We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Cusco”
Review of El Andariego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Andariego
Ranked #9 of 403 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stay here! Close to the Plaza del Armes. Helpful staff - English not great, but internet translations work. Good linens, good beds, hot water for showers could be better - but get over it! Good security, they arranged transport and connections - good people! Gotta love their breakfast! Just a super nice place, in Cusco of all places! A real local experience, we were one (two) of the few gringos - we never saw another gringo and that suited us just fine!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hotel El Andariego is in a good central location, yet far enough from the Plaza de Armas (less crowded). The hotel is situated away from the main street, behind two iron gates, and consists of two buildings. The rooms are nice and quiet, although during weekends the nearby disco may be heared during the night. Because the houses are old, the wooden floors make a lot of noice when walking on them, so a room upstairs would be better (bad luck for the guys underneath you!).
The staff is very friendly and helpful, although you should still check your reservation, because mistakes occur. The breakfast is average (is there a good bakery in Cusco?) and the breakfastroom feels more like a mortuary (ice-cold). They have a fireplace, but it seems to be there only for decoration.
We paid 160 soles for a twin room, although the listed price was 180. Bargaining is worth the effort, even in the high season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at El Andariego for a total of nine days. It was a wonderful stay without real problems. The staff was incredibly helpful starting with their quick replies to all my emails full of questions. They were very attentive while we were there. The rooms were comfortable and the showers functioned well. There was a heater in each room that kept us plenty warm. Breakfast was fine. Some days it was a standard Peruvian buffet of bread, cheese and some quinoa muesli. Some days (I think when there were fewer guests) we were served an egg with our bread. The coffee was good. The staff allowed us access to the kitchen (although the stove didn't work) so we could reheat leftovers for a couple of meals. We truly had a home here.

The dining/living room was incredibly cold. We used it a lot since we were there for so long, so we bought a lot of wraps from the market to keep warm. It worked but not as well as we'd have liked. The fireplace was not as functional as it could be. When a fire was lit, smoke filled the room. Heat would have made the stay perfect.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. The fireplace room is separate from the building and quiet. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We arrived late, by taxi, after a train ride from Aguas Calientes. The hotel is hard to find from the street. We wondered, how safe is this city, after going through two sets of steel gates to get to the hotel.
The hotel is an old mansion set back in what would have been a courtyard. It has a nice ambience and is filled with old furniture. The staff are very helpful.
Our room was in a separate buildng out in the courtyard. It was not overly large, but enough to set out the suitcases and still move around. We had a hot water problem at first which the front desk had to solve. The bed was quite hard.
There is a nice dining room and a good breadkfast is made to order.
There are tables and chairs outside in the courtyard which are pleasant to sit around and enjoy the sunshine.
The hotel is well located and a short walk to the Plaza des Armas and most of the sites.
If you are looking for a good average hotel I would reccomend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel was our "home" while in Cusco before and after a 9-day trek to Choquequirao and Machu Picchu. The hotel furnishings (in the lounge and in the room) are a bit tired, and, like the rest of Peru, there are no true 90-degree corners. However, the location was quite good (for access to Plaza del Armes) and the staff was awesome.

We took a "matrimonial" room (double bed) with a working fireplace and private bathroom. In addition to the fireplace, there was a small electric heater and loads of blankets. There was a phone and TV, neither of which we tried. There was no hot water the first night until we asked at the front desk. The fellow there said to give it 10 minutes and he hurried off to press a switch or turn a dial somewhere. Once the hot water started flowing, it stayed hot. (Actually, we found that using only the hot water in the shower was fine without having to turn on the cold water.)

The hotel held our bags during our 9 day trek. They were always helpful and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast, and always felt safe and secure at the hotel. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2history
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Spent 3 nights in this hotel and found the staff to be very helpful, especially Carlos. The breakfast was outstanding with eggs any way you liked them. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Convenient to Place de Armes and shopping. Truly a great value for the money.
Diane

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My review is in 2 parts: hotel and tour operator
1) The hotel's furnishings are very simple, however the service we received was 5 stars. The breakfast consisted of papaya/banana salad, eggs, bread, jam, fresh squeezed orange or papaya juice, tea/coffee. The water pressure was good and no significant problems with hot water. There was an electric heater that we used nightly because the room was colder inside than the outside. The thick duvet and the electric heater was plenty to keep us warm. The room was larger than the typical room and therefore easier to sort all the present we bought in Cuzco. The manager Carlos Harms was phenomenal: very hospitable and friendly and recommended our favorite Cuzco restaurant: Etopoy.

2) Upon our arrival at the airport, the tour operator associated with the hotel picked us up. His name is Carlos Sanchez Valencia with Inka Land Peru Adventures. We booked Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu with him. We asked if the tour will be in english only and he said yes. He said that we will visit 3 places in Sacred Valley then go on train to Aquas Calientes and hotel + bus+ Machu Pichu guide.
What we ended up getting was not what he told us: We saw 1 place because he booked the train for an earlier time and the tour was english+ spanish (mostly spanish). The guide dropped us off as close to the train station as he could, but we still had to run for 1 mile because the train was leaving in 10 minutes. Once we got to Aquas Calientes, it was per plan. He cheated us and that left a very bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soupspoon972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 172 in Cusco
1,146 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.4 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 403 in Cusco
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Andariego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Andariego

Address: Calle San Andres 270, Cusco Cusco01, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 403 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £37 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Andariego 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Andariego It’s the home for travelers in the heart of the city. We have large gardens and beautiful rooms that reflect the mix of the present with our history. Security, calm and comfort is what awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your El Andariego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing