We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas
Ranked #54 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is very close to many shops, restaurants, pharmacies, etc., as well as the Plaza de Armas and the Cathedral. The breakfast buffet was really nice, and the lobby was always stocked with supplies to make coca tea to combat altitude sickness. I would recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariallntp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We, unfortunately, only had time to stay at the Casa Andina Classic for one night in San Blas. They were very courteous at the front desk and willing to help carry our heavy luggage to our room. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the beds were comfortable.

I made the mistake of having caffeine at dinner at a restaurant which caused me to wake up in the middle of the night. I couldn't believe how peaceful and quiet it was at the hotel in the middle of the city.

The breakfast had an assortment of things from which to choose including scrambled eggs, different types of breads and cereals.

The location of the hotel is in a very charming part of the city a little higher up which had a pretty view at night of all the twinkling lights from the front of the hotel. I loved walking out the front steps and exploring all the quaint cobblestone streets. There is a nice business area lounge at the hotel if you need to use a computer. The very center area of the hotel has a lovely courtyard for sitting outside. The hotel is a good value and you can take advantage ahead of time by purchasing a room for a discount on their website.

One word of advice though that I learned while I was in Cusco. If you plan to exchange any American dollars, make sure they are in perfect shape - no tears or chunks missing which is many times the case. For some reason, the banks there don't accept them and no one is willing to take them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I can't say enough about this great hotel in the midst of a really beautiful neighborhood. My daughter and I were volunteering in an orphanage and assigned a homestay in Cusco. It was in the low 40's at night and early morning. The home we were assigned to had no heat. After just one night, we moved to Casa Andina and luxury was at our fingertips! The staff is friendly and helpful. They held our bags securely while we went off to Machu Picchu. They kept medication in the refrigerator, clearly marked, for us. They had a lovely breakfast buffet. They got us cabs to the airport, patiently gave directions, exchanged cash and always with a smile. Most of all, they had heat! I'm so glad we found them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Dear people, in my first stay the service in the desk and in the breakfast room was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean every day. In my second stay the service in the breakfast room was very bad, none table was ready, someany to eat was there. The room was better than I had in my first stay. I had mountain view and fresh air and the room was very light. Thank you.

Room Tip: rooms opposite to the reservation desk are large, sunny and are quit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at 5 hotels during 10 nights in Peru - plus 2 nights in the jungle. This was the only disappointing hotel experience we had.

The price difference was relatively small, so I booked a suite. Nowhere was it disclosed that THE suite is on the top floor, requiring a 2-flight walk (no elevator) each time you go. in/out, and 4 flights to/from breakfast. The suite comes with a jacuzzi tub - it took 27 minutes to fill it to the mid-point of the tub (below the drain, with us in it).

This was the only hotel that didnt even offer a single free bottle of water - and the dispenser of purified water in the lobby was marked as being for guests of a tour company only. No available power outlets in the room, only in the bath. Windows didnt close flush with frames - and that matters when overnight temps drop to near freezing in a room that onky has small space heaters.

I agree with others who noted that the walls are thin. We could hear 2 sets of voices from downstairs rather loudly.

Breakfast was weak. The staff was slow to clear and re-set tables, and to replenish food. The only "variety" we saw was to alternate between regular pancakes and quinoa pancakes - otherwise, same 2 cheeses, 3 fruits, breads, jam, scrambled eggs, etc, each day.

The biggest reason for disappointment, though, was the staff. We asked on Saturday at 7p the cost od a taxi to the Pisac ruins the next morning at 8am; the desk attendant ("J-L") told us S/60,and said he would have a taxi at 8. When no taxi arrived, te morning clerk called - no order was placed. Then, when we finally got to Pisac, the driver said that S/60 was the price to the market (in town), and that a cab up to the ruins was S/80; coming back, though, it was only S/50 from tge market to the Plaza de Armas. The night guy's lack of follow-thru clearly put us in a position to be stiffed. (Compare this to my review of the staff at Arequipa's Los Tamos...service isnt linked to physical condition of property.)

In short, if this is the best Casa Andina Classic property, I'm glad it was our only CA experience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CO_FF_from_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your insights and the time you took to share them with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is definitely important because it allows us to improve our service.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences presented at our Classic Cusco San Blas hotel, especially on the transfer to Pisac and the market arranged by our front desk. Unfortunately, the driver did not come on time and for that reason you presented the discomfort with another taxi service. As well, we presented our complaint to the company responsible for this.

As for your comments on our breakfast, we would like to mention it corresponds to our Classic hotel’s standards. It includes selected choices, being some of them changed daily in order to have some variety in case our guests stay consecutive days.

We regret the bad moments you experienced during your stay. Please, be sure we are taking into consideration your comments as we are always open to evaluate different alternatives for improvement.

Best regards,

Casa Andina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I went with my husband and my parents to Cusco in the end of May and we stayed at This Casa Andina hotel. When we first arrived they already gave us a cup of the famous Coca tea! This makes a huge different, because the altitude should be a problem for most people in the first couple days. The service is excellent, very warm and ready to help people in the front desk, all the time. The Internet in my room was okay so I could check my emails everyday. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and cozy but also with no luxury. But we were not looking for that. Breakfast was very nice with some good options. For us the only small problem is that the hotel stays in the top of a hill so if we went to the "plaza de armas" came back by foot not always was an option. But once you learn the taxi system it's very cheap and easy to get one for the hotel which is indeed very close to a lot of things! I would recommend this hotel for any friend for sure or would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManuBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Pros: staff is friendly and very helpful; rooms are clean; wifi throughout; breakfast is adequate and available at 5;

Cons: a bit of a walk to town center; hot water was sporadic during the morning; adjacent to shanties; thin walls so voices and noises carried

Room Tip: rooms on level 2 or 3 in the front of the hotel are quieter and don't overlook the shanties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel.
Certainly, this hotel is located in the heart of San Blas, just one block from its main square and still only 3 blocks from Cusco´s Plaza de Armas.

At Casa Andina, we always do our best to offer all our guests great and pleasant travel experiences. For this reason, we are very sorry if we could not meet your expectations with some of our facilities and also for the noise presented.

It will be a pleasure for us to count on other opportunity and have you again in any of our properties around Peru.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Koricancha
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Plaza
0.3 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas

Address: Calle Chihuampata 278, Cusco 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a sprawling colonial building built around a sunny colonial stone courtyard, peacefully removed from Cusco's fast pace - like a sophisticated country hotel in the city. Rooms offer superb distant views of Cusco's tiled rooftops and surrounding mountains or of the handsome arcaded interior courtyard and ample terrace. Tucked away in the heart of the city's most atmospheric neighborhood, San-Blas, the hotel has 4-wood-burning-chimneys, a rustic restaurant and bar, and delightful sitting areas. The hotel offers Internet Center, Wireless internet access, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Cusco San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco San Blas Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing