We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, but not an impressive property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antares Mystic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antares Mystic Hotel
Ranked #81 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, but not an impressive property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent 2 nights here, then moved on. Pictures show an interesting airy design, with a well-lit central courtyard -- the reality is the enclosed courtyard distributes light & noise throughout. There's also a lot of outside noise from the Mercado across the street. Building & contents are ready for an upgrade. Staff are friendly & helpful. Breakfast is good. We found other much more attractive properties for only U$D5 more per night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    107
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
74
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The reception at the airport indicates that people who works at the hotel take are of your customers very well.
All of the staff was very nice everyday. The rooms are simple but very comfortable and worth the price we paid.
The location may scare someone at the first time in Peru because of the several
Markets around (these markets are quite
Bizard compared of what we had in Brazil) but we felt very safe and is very very close to the main square (plaza de armas).

In general, we highly recommend you to stay with Alicia and her staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfarjalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

They helped us. We arrived 4 o clock without a hotel and they find a way to let us stay.
They have a honest hotel!
Great shower and beds.
The breakfast is regular like in the other hotels in Peru.
I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunocic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel is a 10 minute walk from Plaza de Armas and the more touristy (expensive) San Blas area. The staff were very helpful, the room was cozy and had everything you could ask for to spend a few days riding out the altitude sickness. Highly recommended, and I simply wouldn't look anywhere else if I were to return to Cusco.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

a warm loving staff who greeted us at the airport and presented us with a cup of coca tip when we arrived. it was cheap cheap cheap,with clean rooms, good shower and a great location. the sister hotel in aguas caliente was just as comfortable for the machu picchu visit.
very pleased,nyc resident

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bebe1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Went on a South America trip a few years ago and stayed overnight in this hotel for a visit to Machu Pichu. We decided to walk from the airport, bad idea. It took us nealry an hour to find the hotel. A taxi ride takes 10 minutes will cost you about 5 bucks and is well worth it. Very affordable and included breakfast. Very Friendly staff but at that stage they struggled to speak english. When I was there we stayed on the top floor(I think 4th) and there is no elevator. Because of the high altitude, we struggled with the climb, but it's not too bad.. The hotel is quite close to the train station.
They have a computer linked to the internet if you need to use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

A quiet clean place to stay in Cusco central market area , restaurant/attractions/artensanial marktes/ plaza san pedro...and best of all.....Plaza de armas is 4 blocks away.
Rooms are clean,conceierge service are excellent with very helpful informations provided.
Eliana and Rita are amiable /kindly, and room service are neats .
absolutely will stay there if travel there again, highly recomment to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yanantin Guest House
Yanantin Guest House
#85 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#46 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
#76 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Mystic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Mystic Hotel

Property: Antares Mystic Hotel
Address: 172 Cascaparo St., Cusco, Peru (Formerly Rey Antares Mystic Hotel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antares Mystic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget hotel option, the best choice for those expecting a cozy and comfortable place, clean rooms, friendly service and warm attention with all the basic services for the tourist. Within the historic downtown, close to the main square, to the colonial churches, to the most bars and restaurants, to historic monuments, just half block from the old train station to Machu picchu and in front of the main central market of city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Antares Mystic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Antares Mystic Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing