We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodation in reasonable location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Pascana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Pascana
Ranked #217 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation in reasonable location”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this Hostel both in the lead up to and after an Intrepid Inca Trail tour, which used this Hostel as a base.

The room was basic with a soft mattress and warm bedding. Shower was OK but took a while for the hot or lukewarm water to appear and only in a light stream of water.
Breakfast was simple, as with most other places, but you could get eggs for an extra 2 soles.

I think the staff of the hostel genuinely wanted to help but sometimes language was a barrier (most didn't know much English) and other times they weren't empowered to do certain things and had to defer to the owner who was rarely there. In fact, access to the office Safety Deposit box (not available in rooms) and checking out after I had made a deposit were near-impossible tasks! Only the owner of the hostel appeared to be able to do this and he wasn't always around or co-operative. In fact, when we returned from the Inka trail trek on a Sunday we wanted access to our secure things and the manager had to be called in especially - then he complained he didn't work Sundays! Even though I pointed out the sign on the wall which stated the hours access to secure items could be done - every day. Bad news if you had your passport in the Safety Deposit box and wanted to fly out that day! Then he promptly gave me someone else's stuff!

I recommend you use your money elsewhere as I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenJOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 night before our Inca Trail Trek, and the night following the trek. It was organized by our tour operator.

We stayed in room 204 that is just above the courtyard where they serve breakfast. This was a really cute room with a loft. The bathrooms was small but clean. The beds are very soft which can be good and bad a the same time! It was a warm bed though.

We got wifi in our room and had no problems with wifi at all so Im not sure about the other reports. However because this hostel is small, it is loud durning the day (form the staff) and you are sure to wake up at 4.45am when the other guests are waking up to go on their 4 day trek (not so bad when its your turn, but if you don't have ear plugs its hard to get back to sleep).

they stored our luggage while we were on our trek.

Friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smarty1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here as part of our intrepid Inca trail package. Was one night at the start and one at the end. Because we were getting into Cusco a day early to acclimatize to the altitude we added an extra day to the start. In retrospect, maybe not the best idea. The location is great, but the facilities aren’t the best. The breakfast was just stale bread and jam (which is kinds what I expected). The bedding (sheets/blankets) didn't look clean at all.. so we just slept in our sleeping bags onto of the bed and bedding. The shower in the room was terrible. It would take a very long time to heat up, and then it would be either scolding hot, or freezing cold.. and it would only be the smallest of trickle that would come out. It rained during the second day, and the roof leaked onto our beds. Basically don’t stay here unless you have too. Luckily we pre-empted that it would be uncomfortable so we had planned to forfeit our last night once we returned from the inka trail.. and by god I’m glad we did. We stayed at ‘Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi’ and would highly recommend it along with its sister hotels ‘Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza’.. I highly recommend you stay at one of them for only slightly more!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Gap tours assigned this as our accommodation for before and after our nights camping on the Inca Trail. Host at the front desk kept turning off the wifi which was hard to pick when it was on from our room. Shower with very sensitive regulation and stream and no moveable head, and bad sticky curtain. No heating in the room. Smallish bed with multiple blankets that probably never washed but bed was comfy ofcourse after our Inca trail trek. Very little English from nearly all staff despite this being a hotel designated by the tour company was a bit surprising but the guides were usually around so wasn’t to much of a problem. It was at least quiet in our room as it was a the rear of the property.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berliner_Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here before and after the inca trail. Staff were extremely helpful and an elder guy spoke good english. You could tell the staff were proud to work there and enjoyed helping tourists.
Room was clean... Had a heater... And shower was imcrediably hot... Especially after the inca trail.
Breakfast was fresh bread butter jam juice and tea/coffee. Eggs were an extra S3 and worth it.
Convenient location too... But addrress a lityle difficult to find on our tourist maps because it was a small pedestrian street.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madquirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

There weren't a lot of guests when I was there, which is a bit of a shame. The hostel is unassuming, but it was very clean, was very quiet, had heat in the rooms, and had good hot water in the shower and the sink. The location across an Inca alley from the Convento Santo Domingo was great; just two long blocks to the Plaza de Armas, but only foot traffic on the alley outside the door. The breakfast was simple (bread and a hot beverage; no eggs). The laundry, like most places in Cuzco, was quick (back by the same afternoon), inexpensive, and good quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A family owned hostel style across the lane from the Temple of the Sun and Cathedral. The down side of this was that every time you headed towards the Plaza de Armas you were assailled by souvenier sellers of all descriptions from water colour paintings (does anyone ever buy these?) through dodgy sun galasses and llama finger puppets. The staff where helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very basic but it is worthwhile to get a cup or two of Coca tea for the altitude. This place can be noisy as it is used as a starting point for Inca Trail by companies such as Intrepid. This can mean getting woken early by people chatting and tromping down the stairs on their way out. I would stay here again, yes the beds arent that comfy and the pillows are something else but the people and the location are great. Nearby is a street of Chicharronarierras (not sure of spelling) where you can buy great lunches with the locals for a very small price.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the alley are noisier than the ones at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themudgeerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#26 of 162 in Cusco
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Llipimpac
Llipimpac
#27 of 404 in Cusco
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#113 of 162 in Cusco
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#154 of 404 in Cusco
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 404 in Cusco
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Pascana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Pascana

Property: Hostal Pascana
Address: Ahuacpinta 539, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing