We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value stay and staff are really friendly”
Review of El Andariego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Andariego
Ranked #15 of 351 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Value stay and staff are really friendly”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Referring to other reviews made about El Andariego, I can confirm that the staff are really friendly and helpful in particular Mariela that has always been very smiley and friendly when we are ask questions about Cusco, directions and etc. Feris was also very helfpul, especially when we had to leave the hotel at 4am to start our Salkantay trekking- he made sure we have a simple breakfast and hot drink before we leave. Overally both rooms were very comfortable and I have not major issues except the plug where a portable heater is connected too is not very 'efficient'. Other than day El Andariengo is a lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Stayed 2 nights in room 103, with the fireplace.very spacious and unique in its own way. Stayed at 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    90
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
93
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stay here! Close to the Plaza del Armes. Helpful staff - English not great, but internet translations work. Good linens, good beds, hot water for showers could be better - but get over it! Good security, they arranged transport and connections - good people! Gotta love their breakfast! Just a super nice place, in Cusco of all places! A real local experience, we were one (two) of the few gringos - we never saw another gringo and that suited us just fine!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hotel El Andariego is in a good central location, yet far enough from the Plaza de Armas (less crowded). The hotel is situated away from the main street, behind two iron gates, and consists of two buildings. The rooms are nice and quiet, although during weekends the nearby disco may be heared during the night. Because the houses are old, the wooden floors make a lot of noice when walking on them, so a room upstairs would be better (bad luck for the guys underneath you!).
The staff is very friendly and helpful, although you should still check your reservation, because mistakes occur. The breakfast is average (is there a good bakery in Cusco?) and the breakfastroom feels more like a mortuary (ice-cold). They have a fireplace, but it seems to be there only for decoration.
We paid 160 soles for a twin room, although the listed price was 180. Bargaining is worth the effort, even in the high season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRob60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at El Andariego for a total of nine days. It was a wonderful stay without real problems. The staff was incredibly helpful starting with their quick replies to all my emails full of questions. They were very attentive while we were there. The rooms were comfortable and the showers functioned well. There was a heater in each room that kept us plenty warm. Breakfast was fine. Some days it was a standard Peruvian buffet of bread, cheese and some quinoa muesli. Some days (I think when there were fewer guests) we were served an egg with our bread. The coffee was good. The staff allowed us access to the kitchen (although the stove didn't work) so we could reheat leftovers for a couple of meals. We truly had a home here.

The dining/living room was incredibly cold. We used it a lot since we were there for so long, so we bought a lot of wraps from the market to keep warm. It worked but not as well as we'd have liked. The fireplace was not as functional as it could be. When a fire was lit, smoke filled the room. Heat would have made the stay perfect.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. The fireplace room is separate from the building and quiet. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We arrived late, by taxi, after a train ride from Aguas Calientes. The hotel is hard to find from the street. We wondered, how safe is this city, after going through two sets of steel gates to get to the hotel.
The hotel is an old mansion set back in what would have been a courtyard. It has a nice ambience and is filled with old furniture. The staff are very helpful.
Our room was in a separate buildng out in the courtyard. It was not overly large, but enough to set out the suitcases and still move around. We had a hot water problem at first which the front desk had to solve. The bed was quite hard.
There is a nice dining room and a good breadkfast is made to order.
There are tables and chairs outside in the courtyard which are pleasant to sit around and enjoy the sunshine.
The hotel is well located and a short walk to the Plaza des Armas and most of the sites.
If you are looking for a good average hotel I would reccomend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel was our "home" while in Cusco before and after a 9-day trek to Choquequirao and Machu Picchu. The hotel furnishings (in the lounge and in the room) are a bit tired, and, like the rest of Peru, there are no true 90-degree corners. However, the location was quite good (for access to Plaza del Armes) and the staff was awesome.

We took a "matrimonial" room (double bed) with a working fireplace and private bathroom. In addition to the fireplace, there was a small electric heater and loads of blankets. There was a phone and TV, neither of which we tried. There was no hot water the first night until we asked at the front desk. The fellow there said to give it 10 minutes and he hurried off to press a switch or turn a dial somewhere. Once the hot water started flowing, it stayed hot. (Actually, we found that using only the hot water in the shower was fine without having to turn on the cold water.)

The hotel held our bags during our 9 day trek. They were always helpful and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast, and always felt safe and secure at the hotel. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2history
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Spent 3 nights in this hotel and found the staff to be very helpful, especially Carlos. The breakfast was outstanding with eggs any way you liked them. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Convenient to Place de Armes and shopping. Truly a great value for the money.
Diane

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 165 in Cusco
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Andariego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Andariego

Property: El Andariego
Address: Calle San Andres 270, Cusco Cusco01, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Andariego 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Andariego is a lodging that offers comfort located near the Main Square. It is the ideal place to relax after a day of sightseeing in Cusco and its environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your El Andariego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing