We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Ranked #27 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Easy walk to the city and attractions, helpful staff, clean and comfortable. Average breakfast. Beautiful garden, with outdoor furniture, and funky decoration. Great experience, certainly fitted well with the amazing Cuzco visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel was very nice, the bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet. We could sleep well even on 31 December. The location was very good - 10 minutes walk to Plaza de Armas. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lena012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The staff of hotel is very vriednly and they always were happy to help us.
We arrived really early and they let us have a breakfast for free and let us check-in earlier as well.
Two minuses I can mention:
1. Shower in room doesn't have door, so all humid in your room
2. Don't eat in their hotel for dinner. One day we were fine, second my husband had a food poisoning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marginadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Small, boutique hotel that is within walking distance of the square and many fine restaurants. Very unassuming from the exterior but warm and friendly inside. The room was small but very comfortable. It overlooked a very pleasant courtyard. No problems with noise as reported in another review. Coca leaves were available in the lobby for the taking -- and they DO help with altitude issues.

Room Tip: Opt for a room above ground level and overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EndlessSummerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Room was VERY noisy - heard everything in other rooms and out on the street, and the curtains did not block the sunlight so it was very difficult to sleep. Didn't have hot water the last day. But location was wonderful - easy walking to the Plaza de Armas. And the staff was very nice and responsive. Rooms were just OK - sort of outdated. Gets a little cold in the room but they have lots of extra blankets and a little space heater available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT on the street - the street is noisy and the windows are super thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Solo traveller, Jan 2014. Good service, good value, a short walk from main tourist areas. It's located in a small street that may be a bit uncomfortable to walk up if alone at night. Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff. Good breakfast selection. Would stay here again if visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were just in Cusco in December 2013 and we stayed at this hotel for our time in this city. The hotel is in the city of Cusco very close to the centre but still out in a side street just enough so you have complete peace for your sleep. The city centre is about a 10 minute walk only. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the vicinity with some of the best food I have ever had in my life for great prices! So much to choose from and the staff was excellent. Especially a young man named Jair/Jiar (not sure of the spelling) who helped often in reception and was just wonderful, attentive and made sure everything was always just right for my family and I. The rooms are spacious and pretty and the beds comfortable. For that price, it can't get any better than that! Great value for your money and the breakfast selection was incredible. I do not need much, but nobody can complain about the selection there. I would go back at any time. It is about 20 minutes from the airpot and costs about $20 USD for a van since there were more of us. It is in the perfect location and you do not need a car or even public transport for the main attractions of the city centre. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.7 mi away
Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#41 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taypikala Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taypikala Cusco

Address: Calle Inticahuarina 620, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £35 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taypikala Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 ft from the Temple of the Sun, Taypikala offers luxurious heated rooms with views of a central courtyard and picturesque Cusco. There is free Wi-Fi and massage sessions can be booked.Taypikala Hotel Cusco features a charming central courtyard with a small water fountain surrounded by flowers, plants and original Inca walls.Decorated with Andean themes, rooms come equipped with LED cable TVs. Some rooms include spa bathtubs and all of them have private bathrooms.There are floor-to-ceiling curtains and comforters in a matching palette of warm shades. Work desks, minibars and tea/coffee makers are included as well.Guests can wake up to a full buffet breakfast with tropical fruit and coffee. They can also treat themselves to local and international flavors at El Tambo restaurant, overlooking the fountain and offering international and Andean dishes.The front desk offers 24-hour front desk assistance and a handy currency exchange service.Taypikala is 3 blocks from Cusco’s main square and 6 blocks from Wanchaq train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Taypikala Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing