We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base in Cusco at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Ranked #55 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good base in Cusco at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Suenos del Inka, close (2 blocks or so) to the Cathedral square, is in a scenic section of town, with a great view of the town from the 3d floor and above looking towards the Cathedral. It's in an old bulding (I was told Colonial era), which gives the public areas a decent amount of charm and character. The staff is friendly and helpful, and generally speaks reasonable English. The rooms are small (as they tend to be throughout Peru, from what we saw), but decent, with comfortable beds. Showers are tiled walk-in stalls, which I prefer to tubs, with good amounts of hot water. Hotel breakfasts are par for the course.
As others have noted, there is no elevator; at 10,000 plus feet, you'll notice the absence pretty quickly! But not many hotels in this category have elevators, so if that's a big issue for you (and it could be), make sure to check with whatever places you're thinking of staying at.

Room Tip: Initially, we were placed in a room on the 2d floor with, essentially, no windows (as I recall, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    113
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
77
88
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff was SUPER helpful and spoke perfect english. Great location, easily accessible to the Plaza Del Arms. Yummy Breakfast. Found it to be a Perfect home base to leave bags, etc while traveling to and from Machu Picchu.

Very charming decor as well :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marisavitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHSI, Gerente at Hotel Suenos del Inka, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Dear Marisa,

Thanks for your comments! We are glad to hear you love the hotel and our service. Hope to seen you again in Cusco.

Kind regards,
Rosa María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was ok but the very staff makes up for what the hotel lacks. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient to Plaza Del Armas, so you have easy access to shopping and restaurants. There is no elevator so you will have to climb stairs from the front door to your room. i would consider breakfast ok. We stayed here 3 nights and every morning there were no eggs or sausage. The walls are thin and you can hear what's going on next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balaczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHSI, Gerente at Hotel Suenos del Inka, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Dear Balaczar:

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Sueños del Inka is a colonial house and this is why we cannot do any changes to the original structure and thus have no elevator. On the other hand, our buffet breakfast provides different options everyday, we are sorry to hear that during your stay you miss sausages. We always try to do our best and help all our guests during their visit to Cusco. Greetings from Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The people at the Suenos del Inka are so helpful and friendly they made staying such a pleasure. The character of the place is also charming and if you stay in room 107,you pass through a chapel on your way to your room. Lovely breakfast too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If there is a traffic diversion, choose a room further back,as the police whistling may disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tortoise_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHSI, Gerente at Hotel Suenos del Inka, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Dear Tortoise_Uk: It was a pleasure to meet you both! Thanks a lot for your comment. We hope to see you again! Hugs from all Sueños del Inka family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends and I must say that I completely loved it! Beautiful hotel and only 5 minutes away from the main square. Our room was on the second floor and even though it took us a little while to climb the stairs the first time due to hight-sickness,it was a good training for Machu Picchu.Room was very clean, a pretty good price-performance ratio.
The staff was really nice. They helped us every time we needed it and always with a big smile. Definitely coming back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHSI, Gerente at Hotel Suenos del Inka, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Stefy,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to know you had a great time in Sueños del Inka Hotel. We try our best to provide all our guests an excellent stay in Cusco. We will be really happy to see you again pretty soon! Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotel conveniently located near historic buildings, and pedestrian mall. Good shopping and eateries near by.

Hotel was quiet, hotel staff helpful. Good breakfast buffet, hotel was accomodating for our early AM departures.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingHSI, Gerente at Hotel Suenos del Inka, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear James,

Thanks a lot for your comment! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again! Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel, only two blocks from the main square (Plaza Mayor). Excellent baths and beds. There is no elevator and we were put on the fourth floor - 84 steps up from the street. Since we had been lugging bricks, cement, water and sand up hills where we had been building homes in La Florida, Peru, this was not too big an issue except that we were now at altitude - we had taken altitude sickness meds and had no problem. The one glitch was that our group's passports and immigration forms were handed to the desk. When they were returned, I did not check and later found that my Peruvian Immigration form was not returned. When we returned to the Suenos Inka two days later, they said I had to pay the tax because I did not have the immigration form and they did not make a copy - although on this day, they were making copies of both everyone's passport and immigration form. What should have been a great stay was somewhat ruined by this experience - it seems to be a bit of a scam to get more money from tourists. At a subsequent hotel, I was told it was $20 - when I got a receipt, it was only $18.40. The next morning it was corrected to $14.40. It had to be paid in cash in American dollars - at Suenos Inka it was $35.00 and I did not have time to go back and make sure it was the correct amount.

On our second stay there, another group had an even earlier start than we did for our trip to Punos - when we came down for breakfast, we had to clear tables and get our own plates and silverware, and wait for more food to be brought out.

Room Tip: Unless you like climbing stairs, ask for a room on the first or second floor - then you will only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#60 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ruinas
Hotel Ruinas
#48 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suenos del Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suenos del Inka

Property: Hotel Suenos del Inka
Address: 185 Warankallki Street - End of Ruinas St, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suenos del Inka 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Suenos del Inka is a charming colonial house located just a few steps from the Historic City Center, heart of Cusco and close to the Plaza de Armas, Cathedral, San Blas neighborhood and other iconic attractions. The unique architecture of this house has original stone walls, floors, stairs and even arches. It has also a structure that resembles to the Inca terraces which allows anyone to enjoy of various breathtaking views of the city in its different levels. Discover the wonders of Cusco and have as a starting point Suenos del Inka, where the magic and charm of the imperial city prevails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Suenos del Inka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing