We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location...but”
Review of Hostal Suecia I

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Suecia I
Ranked #73 of 411 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I booked this hostel primarily based on location. The service was touch and go. When we first arrived early in the morning, we were greeted with tea de coca which was very nice. However, as far as the continental breakfast goes, that was the only time it was actually offered to us, the other time we had to ask. We were also once refused breakfast service because it was past 10 am, but the day before we had received breakfast at 10:30am.
The first day we got there we were let in our room to rest. a couple of hours later we get a knock on the door and a lady wanted to come in and change the sheets because it hadn't been done yet. Kind of a turn off and made us wonder if the room had actually been clean.
The hot showers are nice, if you want sleep get a room in the back because there is a club down the street from the hostel.
Also, they offer private airport pick up for 5 soles/ person. There were two of us and they charged us 15 soles instead. I think taxi's probably do charge that, but it's discouraging/annoying that they tell you it will cost one thing and ends up costing another.
Also, I'm not sure if this is a hostel for those who want a late night here or there. One time we came back at 12:30 am and had to knock several times for someone to let us in. I am unaware of and was never told of a hostel curfew. The staff did seem annoyed when asked to be let in to the place as per other reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marwat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

We booked this hostal before leaving as it had a good balance between price, location and reviews. Usually we have two main criteria - a clean room and hot water, hostal Suecia 1 had both! We stayed here for 3 nights before the Inca trail and also 1 night when we returned. Our first room was on the 2nd floor facing away from the Plaza de armas and it was fantastic, quiet and comfy. Our 2nd room was facing onto the main street and as it was a Friday night it was a little noisy (we were so tired after the trek that we would have slept standing up!) If you're booking a double room, request a quiet room on the top floor and you won't be disappointed! Breakfast was the usual fresh bread, jam and coca tea or coffee but i'm not complaining!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if booking a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani_Lith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Super convenient location, awesome hot showers with pressure, friendly staff and clean. Try not to get a room that faces the street, the club at the corner is loud until around 4/5am. But, if that's all you can get, take it, you will be given ear plugs...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The location is perfect just 1/2 block off the Plaza de Armas and near many restaurants, clubs and shopping. The only noise you can hear is from people walking by at night but no traffic noise. The staff was mostly friendly but they seemed "put out" when they had to get up to let you in. It is very secure since the door is always locked. The rooms were nice size and very clean with plenty of blankets. Overall it's the location to stay here for. They also have a luggage storage for trips to Machupicchu.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The hostel is the the greatest location possible, it´s a stop away from all the parties and the city main plaza. My friends and I couldn´t believe how comfortable the beds were, we could get some reeeally quality sleep there.
The staff is pretty helpful and nice, we had some problems (we got stuck in machu picchu for 4 days, the trains were ruined) and they kept our baggage and didn´t charge us for those days.

But it isn´t the place if you wan´t to meet people, it´s very quiet and all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

This place is very close to the Plaza de Armas, but it's located near a discoteque. We were in a room on the second floor, street-side, from which we could hear the traffic and music from the disco late into the night and early morning. After a couple of nights, we asked to be moved to a quieter room, which was much better. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was simple, but enough to last you until late morning. Bathrooms are very tiny and don't have much privacy from where the bed is situated. Not too bad for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

I guess it´s in a good location, and it is cheap. But I was always cold. There wasn´t hot water, so I didn´t bathe for 3 days. Gross.
Skip it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 172 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#97 of 172 in Cusco
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#65 of 172 in Cusco
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Arrieros
Hostal Arrieros
#131 of 411 in Cusco
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa del Inka
Hostal Casa del Inka
#82 of 411 in Cusco
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Suecia I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Suecia I

Address: Calle Suecia 332, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £23 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Suecia I 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Suecia I is a cosy and familiar bed & breakfast in a carefully conditioned 16th century house built in the early Spanish presence in Cusco. We are located just off the Main Square, at the very heart of Cusco. Our excellent location is coupled with a very quiet and calm atmosphere, and a familiar and affordable quality service, which has deserved recommendations from books for travellers as well as prizes from Peruvian authorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Suecia I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing