We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Midori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midori Hotel
Ranked #71 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed at the Midori for 6 nights between excursions from Cuzco. Overall we were disappointed with the facility. Our stay was booked by a travel service (Inkanatura) and a double room was requested - I was not aware that a double room meant 2 twin beds - one must request a "matrimonial" room to get a small double bed. This was not available except for a couple nights of our stay. Although the rooms were clean, they were small, cramped and cold - floor heater was barely adequate. Beds were uncomfortable with very small pillow. Bath was adequate although one of our room's baths had very bad smell that persisted throughout stay.

The breakfast buffet was also a disappointment.

The only positives of this facility are location and free WiFi. I must add that the staff tried very hard and were as helpful as possible. I would recommend spending $30 extra a night and upgrading to a better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wantphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

Stayed at Hotel Midori for three nights as a base for trips around Cuzco in May 2009. Then came back for two more nights. Very, very clean and safe. Intelligent helpful staff and they will store baggage for you. Great location adjacent to Plaza de Los Armas. Only downfall? Noise. There is a middle school across from the front door so all of the kiddie noise rolls into the hotel....including band practice. Also the staff was very noisy via walkie talkies beginning at 6 AM. Standard breakfast that all Peru hotels have...wierd granola, fresh fruit, odd baked goods, cafe tinto, and of course cocoa leaves for tea. The posted rate is $90 american per night which is stupid. The real rate is $70. A bit pricey but you pay for nice furniture and location. Also ...how much is clean worth to you?

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rungreencoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We loved this hotel. It is quaint and cozy but the rooms are plenty big and very clean. It was just a short walk to the town square and lots of great cafes. The breakfast buffet was nice and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chloebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Stayed here 2 seperate nights. Both times got great rooms. Very clean. We were even upgraded to a room with a living area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Whenarewegoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

This small Japanese-owned hotel, which opened in 2006, is a charming old Cusco home that has been beautifully refurbished. Rooms are spacious, immaculately clean, with roomy nicely-appointed bathrooms (our room had a shower but no tub). The free buffet breakfast is quite good and lunches and dinners at the small restaurant are reasonably priced and tasty (although the menu is understandably limited). The location is very convenient-- just a short two blocks (uphill) from the main cathedral and square. The staff is extremely attentive and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting this old colonial city.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WanderingWebfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank GNRAKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Anticipación en la reserva, su ambiente tranquilo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilberto Enriqu... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.4 mi away
Unaytambo Hotel
Unaytambo Hotel
#40 of 172 in Cusco
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco
0.1 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#96 of 172 in Cusco
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 172 in Cusco
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midori Hotel

Address: Ataud 204, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cusco
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midori Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure of presenting to you the new Midori Hotel, located in the heart of Cusco. Our Hotel is strategically located in the historic center of Cusco, a few steps from the Incan Museum and one block off the main plaza of the Imperial City. Our Hotel operates in a large, restored and beautiful colonial house that preserves its architectural characteristics and provides a warm and inviting atmosphere for our guests. Midori Hotel is designed to give the best service to our guests with all the necessary installations. Midori is complete with 24 comfortable and fully equipped rooms, as well as a dining room, lobby, Jacuzzi, and a well-trained and friendly staff. Midori Hotel opened its doors on June of 2006 and has since then given our national and international guests a pleasant stay in the Imperial City of the Incas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Midori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midori Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing