We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was so sad we had to leave”
Review of Hostal El Solar

Hostal El Solar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal El Solar
Ranked #112 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I love this place. We came to cusco for a few days and ended up spending three weeks here.

Lovely little central garden that all rooms surround you can sun yourself in, well furnished (if a little small) and regularly cleaned rooms with decent showers.

The hotel staff went out of their way to help and always had a smile on their faces and surprisingly quiet and peaceful considering it's right on San francisco square (so really nice and central to everything).

Found this place by accident and so pleased we did.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here after finding it through Booking.com. We returned after our jungle trip as we were impressed.

The rooms are around a central garden. They are small, twin rooms bigger than doubles, but are quite pleasant as they retain the old buildings style. Hot water was very good. Wifi doesnt quite make it to all the rooms but there is a communal area with an electricity point.

The owners are friendly and smiley. They also run the restaurant next door which serves the familiar Cusco fare and a decent pisco sour. The location is excellent.

The only downside - breakfast was a little disappointing - just bread, butter and jam.

Room Tip: Twin rooms offer a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

This place was pretty basic but definitely deserves better than a one star review. We went here at the recommendation of our tour guide when the place we reserved (the Loki Hostal) didn't look very good. This place was well located at Plaza San Francisco, 3 blocks from Plaza de Armas, close to the Machu Picchu train station, and not on the side of a hill like so many of the places around town. The staff was friendly and helpful like so many places in Peru- a cup of mate de coca served to us in our room when we arrived. The room was definitely spartan- barrel vault ceilings, no windows and a bit cold, so it's a budget choice for sure. We did have a problem with getting water in the shower early in the morning, but we went and woke up the night manager who turned it on for us. Overall not amazing but pretty good if you're looking for a hostel-type option.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
3  Thank ChrisADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

My hotel was booked solid one night and I hadn't reserved my room, so I moved around the corner to this hotel. It was mentioned in Lonely Planet so I thought it would be okay. The room was fine for the price ($15) but there was no water at all from the sink or shower when I woke up early to catch the train to Machu Picchu. I had to wash my face with bottled water. The guy at the front desk was friendly but spoke no English. I had asked if he would knock on my door to make sure I got up in time, but he didn't. Fortunately my alarm went off. When I got downstairs, using a flashlight because there were no hallway lights on, the front door was barred and I couldn't get out. I had to find the attendant and wake him up in order to leave the hotel and get the train. Avoid this hotel.

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank md001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joaquin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de abajo dan a un patio interior de casona antigua, supongo que alguna habitación a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Me agrado todo , no tengo quejas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maritza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
6.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#151 of 171 in Cusco
86 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#64 of 512 in Cusco
261 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#60 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 512 in Cusco
768 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 512 in Cusco
683 reviews
6.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Solar

Address: Plaza de San Francisco N 162, Cusco 08000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm hostal in a colonial house with a nice garden in the middle of the building, located just 2 blocks from the main square of Cusco. All our rooms have private toilet, hot water, cable TV and our rates includes continental breakfast, free Wi Fi, safe box, storage, laundry, tours, and some other hotel services. Come and enjoy the magic of Cusco with the best service that just we can offer for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing