We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed, good breakfast, limited hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed, good breakfast, limited hot water”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

An average stay, typical shortcomings - no hot water in the evenings, internet spotty. However, located in quiet alley, yet close to main square. Breakfast had lots of options, coffee not so good. Hot tea with cocoa leaves to deal with altitude, oxygen as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Huy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    316
    93
    21
    11
See reviews for
174
335
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel, is a 10 minute walk from the main Plaza area, it has a beautiful garden at the back of the hotel, where the Hummingbirds often visit. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and an en suit

Room Tip: Three minutes by taxis to the main square - 3 Sols
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmoon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in Hotel Taypikala before we went to Machu Picchu, and one night on our way back. We found a high standard of cleanliness, a generous breakfast and very helpful staff. Although we didn't need it, we noticed that there was oxygen for those suffering from altitude sickness. The location was wonderfully quiet and there were hummingbirds in the garden. Plaza de Armas, where there was always something going on, was a 10-minute walk away. We appreciated being able to leave most of our luggage safely at the hotel whilst we were away for 2 nights visiting Machu Picchu, travelling light.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SussexCuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the hotel is placed near the Qoryanka museum and only 10 min walking from the main plazza. the rooms are beautifull and clean, the brakfast excellant and the service impeccable. the location is on a quiet street and the night sleep is restfull.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Taypikala in Cisco for 3 nights on our way to and back from the Inca Trail. For the first stay, we had a very spacious room with a jet bath which was cold due to its size but nice and quiet. The second time we had to switch rooms due to some cleanliness issues and received something that must have been the emergency spare room...safe didn't work, heater didn't work, cleanliness was unacceptable and there was a construction project going on right in front of the room. Apart from that,the hotel is in a safe area and short walking distance to the lovely main square of Cusco, close to the artisan market and has the best breakfast we have seen in Peru! Also, very comfy beds. I would probably stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatchaMama242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here as a group of 24 during a 2 week journey around sacred valley and lake Titikaka. The staff were very friendly and very very helpful. The hotel itself is located close to the Plas de Armas and is an oasis of calm which is great when you are busy exploring ancient and sacred sites all day, or shopping in the markets. We had our evening meal in the hotel one night and the food and service were excellent. Breakfast is a delicious self service buffet. The hotel has a beautiful atrium garden where you can sit. We used it for morning meditation as a group

Looking forward to returning with another group of people in a few months.

Very much recommended as are all the Taypikala hotels.

See you all soon,

Many thanks and much love

Joe

Room Tip: Very good value, very comfortable and great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our group of 14 stayed here both before and after hiking the Inca Trail. The front desk staff were very helpful in getting taxis to the airport, but also in getting me a room for an extra night at a discount.

The breakfast was good, lots of fruit, breads, cold cereal and yogurt, and juices.

The rooms were well-appointed and clean, plentiful hot water, but the usual dim light over the sink, making it hard for old eyes to shave!

It was an easy 10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. I was very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.5 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.9 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.6 mi away
Terra Andina Colonial Mansion
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taypikala Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taypikala Cusco

Property: Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Address: Calle Inticahuarina 620, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taypikala Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 ft from the Temple of the Sun, Taypikala offers luxurious heated rooms with views of a central courtyard and picturesque Cusco. There is free Wi-Fi and massage sessions can be booked.Taypikala Hotel Cusco features a charming central courtyard with a small water fountain surrounded by flowers, plants and original Inca walls.Decorated with Andean themes, rooms come equipped with LED cable TVs. Some rooms include spa bathtubs and all of them have private bathrooms.There are floor-to-ceiling curtains and comforters in a matching palette of warm shades. Work desks, minibars and tea/coffee makers are included as well.Guests can wake up to a full buffet breakfast with tropical fruit and coffee. They can also treat themselves to local and international flavors at El Tambo restaurant, overlooking the fountain and offering international and Andean dishes.The front desk offers 24-hour front desk assistance and a handy currency exchange service.Taypikala is 3 blocks from Cusco’s main square and 6 blocks from Wanchaq train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Taypikala Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing