We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Ranked #57 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here for three nights in the suite on the fifth floor. It is cozy and rustic with lots of windows. The views of the surrounding mountains were good day or night. The staff was very helpful and always friendly and knowledgeable. It was a little close to the local neighbours though and the hot water took a long time getting up there, but once it did things were fine. It is within a short walk from all the important sites in Cusco, but keep your eyes open when walking down the street, it is very narrow!

Room Tip: The fifth floor suite has lots of space and a good bathroom with jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    226
    78
    19
    20
See reviews for
91
273
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood Shores, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked this hotel in Cusco based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed.

The Pros:
The hotel was charming, clean and very comfortable with a very friendly staff.
We arrived at the hotel many hours before check in and asked if we could check in early as we had been traveling for ~15 hours. They told me that they would try their best, which is the answer that I typically get with most often no positive results but they came through and we were in our room within 20 mins of our arrival.
The room was quiet, bathroom was very clean and beds were comfortable. We really didn't need any more than that.

The Cons:
The hotel is on top of a hill and about 3-4 blocks from the main square, which is lower down the hill. This in itself is not an issue unless you have yet to acclimate to the altitude.
Also, breakfast comes with the room and although looks appetizing, it was not. We found that sticking with fruit, yogurt and bread was the best bet. Avoid the eggs and meats that are served.

Overall: thumbs up! Casa Andina is a hotel chain and represents consistant quality and is a good choice especially when other internationally known and respected hotels are not available.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed in the Casa Andina on 2 occassions. The first 2 nights we had a 3rd floor room that unfortunately had a window that faced into the hallway. The room was dark and a bit stuffy. We could open the window but it didn't have locks that would allow us to keep it partially open for air. The room was clean, the decor lovely and the hotel itself is pretty with nice grounds. Very close to the town centre as well.
The breakfast included was average, as we found the same in most of the Peruvian hotels. The staff however, were very friendly,wonderful and accommodating. I required some oxygen one night as I wasn't adjusting to the altitude well enough on my arrival. They were very attentive with this..and even asked about my well being the next day. They were happy to assist with any money changing and /or directions within the town. Always a friendly Hola at reception.
The last night (arriving back from Machu Picchu) we had a ground floor room. The window faced another building next door, but we weren't staying here for the view. We don't really have any negatives on this hotel, if you're looking for a nice friendly comfortable place this could be it.
Note: would be considerate of other travellers to be quieter when leaving the hotel during the wee hours of the morning.....as they tend to speak loudly and slam doors.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an outward facing window...upstairs so not to hear footsteps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you set aside to write your insights regarding your experience at our Classic Cusco San Blas hotel.

We are glad to know that the effort of our staff members on providing an excellent service was highly valued. However, we regret the inconveniences presented because of the noise perceived at your room.

Please rest assured we will be taken your comments into consideration as we are always open to evaluate different alternatives for improvement.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I would not stay here again. I found another hotel during my stay that was nearly 1/2 the price and so much better. This was like staying in a best western. No personality and terribly overpriced. A regular room comes with two double beds. Not suitable for a couple that actually likes each other.

Room Tip: There are so many other hotels that offer more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank th1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a 10 hour coach trip from Puno. Our room was at the back on the ground floor and our window faced a wall. Although it advertises a bar and restaurant the bar was a fridge in reception which you could buy from but there were no glasses. The restaurant was only a breakfast room. So on our first night and after travelling all day we had to walk to a restaurant which the staff kindly recommended.
the staff were very helpful and when we stayed there 3 days later on our way back from Machu Picchu we had a room higher up with a view. however both rooms were at the back where a rooster started crowing at 4.30am. fortunately we travel with earplugs but we did mention it to the reception staff who had no idea of the noise!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing you experience with us and other travelers. We were surprised to find out you saw information of our hotel with a bar and a restaurant. We did have both once but we don’t anymore, and this information was removed from our website. We are very sorry to hear you did not know this in advance to your arrival and this caused a misperception of our service. At Casa Andina we place special consideration to all our customers to exceed their expectations and we are glad to know you were well taken care of by our staff. We hope to have you back at any of our properties to live the real Casa Andina experience.
Kind regards,
The Casa Andina Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We would like to highly recommend Casa Andina San Blas due to its location, expense and romantic nightlife. It is conveniently located around nice restaurants, stores, and the Coca Museum. Unlike many of the other reviews of hotels, Casa Andina in San Blas had warm water that did not cut out on you during use. The place is romantically located in the mountains and staff values your privacy. Staff were always very helpful and asked us if we need something often before we even thought of asking. In a few short words, WE LOVED IT! If there is anything that could have been better about this stay in this terrific hotel is if we were able to enjoy it longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and i couldn't be happier with our choice. The hotel automatically upgraded us when we checked in to a better room. We had a great view of the city. Room was quiet, comfortable, clean, great service, atm in the hotel.
They always had a smile, even we showed up after hours.
We will stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescamercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.7 mi away
Terra Andina Hotel
Terra Andina Hotel
#26 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.5 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas

Property: Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Address: Calle Chihuampata 278, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco's fast pace - like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco's tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city's most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. The hotel offers Internet Center, Wireless internet access, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing