We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but still working out the kinks ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cusco Packers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ok, but still working out the kinks ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This new hostel just opened a few months ago, and it offers incredible views over the city centre. As a new place, it's still working out the kinks, but for the most part works ok.

Pros: It is clean and has wicked views of the city. Breakfast is thin, but similar to what you'll find at 90% of hostels.

Cons: They turn the wifi off at night (so when we arrived at 10pm, it made it hard to tell that loved ones back home we had safely arrived). The hot water works, but the hotter the water, the lower the pressure, resulting in drip showers. The hostel is located on a busy road, so it was loud at night. And as two girls travelling alone, the biggest con is that the hostel is slightly out of the city centre (a 15-minute uphill walk from the main plaza), so we fretted slightly about our safety when walking in the dark as there are few pedestrians around.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observacion del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    47
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
82
66
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 5 nights in early May 2014. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hostel itself is newly built hostel with a great view overlooking the city. They provide a nice basic breakfast. We were able to store our extra luggage during a five day hike and they helped us arrange for taxis at good prices. We liked the fact that it was not near the Plaza de Armas, the central plaza which is packed with tourists and vendors trying to sell you things. It is up a hill from the plaza but we needed to get used to climbing for our hike anyway. As other people have mentioned, they are getting heaters which are definitely needed. We found the showers hot enough although they do take some getting used to.

Room Tip: Room 502 had good wifi reception probably because it's right above the main desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was brought to Cusco packers by my taxi driver at 6am, they let me check in and use my room at that time as it was quiet. The hostel is very modern and new and during peak times I think the stylish bar will be a cool spot to hang out. They are in the process of adding heaters, literally as I speak due to the cold weather in Cusco over winter. The staff are really friendly and make you feel part of their family. The free breakfast is basic, add eggs and they´d be onto a real winner! The computer is the best I´ve used in south america and the wifi is good too, though not in the rooms. The view is incredible, due to its location and they have a verander area that I can imagine getting a lot of use in summer. Travel agent was extremely helpful and arranged my Machu Picchu tour and bus ticket. I stayed here before and after my tour. Security is good.

Only negative is the typical electric showers that can be hot if you dont want a lot of pressure, not the worst I´ve come across and I am picky about showers!

Room Tip: 601 ia an 8 bed dorm, the shower in here was better than the shared one on that floor. I dont know w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJBOS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here in a double room for 4 nights. There were both good and bad things about my experience.

Pros:
- As others have mentioned, the staff are very nice and make an effort to be helpful. My fiance and I got our laundry done for 5 soles and got to store our extra luggage for free while we did the Inca Trail for 4 days.
- The view is truly as advertised; it's spectacular and worth the trek upstairs.
- Free tea all day in the common area.
- The price is competitive, even for the cons about the space.

Cons:
- I wanted to stay in a hostel as opposed to a hotel in order to socialize, but this place was completely dead in early May. So much so that when we came back around 11 pm from Aguas Calientes, no one was around to unlock the door for us and we had to repeatedly use the doorbell, bang on the door, and call out (we couldn't go somewhere else--this place had our extra stuff!). I was hoping to make friends and that just wasn't likely here.
- Similar to others, we felt the hostel was FREEZING all day and that the showers were very temperamental. It was also possible to hear any noise from the common area in both rooms we stayed in. I didn't stay anywhere else in Cusco so I'm not sure how this stacks up.
- When we got our laundry back, we were missing two pairs of socks. My fiance noticed first and went up to inquire. The front desk initially told him that there was nothing missing and it wasn't until I also found I was missing a pair that the laundry place relented and found them. So clearly they send their laundry out, and I don't know what was going on there, but I thought it was worth mentioning as a caution to others. These were both expensive pairs, as socks go. (The laundry we did get back was done very satisfactorily.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurstkkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación de la lavanderia tendremos mas cuidado le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nether Heyford
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in a double room with ensuite and have to say that the staff are friendly and helpful. The views over Cusco from both the room and upstairs seating area were excellent.

However, the hostel itself was freezing with no heating throughout the facility or in our room. There is only so many blankets that you can place on top of each other.

The shower only offered intermittent warmish water.

Look you have to way up the competitive price against facilities available. Suffice to say we have returned from our trek and booked elsewhere, especially at this time of year when Cusco is cold at nights.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. The double room was sizeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación que el hostels es muy frio tomaremos en cuenta ese punto, le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked six nights but only stayed one. The wifi didn't work in our room which was a big problem for us.
The showers are weak, cold electric showers. The guy on reception was so nice and helpful and tried to get the shower to heat up but it just wouldn't. Our room didn't have an exterior window and the door was so warped that it jammed closed and we couldn't get out! Also the toilet wasn't cleaned in our bathroom.
When i told the guy we would be checking out the next day he was very apologetic and nice, he even got a hot shower working in another room and told me I could use it. The staff here are lovely.
However it just wasn't good enough for us to stay in so we only stayed one night. Noise from reception can be heard in the rooms too. The view is spectacular, breakfast is average. The walk from the main square is about ten minutes and all uphill.
The next day when we checked out the girl was very nice and said we wouldn't be charged for the extra nights etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes con respecto a su observación del agua caliente no se le dio las indicaciones debidas para el uso del agua caliente le pedimos mil disculpas por los malos momentos que paso.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the Cusco Packers in early April and we loved it. The staff is so friendly and make sure you have everything you need. The breakfast is included and you can have tea as much as you like.

The view from the hostel over Cusco is amazing. It is not centraly located but it will only take you 10 minutes to get to the plaza de armas and the area around the hostel is safe,

The tour agency who is located in the hostel was great. They organized a four day trip to Machupicchu.

Thank you for everything and we miss you all.

"The swiss couple with the Toblerone and the galletas"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuscopackers, RECEPCION at Cusco Packers Hostel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Google Translation
BUENAS TARDES
Agradecerle por su comentario y su estadía en nuestro Hostels nos sentimos muy contentos por lograr satisfacer a nuestros huéspedes.
Una de nuestras misiones en nuestro Hostels es que nuestros huéspedes se sientan satisfechos con el servicio brindado, lo que logramos con usted y nos sentimos muy contentos por logar nuestros objetivos, nuevamente gracias por su estadía en nuestro Hostels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#113 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 404 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Supertramp Hostel Cusco
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 404 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 404 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusco Packers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusco Packers Hostel

Property: Cusco Packers Hostel
Address: Prolongacion Av. Arcopata No 129 (Via Santa Ana) Nueva Av. Abancay | Via a Iglesia de Santa Ana , A 20 Metros de la Estacion de Gas PetroAmerica, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cusco Packers Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel is located just 5 blocks from the main square of Cusco. It gives a view of the entire city and access to local Peruvian restaurants; as well as local attractions. Our rooms range from 2 bedroom rooms to full dormitory rooms. We have a full bar and full kitchen to serve our guests. We also offer free services on how to get to Machu Picchu on the cheap as well as our own guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cusco Packers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing