We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
HONG KONG
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, highly recommend it!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were just in Cusco in December 2013 and we stayed at this hotel for our time in this city. The hotel is in the city of Cusco very close to the centre but still out in a side street just enough so you have complete peace for your sleep. The city centre is about a 10 minute walk only. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the vicinity with some of the best food I have ever had in my life for great prices! So much to choose from and the staff was excellent. Especially a young man named Jair/Jiar (not sure of the spelling) who helped often in reception and was just wonderful, attentive and made sure everything was always just right for my family and I. The rooms are spacious and pretty and the beds comfortable. For that price, it can't get any better than that! Great value for your money and the breakfast selection was incredible. I do not need much, but nobody can complain about the selection there. I would go back at any time. It is about 20 minutes from the airpot and costs about $20 USD for a van since there were more of us. It is in the perfect location and you do not need a car or even public transport for the main attractions of the city centre. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    320
    96
    21
    11
See reviews for
177
340
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent Location and good values for money. Generous breakfast with variety and choices. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Restaurant is a little pricey for dinner but there are so many other eating options around. The main square is just a few blocks walking distance away and the Coricancha sun temple just round the corner.

Room Tip: If wifi in the room is important ask for a room to your right when you reach the first floor landing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lsaldanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet location in walking distance to the center of town. It is a well equipped facility, rooms were large and clean as was the bathroom. It is not a modern facility but had everything one needed.

The restaurant is located downstairs. Breakfast buffet had several new items from the local area in addition to the regular breakfast items. One item was interesting. They had peeled the prickly pear fruit and sliced it and served along side the Kiwi fruit. It was sweet, juicy with lots of seeds. Our group final dinner was very good, with new items, and service was very good.

Wifi is available but iffy depending on you location in the hotel. We had to go out and stand in the hall to get a signal. Not a problem, as everything was downloaded and we could take it back to the room to read.

Coca tea was available 24/7 to help with altitude sickness if needed. Also oxygen is available.

English is a little difficult in the lobby personnel. We had a sewer blockage, and when I spoke with the security guard, he called the manager. I explained the problem to the manager and he told the security guard what I said. Next thing I know, they brought us 2 rolls of toilet paper! I had him come to the room and I pointed out the problem, he smiled and said "OH". He was back promptly and took care of the problem.

Traveling in a foreigh country is fun, challenging and rewarding.

Recommend staying here if is Cusco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Rooms were lovely, hotel is in good location can walk to markets and town square. Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and the restaurant was lovely. Jose the waiter and barman was
excellent he did everything made the drinks tooks the food orders and delivered.

Room Tip: We had a twin share and this was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank millo2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great location. Good rooms with good quality linen. Breakfast has good variety. Staff friendly and helpful. The complimentary coco tea in the foyer gives a nice touch.
But ... The hotel caters for huge groups that can clutter up the dining room, especially at night. The television in the dining room is also extremely annoying. Coming from the rainforest and transport that broke down in the mud, we soiled a small towel ... The hotel insisted that we pay for a replacement towel. I find this unreasonable given the situation where guests come from muddy trails and hikes.

Room Tip: Some of our group complained about small and noisy rooms. Check out the room first. Insist on a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinotbasjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Best hotel of my trip, on arrival we were greeted very nicely, clean rooms, great hot water 24 hours, the fabulous breakfast, a large flat sour.
I recommend this hotel for service, cleanliness and generosity of its workers

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Excellent location. Very good, supportive service from the staff, who were always attentive and ready to help by making a phone call or giving information. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, but not too expensive hotel close to all the main tourist sites if Cusco.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 169 in Cusco
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taypikala Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taypikala Cusco

Property: Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Address: Calle Inticahuarina 620, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taypikala Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 ft from the Temple of the Sun, Taypikala offers luxurious heated rooms with views of a central courtyard and picturesque Cusco. There is free Wi-Fi and massage sessions can be booked.Taypikala Hotel Cusco features a charming central courtyard with a small water fountain surrounded by flowers, plants and original Inca walls.Decorated with Andean themes, rooms come equipped with LED cable TVs. Some rooms include spa bathtubs and all of them have private bathrooms.There are floor-to-ceiling curtains and comforters in a matching palette of warm shades. Work desks, minibars and tea/coffee makers are included as well.Guests can wake up to a full buffet breakfast with tropical fruit and coffee. They can also treat themselves to local and international flavors at El Tambo restaurant, overlooking the fountain and offering international and Andean dishes.The front desk offers 24-hour front desk assistance and a handy currency exchange service.Taypikala is 3 blocks from Cusco’s main square and 6 blocks from Wanchaq train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Taypikala Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing