We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the heart of Cuzco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
Ranked #2 of 393 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Pension Alemana is easy to miss; tucked away on a small side street, not far from Cuzco's Plaza de Armas, the exterior blends in with the residential buildings surrounding it. Once inside, however, you are transported to an old-world urban retreat. Tile, dark woods, and Peruvian artwork adorn the common spaces whislt the maze of VERY CLEAN rooms are located on multiple levels and in hidden corners around a lovely flower-filled courtyard.

The staff was extremely friendly and made us feel like old friends who popped in for a visit. Coca tea was presented to us as we took care of the check-in formalities and then a tour of the property and our room commenced.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone traveling in the region! The bath towels were quite scatchy and could stand to be updated with something more plush. Otherwise, everything else was PERFECT!

Room Tip: Higher floors often have stunning views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel on the hill overlooking cusco. Great location for a short walk downhill into the plaza del armas. Staff were wonderful and went above and beyond to make our trip excellent! There is a small restaurant with great prices! Ask for a room with a view of the city! Only downside is having to walk up the hill to get back... Not too bad though!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good Breakfast, clean and simple rooms, not cheap, warm water 24h, heating in the room, helpful staff, free tea, coffee and water at all times, quiet location, about 10 minutes from the city center

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank He_said_she_said_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel in a great location with friendly welcoming staff.
The rooms seem to have different quality.
This review goes only for our triple room 106. We were told in advance that our triple room hasn't got a view. We were fine with that and we appreciated honesty. There was a heater in the room which is more than you can expect.
We found the toilet is unbearable. It wasn't stuck at all, but the flushing was one of the worst I've ever seen. Prepare to watch your poo (and your friends poo) twisting and turning in the toilet not once, not twice but several times untill you get rid of it. The toilet is a missconception, I'm afraid.
Unfortunately the hot shower isn't hot at all. We tried several times. Another annoying detail: Imagine youself under the barely luke warm shower with intermitting cold water, trying to open the shampoo - you were happy to find provided - but you just can't. It's a frustration guaranteed package. Biting, hitting, smashing nothing seems to help. Where's that bloody tiny cut on the edge? You won't find it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here four nights and we really liked it. The room was always very cleaned, the staff was very friendly and willing to make your stay the best, the cafeteria on top of the hotel has a great view and breakfast was good. The only thing is that you have to walk to the Plaza de Armas or Plaza de San Blas to be picked up or dropped off for your tours and the area early in the mornings is not very clean. Other than that we really loved it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Liliana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A perfect place to spend a few days while acclimatizing to altitude, & exploring Cuzco & the Sacred Valley. We stayed here before & after our trek. The hotel stored our luggage while we were trekking, & it felt very safe to leave our stuff. The hotel is in the interesting neighbourhood of San Blas, which is quiet, yet still close to the center of Cuzco, & one can easily walk to the ruins, the markets, & restaurants. We felt safe walking (to/from the hotel) as a group in the evenings. The streets in San Blas are VERY narrow, but the Alemana can be reached by taxi - so one does not need to drag luggage across cobblestones. The rooms were clean, bright, quiet, & had a space heater. The breakfast (included) room was bright, with a great view looking down on Cuzco. The best part though, was the staff. The front desk staff especially, were amazingly helpful - they made arrangements for us (train, duffel bag transfer, restaurants), offered local advice, spoke excellent English (yet tolerated my attempts to speak Espanol), & were very friendly. Special mention should be made of Catherine, who seemed to anticipate our needs, & made everything easy (my husband says: she was the best hotel clerk he has ever dealt with!!) .... sadly though, I believe she is leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaytee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here before our trek and were so happy to be able to come back afterwards. The rooms were quiet and clean, the shower was hot, the beds comfortable for Peru, the breakfast room with a view was bright, there is a pretty garden to sit in, and the service at the front desk was excellent. They helped us to make dinner reservations, had our bus tickets to Puno delivered to the hotel, found us a van with a driver for a day excursion, arranged taxi to and from the airport. Everything was clean and well organized. This neighborhood of Cusco, San Blas, has very few motorcycles, and there is a no honking the horn restriction, even with the narrow streets. Many of the alleys in this area have steps, or are for walking only, and there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. We also walked up to Sacsayhuaman from here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the city, which are on the street. Others overlook a garden. Very few mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dje93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 171 in Cusco
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
891 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 393 in Cusco
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana

Address: Calle Tandapata 260 | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Pension Alemana)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £49 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque San Blas, in the historic center of Cusco. Colonial style house complex, with 21 comfortable rooms, each with private bathroom, radiator-heaters, cable-TV, safe and free Wi-Fi. Homely atmosphere, personalized service y great views, en ample common spaces, garden and terraces. Natural and abundant breakfast, rooftop- cafeteria with great dishes and drinks. Very clean and secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pension Alemana Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing