We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret it as long as you join in the fun”

Belmond Hiram Bingham
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,025.99*
and up
Hiram Bingham Luxury Train to Machu Picchu
Ranked #12 of 885 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Belmond Hiram Bingham es un lujoso y exclusivo tren unico en el Peru que cuenta con un servicio todo incluido en el que vivira un dia completo de experiencias inolvidables en su visita a Machu Picchu. - Elegido "Mejor Tren del Mundo" por los lectores de Conde Nast Traveller UK (2011). - Mencionado entre los 7 mejores trenes del mundo (Revista Conde Nast Traveller 2010). - El Belmond Hiram Bingham se encuentra entre las 10 rutas mas maravillosas del mundo (NBC).
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Devon, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't regret it as long as you join in the fun”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Brilliant train journey. Great music. Great food. Yes we were late but did it matter? Staff so polite but with a twinkle.........

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieDevon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mrs. JulieDevon2000,
We would like to thank you for traveling aboard the Hiram Bingham train and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and us. We are very pleased to know that you had a fantastic journey and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    218
    72
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you want the trip to match the Machu Picchu visit than this is the way to travel”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The whole experience was well worth the money. From the reception to the comfort of the seating, the food, the service and the entertainment.
But not only the train ride but the immediate availability of the transport buses for the transport up to Machu Picchu at the arrival of the train in Aguas Calentes, and the way the luggage was handled so that you find it back in the evening in the hotel at check in, was outstanding. The guide that Orient Express provided at Machu Picchu was also great, Alex made the afternoon very interesting and enjoyable. And the last part of the deal, the afternoon tea gave us the opportunity for a good rest after the visit.
Very pleased with the whole package.
We went both ways with the Hiram Bingham and we can only highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. KvG01,
It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and we are very happy to hear that you had an incredible and memorable experience aboard the Hiram Bingham train. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option on this occasion and for sharing your comments with our community. We hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the expense”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We enjoyed the train ride, with the exception of the ugly American tourists who hogged the observation deck outside, not permitting any of the other passengers the ability to enjoy the same.
The staff were. Dry attentive and the meal was good. The live entertainment was enjoyable.
We returned on the Vistadome, there was a lack of leg room and it was very crowded.
If we were to do it again we would take the Hiram Bingham both ways

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank diaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. diaund,
Thank you for traveling with us aboard the Hiram Bingham train and for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad you had a enjoyable adventure and we really hope to see you back for another journey aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not up to the hype”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is by far the best train to Machu Picchu. It has only a dining car, lounge car and kitchen car. The food is good but by no means great. The staff needs to put more effort into keeping the only restroom clean. If I ever return to Machu Picchu I would most certainly use the train again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Mr. marlew76205,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and for traveling aboard the Hiram Bingham train. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we really hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Hiram Bingham train was a great way to travel. We had private seating in the dining car, a live band in the back bar car, and lots of space to relax. And, pretty much everything was compted. We came back on the Vistadome. It was a lot more crowded, expectedly, with much less leg room. But we had an Alpaca fashion show and everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. In fact, the Vistadome offered better viewing of the local scenery because of the vista viewing. Still, the Hiram Bingham train made the trip painless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFearlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at Belmond Hiram Bingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Mr. mikebytahoe,
Thank you for traveling aboard our trains and for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the journey and we really hope to see you back aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Hiram Bingham Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmond Hiram Bingham also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Belmond Hiram Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing