We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home, in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Midori Hotel
Ranked #73 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Felt like home, in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Cusco is an incredible city so treat yourself and stay at a hotel where you can easily walk to the main square. Midori is just that place. The rooms are standard fare for Cusco -- clean but not over the top. The staff is helpful (like just about everyone in Peru that we met) and fluent in English. Breakfast is modest but ample and served in a peaceful courtyard setting. Take advantage of the coca tea that is available all day long in the restaurant area. It definitely helps with the altititude. And, don't forget to drink water, lots of it (bottled of course). The hotel has a computer with internet (at a very small cost) and a small library. Great for small groups which we had. The hotel stored our main luggage while we did the 4 day Classic Inca Trail hike -- which is a must if you have the time and the physical ability. Don't be fooled, the hike is strenuous but unbelievably worth it. And Macchu Pichu is spectacular. Be sure to leave room in your luggage to bring home wonderful textiles and alpaca from this region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window with an outside (vs. courtyard) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    70
    25
    6
    0
See reviews for
36
79
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our first trip to Cusco and we stayed in Midori Hotel. It was just what we wanted. It was quaint and clean and conveniently located. We were able to walk daily to the Plaza. The staff were proficient in English and were vey helpful. Upon arrival, they greeted us with Coca tea which helped while we acclimated to the altitude. The daily breakfast was good and we were always made to feel at home. When we return to Cusco, we will definitely make Hotel Midori a place we will revisit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street and Saturday night it got a little noisey but that was the only time. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbajalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, the staff is aware to assist you in any inquiry, are very kind and efficient. Other good reason to choose it is its location.
Especially we are grateful for the assistance of Alexander. Without doubt we recommend it.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel, so any room is good to stay. Maybe if you are medium age might prefer to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LourdesIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is a very nice and clean hotel. the staff is friendly and speaks english. We stayed in room 202 a school is right across the street so if you want quiet durring the day pick a different room. We liked the location it is next to the best resturants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmiketravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leucadia, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed at Hotel Midori prior to my Inca Trail Trek. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location was excellent, about 3 to 5 minutes walk to the Cusco Plaza de Armas city center. Please be aware that there is an elementary school across the street from the hotel. The sound of children's laughter from 8 to 3 was not bothersome for me at all but it could be for other guests. The room was nothing fancy but it was clean and quite spacious for a budget hotel. The breakfast is buffet style and not fantastic by any means but it gets the job done. Great stay. Would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This is a lovely little hotel, very close to the main square, though up a short hill from there. It is very comfortable and the room we stayed in was very well appointed. The breakfast is good and constantly freshly refurbished. The staff are all very pleasant and efficient, especially Branca in reception who knew our room number after only one day and always had a smile. A good budget choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at the Midori in Room 201 for 5 days. It is a relatively small hotel conveniently located about a block and a half from Plaza de Armas. The staff are always attentive and polite. WIFI is not free. I rented the computer at the 2nd floor for an hour for 3 soles but only used it for 10 minutes. The internet connection was so slow, I left in disgust.

Breakfast is ok. Restaurant is closed for lunch. Dinner at the restaurant is nothing to write home about. If you are picky about food, I recommend Limo Restaurant in the plaza. We had sushi and ceviche. A little bit pricy however.

Across from the balcony is an elementary school. It can be noisy during the day as you hear children's voices as well as the sound of cars as they pass by the narrow, cobbled road. We know this for a fact since we stayed inside our room for almost 48 hours straight! Yes, we had altitude sickness. No, the coca leaves did not help nor our prescribed altitude pills. Nonetheless, the sound of fireworks is the only sound we couldn't get used to. We found out later that each time the church is opened, they lit up the fireworks. Definitely not the hotel's problem. Can't complain to the Catholic church either since we are also catholic!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Casona Real Hotel
La Casona Real Hotel
#89 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Cusco Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Marqueses
Hotel Los Marqueses
#46 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midori Hotel

Property: Midori Hotel
Address: Ataud 204, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cusco
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midori Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure of presenting to you the new Midori Hotel, located in the heart of Cusco. Our Hotel is strategically located in the historic center of Cusco, a few steps from the Incan Museum and one block off the main plaza of the Imperial City. Our Hotel operates in a large, restored and beautiful colonial house that preserves its architectural characteristics and provides a warm and inviting atmosphere for our guests. Midori Hotel is designed to give the best service to our guests with all the necessary installations. Midori is complete with 24 comfortable and fully equipped rooms, as well as a dining room, lobby, Jacuzzi, and a well-trained and friendly staff. Midori Hotel opened its doors on June of 2006 and has since then given our national and international guests a pleasant stay in the Imperial City of the Incas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Midori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midori Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing