We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, bad hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cusco Packers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good staff, bad hostel”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked six nights but only stayed one. The wifi didn't work in our room which was a big problem for us.
The showers are weak, cold electric showers. The guy on reception was so nice and helpful and tried to get the shower to heat up but it just wouldn't. Our room didn't have an exterior window and the door was so warped that it jammed closed and we couldn't get out! Also the toilet wasn't cleaned in our bathroom.
When i told the guy we would be checking out the next day he was very apologetic and nice, he even got a hot shower working in another room and told me I could use it. The staff here are lovely.
However it just wasn't good enough for us to stay in so we only stayed one night. Noise from reception can be heard in the rooms too. The view is spectacular, breakfast is average. The walk from the main square is about ten minutes and all uphill.
The next day when we checked out the girl was very nice and said we wouldn't be charged for the extra nights etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    64
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
111
91
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the Cusco Packers in early April and we loved it. The staff is so friendly and make sure you have everything you need. The breakfast is included and you can have tea as much as you like.

The view from the hostel over Cusco is amazing. It is not centraly located but it will only take you 10 minutes to get to the plaza de armas and the area around the hostel is safe,

The tour agency who is located in the hostel was great. They organized a four day trip to Machupicchu.

Thank you for everything and we miss you all.

"The swiss couple with the Toblerone and the galletas"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After booking on the Web site for $12 per night, we assumed this was the amount we would pay. Little did we know upon checking out, they converted the payment to soles and used a conversion rate way above the average. We ended up paying quite a bit more and were extremely disappointed. They didn't bother trying to apologize or explain either. The staff spoke very little English and were generally unhelpful. The shower pressure was so light in order to get the warm water on... not hot. Bathrooms never had toilet paper and were cleaned randomly. Breakfast was ok. Nothing special. Just bread and jam. We're not picky and always laugh at negative reviews, but we were generally disappointed with this place considering it was #1 on trip advisor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aclark614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, Gerente at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear
we are sorry to hear you say that , but know that we have taken your comments seriously.
For the exchange rate of dollars to Peruvian soles. You should know that the exchange rate for the day your payment was 2.765 purchase and sale was 2.80 so we tubimos to charge at the exchange rate of the sale, because we we had to buy dollars to cover payment.
breakfast is served with coffee, selection of teas, fresh milk, bread, butter and jam.
on the cleaning is done every day
We are sorry to hear your comments on cuscopackers hostels, but we understand his discomfort, we will try our best to improve. thank you very much because we learn to be better
We hope you´ll return soon to see that we have addressed these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay in Cuscopackers. The owners are very friendly and make sure you have everything you need. You have a breakfast included and free tea all day. And of course a great view over Cusco :-). But because of that great view you have a to walk a little to reach the center. The water in our room wasn't really hot and the staff doesn't really speak english, but we got along.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chicoloco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What an amazing City, what a Great Hostel. Hot showers, Service on top notch, great view, free breakfast and Tee, coffee and Snacks for free all day. Nice Rooms, very new, Social atmosphere.... Good Deals on Tours

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank perser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari
Level Contributor
365 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hostel has GREAT potential, but there are several faults that tired and worned out travellers like me can't get past.

First, the good part: staff is truly nice, helpful, kind and available. From the owner to the girls and guys working there, they are all truly friendly. The common areas are nice and cozy - a nice covered terrace with a great view of the city, sofa, tv etc. I stayed in room 503 and that also has an incredible view. The place is quiet, clean, the beds are very comfortable. I did point out that it would be useful to have some hooks in the bathroom to hang towels etc and sure enough within a couple of days the staff reacted and placed them - which is something new here in Peru.

However, and here is the bad part: the rooms are freezing cold. It is hard to even get changed in that bone chilling cold. Showers hardly get any better than lukewarm (they are electric showers). I arrived there after 5 full days of hiking on the Inca Trail and Wayna Picchu, tired, dirty, dusty and sweaty and all I wanted was to have a hot shower, wash my hair and go to bed. NOT! I had a barely lukewarm shower and went to bed almost freezing.

Those electric showers should really be replaced with proper ones!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, Gerente at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Claudia TaFfani,
we are sorry to hear you say that, but know that we have taken your comments seriously . the hostel has blankets and/or space heaters available.
we would have happing provided these for you had. we know that if your room was cold
we´d like to thank you for letting us know about the lack of nooks in the bathroom . which we have posted instructions in each bathroom showing guests how to use the water heaters on the shower heads .
We hope you´ll return soon to see that we have addressed these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in this hostal. We arrived very early in the morning (5am) and we could rest temporarily in room until ours was ready.
We had à nice twin room, with private bathroom, hot shower.
The owner and staff have been very nice and helpfull . Even when There was a small problem due to misunderstanding of the language, everything was done to be as helpfull as they could.
Situated a liitle outside the center (15 mn) the view over Cusco is worth it. Nice view from terras and from some rooms. The hostal has very recently opened. Nice spaces to sit in couch, tables to eat. Only point : nô use of kitchen for the guests. You can use the fridge to store and microwave.
We recommand.



Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del uso del refrigerador lo tomaremos muy en cuenta le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 165 in Cusco
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 445 in Cusco
1,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 445 in Cusco
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 445 in Cusco
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 445 in Cusco
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusco Packers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusco Packers Hostel

Property: Cusco Packers Hostel
Address: Prolongacion Av. Arcopata No 129 (Via Santa Ana) Nueva Av. Abancay | Via a Iglesia de Santa Ana , A 20 Metros de la Estacion de Gas PetroAmerica, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cusco Packers Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel is located just 5 blocks from the main square of Cusco. It gives a view of the entire city and access to local Peruvian restaurants; as well as local attractions. Our rooms range from 2 bedroom rooms to full dormitory rooms. We have a full bar and full kitchen to serve our guests. We also offer free services on how to get to Machu Picchu on the cheap as well as our own guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cusco Packers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing