We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2007

Great experience in Cusco. Just like all Casa Andinas, everything was very comfortable and clean. Complaints would be that our room was next to the stairs so it was very loud as people went up and down to the lobby. Service was impeccable and location ideal, away from major tourist areas (within walking distance) and so close to San Blas square.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelniSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    221
    76
    19
    19
See reviews for
88
266
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2006

All told, we spent nearly a week at the Casa Andina San Blas and loved it--- it was was nice to be slightly out of the way of the main square. There was some work going on at the hotel while we were there, but nothing inconvenient. The place was clean and friendly, breakfast was sufficient and the hotel restaurant was surprisingly good (although there are other excellent food options nearby.) Friends who were traveling with us were less lucky-- a room overlooking the hallway instead of the city when they got back from Machu Picchu, and a lost reservation. But when we arrived at our next hotel, we all regretted we hadn't booked rooms at the local Casa Andina.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Loeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

I had a group in this hotel for the Inti Raymi Festival (I am a tour manager). The rooms are really variable and range from charming to strange. My own room overlooked someone's line of laundry and some piled garbage. The heat (it was very cold at night) was inadequate to say the least for most of my group. My bathroom door could only open part way as some of the fixtures were in its path. Many of the bathrooms flooded when showers were taken. For early risers, hot water was in really short supply. I stayed there 2 nights and had cold eggs both mornings. The only place our bus could stop to discharge and load the group was a block away in a really dingy, scary looking area. It made loading and unloading of luggage problematical. The staff was willing but very young and somewhat clueless. I don't know why the postings on this hotel are so positive, but I am skeptical about the motives. I really wonder if these people paid for their lodgings or got them for free as a perk of travel industry. This hotel looks very charming on the surface, but it needs to work out quite a few kinks in my opinion. This chain of hotels is really very good overall, but your site's reviews really misrepresent the reality. I admit that the demographic of my group is older and values heat, hot water and convenience more than a younger clientel, but rating this property so highly is very suspicious. I was expecting a much more together hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gentle Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, 17 February 2009
Dear Guest:

We were truly sorry to find out that our Casa Andina San Blas was unable to fulfill your expectations. We place great importance on your observations and have made several improvements since.

First of all, we upgraded our power circuits which have led to improvements such as no more power shortage, better function of our room heaters and enough hot water supply for all our guests’ rooms. Also, our hotel counts with a small area at our front entrance which allows our guests to unload their luggage.

On the other hand, we have settled food temperature standards to assure the quality of our breakfast buffet.

We really hope to get the opportunity to serve you properly and offer you the experience you deserve.

Kind regards,

Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2006

Our experience was radically different from the one good review you have posted.
The rooms were freezing. The view from our room was of dirty laundry, garbage and a shattered rooftop.
Our shower leaked and as I was mopping up the bathroom floor I also collected 4 cockroaches.
The hot water didn't come on until about 7 in the morning. Breakfast was haphazard and often cold.
The staff was mixed- some very nice and accomodating, others rude and inaccessible.
I would reccomend that anyone visiting Cusco- a charming and wonderful city- look elsewhwere for lodgings.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina, Operations Manager at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, 21 September 2006
Dear Trip Advisor members,

My name is Ravi Krishna and I work for Casa Andina as Operations Manager since 2003. First of all, I would like to mention that we truly appreciate your observations.

We have worked on your specific concerns and at this time all of them have been solved. All heating systems in the hotel have been checked and proved, special attention on food temperature has been settled and the water pressure and temperature is no longer a problem.

On the other hand, what really surprised us was the insect issue that you revealed. During my 3-year experience working in Casa Andina, nothing like that has occurred. Indeed, our 14 hotels are fully fumigated every 3 months by Punto Rojo, a very well-known fumigation company. After your comment, I contacted the company and they have come to the hotel in order to make sure that an issue like that cannot happen.

I would like to add that Casa Andina is quite a serious company, which is always looking for the highest levels of service. Our dedication and experience -we gather the most talented and experienced professionals in the Peruvian hospitality industry- has made us become the most important hotel chain in Peru only 3 years after the company was founded.

Thanks for your time,

Ravi Krishna
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2006

The Casa Andina hotel in San Blas was amazing! The service was excellent and attention to detail was so surprising. This is the place to stay if you are traveling to Cusco, Peru. It is only a couple blocks away from the Plaza de Arms. It is very clean and the beds were quite comfy.

Helpful?
6 Thank shame510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.7 mi away
Terra Andina Hotel
Terra Andina Hotel
#27 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.5 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas

Property: Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Address: Calle Chihuampata 278, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco's fast pace - like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco's tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city's most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. The hotel offers Internet Center, Wireless internet access, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing