Cusco. It's also right by all of the party hostels (e.g. Loki) so you can go shake your booty there and retreat to Cusco packers at the end of the night for a quiet place to sleep.

All the facilities are new, VERY CLEAN, and it seriously has THE BEST VIEW OF ANY HOSTEL OR HOTEL IN ALL OF CUSCO. From the lounge you can see all of Cusco, and the terrace on the roof also see Saksaywaman, Christo Blanco, and even Mount Ausangate to the southeast.

Luis and Miguel offer great tour info and packages for anyone interested, their desk is right in the lobby next to the reception. Very friendly guys!

For motorcyclists this place is heaven: they offer covered parking and secure luggage storage so you don't have to fill your room with your dirty gear. TELL THEM JOSH SENT YOU! Seriously!

The owners, Ignacio and Yesenia, just opened this hostel in January but have LOTS of plans to offer even more in the coming months.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor are below the lobby, so they are quieter but do not have windows look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshrpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 169 in Cusco
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 463 in Cusco
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 463 in Cusco
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 463 in Cusco
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#4 of 463 in Cusco
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusco Packers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusco Packers Hostel

Property: Cusco Packers Hostel
Address: Prolongacion Av. Arcopata No 129 Nueva Av. Abancay | Via a Iglesia de Santa Ana , A 20 Metros de la Estacion de Gas PetroAmerica, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 463 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cusco Packers Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel is located just 5 blocks from the main square of Cusco. It gives a view of the entire city and access to local Peruvian restaurants; as well as local attractions. Our rooms range from 2 bedroom rooms to full dormitory rooms. We have a full bar and full kitchen to serve our guests. We also offer free services on how to get to Machu Picchu on the cheap as well as our own guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cusco Packers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing