We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Ranked #1 of 346 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Experiance”
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Hospitality was awesome. My wife and I arrived at the airport 7.30AM & were picked up at the entrance (for free by HPA) and whisked away to the hotel. Our reservation was for that evening, hence the room was not ready. Our hostess took us upstairs to the common area and gave us copious amounts of Mate de Coca and other teas.

The rooms were simple and comfortable - typical South American beds, toilets, and showers. The gardens were beautiful and afforded a wonderful view of the city sprawling out below, Cusco's mountains across the valley floor, and the mountain engraved with the massive words- "VIVA EL PERU GLORIOSO".

The breakfasts were delicious and fresh. Fresh bread and jam, eggs cooked to your liking, coffee, teas, and fresh OJ.

Great location in San Blas neighborhood. My pregnant wife and I walked everywhere.

A wonderful place to stay with exemplary hospitality.
STAY HERE!!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — one room close to the street is loud
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank insatiable9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    127
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
268
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

This was my first trip to Cusco Peru but will not be my last I hope. The city was magical and the Hostal Pension Alemana was perfect. It was spotless, with a wonderful breakfast, extremely kind and helpful staff and a good location. As a bonus our view was spectacular and the hostal was eco aware. I can and will highly recommend the Alemana.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisianaBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My friend booked this and all of our Peru hotels and I am glad he picked this one. It is up there on a hill overlooking Cusco but with the views we had from our room's balcony the walk was well worth it.
This place also had the best breakfasts we were offered during our travels throughout Peru. And the hot water generally worked in the showers and the beds were #1 as well.
Kind staff, free internet upstairs... what more could you want.

  • Liked — Comfy beds, breakfast, views and free wifi and cable tv
  • Disliked — didn't accept credit cards, tough hill to climb to get to it from the Plaza
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nezperce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We booked Pension Alemana for four nights 45$/double with breakfast , and didn't regret one of them: Helpful, excellent & very friendly Staff, most of them locals. They've very clean rooms, basic but really cozy. Very good Mattresses, decorated every day with new flowers from the own garden. Some rooms have a great view over the City, if not you can sit on a public balcony under the roof or in the garden to enjoy the atmosphere. Try to avoid the middle room in the first floor, it appeared a little bit dark. The Hotel offers personal complimentary pick up from and and to the airport, cheap and effective laundry-service, free internet in a public room also with some books, old newspapers and TV if needed. Breakfast at fireplace is basic, but very good and among other things with fresh juice, fruits, 'Muesli' and eggs at your favorite option. You can also have Coca-tea or coffee all over the day. The Hostal has ca. 8 rooms, front door was locked all around the clock and is located in San Blas, definitely one of the better quarters in town. All Cusco-based attractions can be reached on foot, of course iron lung provided.

  • Liked — Staff, Price and View
  • Disliked — nothing special
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

This is a charming little place with a beautiful garden, basic rooms, generous breakfast, luggage storage, internet, and generally good service. Our group of 8 occupied 4 rooms for 4 nights. The rooms have heaters and comfortable duvets. But one room had a problem with the water heater one day. Cold showers are no fun!!! Be aware that taxis may not take you all the way uphill to the front door. But the extra few blocks ore no big neal as long as you have good knees and are not carrying bricks in your luggage. My only complaint is that the woman who works the late evening and early morning shift is not always very friendly and speaks no English... but she cooks great eggs!

  • Liked — Comfortable clean room with heaters at reasonable price.
  • Disliked — Occasional noise from the street.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JDBonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We stayed one night and weren't too impressed. The room was cute but the hot water ran out fast, I had to get out in my towel and shampoo in my hair across the courtyard to another shower! The staff didn't seem to care and wasn't very friendly. The location is in the more remote area of San Blas and we were advised not to walk there at night but rather take a cab to get back to the hotel. We also stayed at Casona les Pleiades which is closer to the main plaza yet quieter (pedestrian-street only), safer, cheaper and much more friendly, stay there instead if you have the option.

  • Disliked — hot water very limited, staff not very friendly, remote location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Papyrus_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grower4, Besitzer at B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
Dear guest, we are very sorry. You are one of the very few to whom this happened. Recently Pension Alemana has increased the capacity of its own reservoirs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Pretty, friendly, sparkling clean, and a great value for the price, the Pension Alemana is on a quiet street near the Plaza San Blas, just uphill (or a $1 cab ride) from the Plaza de Armas. We were greeted with a cup of mate de coca and pointers for minimizing the effects of altitude sickness, which proved very useful. (Oxygen is reportedly available if the mate de coca and coca leaves don't suffice.) The rooms were full of charm, and we succeeded in getting room 12, actually a suite, with the best views. The staff were wonderful. The pension works with a wonderful cab driver who handled airport transportation and also drove us to & from Ollantaytambo. The Plaza San Blas neighborhood is full of artisan shops and restaurants. We would definitely return here.

  • Liked — Overall wonderful experience
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank audace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#5 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Property: B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, in the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom, radiator-heaters, cable-TV, safe and free Wi-Fi. Homely atmosphere, personalized service y great views, en ample common spaces, garden and terraces. Natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks. Very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing