We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, great location, basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel
Ranked #102 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great location, basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed twice during our Peruvian trip, in total of 5 nights. The hotel as a great location, staff is friendly. Nice courtyard that we didn't use much. You can have free coca tea located at the entrance of the breakfast room.
Breakfast is basic not really a lot but ok.
Room are clean but cold are there was a heater in the room.
Hot water sometimes but missing and report to the reception that fix the problem (probably boiler turned off) and not much natural light in the room. The first night not a good sleep as there was a group leaving early probably 5am for any day adventure and we could hear everything, luckily all the other day the hotel was quiet.
they close the main door in the evening however not a problem because they were opening in less that a minute always.
A little breakfast improvement and warm room could be a suggestion, otherwise is ok for stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franc01981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
25
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Tupac Yupanqui must be one of the best-located hotels in Cusco; close enough to the central Plaza yet quiet enough for a good night's sleep.
I enjoyed the hotel's central courtyard, and the stonework both inside and outside is said to be from the original Inca palace. They always have free coca tea to help you acclimatise and the staff couldn't have been more helpful with looking after our bags and giving us tips to get to know Cusco. I would recommend it if you're aiming to explore the area and if you are the type of person who enjoys spending your holiday exploring the place you are in rather than the interior of your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Although well located, the hotel is suffering from a series of problems. The water pump feeding the rooms makes a very loud noise. Do not stay in room number 108 or you will not sleep. When I complained about the noise, the manager turned the water pump off, leaving me with no tap or toilet water. He told me I had to choose between the noise or no water. He only relocated me to a different room after I insisted. The rooms are all tiled making them very cold, and they are run down. The breakfast is the most basic I have had in South America (Peru, Bolivia, Chile) so far. And when I asked for more toilet paper, the receptionist was unable to find any and had to take some from another room. Added to this, they lock the front door and you have to wait for someone to let you out and let you in again, meaning you are left standing in the street until someone comes to help.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor. The rooms are near the noisy water pump, and there is no soundproof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012 on a group tour. The hotel is very centrally located, clean and comfortable with a great courtyard for relaxing in. It's not luxury, but it had everything we needed. Staff were friendly and the service was good. Bathrooms and breakfasts a little basic but all in all it was a great base from which to explore Cuzco.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a total of 4 nights during our superb Amazonas Explorers trip in Peru. They held onto our spare kit while we trekked for 9 days...everything was OK.

This place isn't luxury, barely 3 star. It is a small, family run type of hotel, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Courtyard is a lovely original feature of this old property, a sun trap after a days sightseeing.

The rooms are comfortable, well sized if a little basic, but not well lit. The bathroom is OK. Beds too. Generally not terribly modern but just fine.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but they serve a basic, but nice breakfast.

There are 2 sluggish PCs in the lobby with free internet access. Generally you queue to get on them or select a time when people aren't using them.

It is superbly situated, with the main square just a block away and loads of restaurants around.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilAWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location of this hotel is great, its really close to the main square and the area around the hotel felt really safe, even during the night. The hotel itself is a lovely old traditional building, but it really needs an update. The rooms are clean, but very old fashioned and the rooms are really cold with just a small heater to try and keep them warm. The bathroom is adequate but the hot water is inconsistent. There are not many windows in the rooms so they feel a bit dark and dingy. The rooms were also quite noisy. The communal outdoor courtyard if lovely. There is free coca tea and the breakfast is ok. Stayed here as part of a group trip, completing the Inca trail, it met our needs, but was nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was meeting a party who was staying at the hotel. While I was waiting and clearly not a guest, the staff asked if I would like to eat breakfast. It was sparse and I needed something light so I said yes and asked for juice and toast. I then asked for the check and they had no way of charging me as it was for room guests. I went to the front desk and asked if I could pay for what I ate as I did not think it would be free either. To my surprise they started off wanting 40 soles which is very expensive. I eventually ended up paying 20 soles, but had I known it would cost that much I would have gladly ate elsewhere for much better food and for much less. Their attitude was very poor and I think for someone trying to do the right thing, they missed the mark entirely. For such a heavy tourist location, there are many other places with friendly staff to waist any time at a place that uses the name Palace, which it is not.

Room Tip: Simple go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#94 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emperador Plaza Hotel
Emperador Plaza Hotel
#117 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yabar Hotel Cusco Suite
Yabar Hotel Cusco Suite
#149 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yanantin Guest House
Yanantin Guest House
#82 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#70 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel

Property: Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel
Address: San Augustin 236, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tupac Yupanqui Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupac Yupanqui Palace Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing