We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, intimate, characterful, brilliantly located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inkaterra La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent, intimate, characterful, brilliantly located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We wanted to stay at The Monastery after hearing from friends it was THE only place to stay in when in Cusco. Alas, they were full and our travel agent recommended La Casona.
The location is almost identical as they are across the street form each other in a charming plaza, home of the beautiful Museum of Pre Columbian Art (MAP) and a stone's throw away from all the sites you want to explore in Cusco.
From a quick look we took this hotel is a much more intimate, smaller hotel, which would suit people who like quieter places.
The staff were very helpful and personable and were most efficient when we needed them (we had a few issues with our travel arrangements). They also gave us excellent advice re tours and restaurants. Every single one they sent us to proved great!
The rooms are lovely and spacious but ask for a room that is not facing the street as that will be very noisy!
They have a lovely tea every day from 4-6 pm, with the much-promoted coca tea, but also other teas and coffee, as well as home-baked cake and cookies.
They allow you to borrow a laptop and provide free Wi Fi in the rooms as well as in the public area.
The breakfast, which is included, was very pleasant - the breakfast room is beautiful and well lit, with lovely soft music, and a very civilized, quiet ambiance. You can order quinoa pancakes, or eggs, while the self-service buffet offers fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cold meat and cheese, as well as marmalade and jams. Coffee is OK (plunger type, good quality, not exceptional).

Room Tip: Away from the street and not facing the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capetonian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    31
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
257
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed 3 nights at La Casona, and had an amazing time. The hotel is so beautiful, and the service was terrific. We were unfortunately very sick on our first night there. The staff was attentive, concerned and helpful. They went and got our medications for us, and really couldn't have been nicer. It helped us to feel safe even though we were very sick and far away from home.

i strongly recommend La Casona, for its beauty, service and location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

La Casona is a great hotel in Cusco. It is right at the plaza Nazarenas and is located centrally. The place is very Peruvian, you feel the culture in the hotel. The staff was great. The rooms were a lot more luxurious than we expected. We had 2 nights here and slept great. It is a small hotel and that makes it intimate. We met some other guest that were from England. Nice people. This was a great experience.

Room Tip: Get Balcon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebrlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Exceptional in every way! We stayed at La Casona March 15th-17th 2011 during our 10 day trip. The front desk made reservations at a nearby restaurant before we even arrived for our anniversary dinner because we were arriving late. They had the best table in the restaurant reserved! On our return to the room they had a bubble bath with coca leaves prepared. Not to mention that the bathroom is the size of our Beacon Hill apartment. My husband was in love with the quinoa pancakes and the jams were unbelievable! I felt pampered in every way!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bug66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Sadly, I have to agree with the previous review. We spent three nights at La Casona (March 24th to 27th) and experienced the same lack of 5 star service and absence of management. The rooms and public areas are absolutely spectacular. We found the bathroom well stocked, but the free minibar had a few candy bars and sodas, and one forlorn mini-bottle of cheap champagne and was never restocked. On the service side things tended to fall apart. For example, a requested after-dinner fire our first night wasn't done. When I complained the next day they sent up two champagne glasses - no bottle, just two glasses. It didn't make the cheap mini-bottle we had to split taste any better! There were other lapses, the worse being the lack of requested wake up call our last morning, which necessitated a rushed breakfast and mad dash to the airport.

My guest survey was ignored. I waited a week then submitted an honest review to jetsetter.com (the booking agent). They were great - I can’t recommend them highly enough. I finally emailed Inkaterra’s central office and received a couple of email apologies. The manager finally emailed two weeks after my stay apologizing with the explanation that she was away on her honeymoon during our stay. Well, that’s nice but......

I’ve been waiting awhile to post my review, and despite some misgivings have even recommended La Casona to six friends who will be in Cusco in a few months. The previous review dismays me, however, as it shows my stay to not be a total anomaly at the most exclusive and expensive hotel in the city. While I would still recommend La Casona as the most luxurious option in Cusco, it unfortunately did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fourblackstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed at La Casona for 3 nights on a 2 1/2 week trip to Peru. We opted to stay here instead of the Monasterio because we liked the idea of a small, intimate boutique hotel. While the property itself was lovely and the rooms charming, we found the service amiss. Some of the examples given below may seem nit picky and trite but at $720 a night, the service should be impeccable.

At most 5 star hotels, there is a distinct management presence. A manager usually will greet guests upon check in or come by during dinner or breakfast to introduce themselves and check on your stay. We never met any sort of manager. The only staff members we encountered was the young woman at the front desk who also served as concierge and general contact person. The only other person we encountered was a man in a long coat with a name tag which simply read "Trainee" who answered the door and walked around looking rather pompous and stuffy. In all fairness, this was Easter week but we never met a manager until we voiced complaints about service and a manager came from her home to talk to us.

The most notable gaff was that we inquired about a tour of the ruins in Cuzco. We were quoted by the concierge/desk clerk what we thought was an outrageous price of $170 for a driver/guide to take us on a 3+ hour tour. She told us she would check and see if she could get someone else for a better rate but she never came back to us with any further information.

The room was very nice with a fireplace and regional decor. The bathroom was modern with 2 separate sink areas but was lacking in the normal amenities you would expect to find in a 5 star hotel, such as cotton balls, Q-tips, emory board, etc. There was a large bathtub but when I got ready to take a bath, I discovered there was no bath salts or bath/shower gel. Each sink had a small soap disk, couple of kleenex wrapped in paper, and shampoo and conditioner in the shower. When we asked about the lack of amenities, we were told by the concierge/desk clerk that "the owners don't like to spend the money on that" and added there was a book next to the bed that says that if you need anything, to ask. We checked the nightstand and there was no such book or notice. We personally were afronted to hear that the owners of Inkaterra want to "save money" when they are charging $720 a night - considerably more than the cost of a room at the Monasterio.

Maid service was hit and miss. When we arrived, we had washcloths in the room but the next time the linens were changed out, no washcloths but we got 6 hand towels. We would call for washcloths and they would be delivered but again the next day, no wash cloths.

While staying at the hotel, I became ill so was frequently in the toilet area which had 2 toilet roll dispensers. At one point, one roll ran out but having the backup dispenser, I just used it instead. After the next cleaning, I found the empty toilet roll holder still in the dispenser. Inexcusable to not replace the roll.

Food in the restaurant was good but service was very slow as we found to be the case in most places in Peru.

It is a shame that owners of such a lovely property are not managing it more closely.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cavergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Beautiful hotel...do not be deceived by the plain-looking exterior. Once inside, this is a little gem (only 11 rooms). The service was exceptional! We were treated like kings. The staff was professional, yet friendly (we especially loved "Hernan"). They gave us pisco sour demonstrations...lit the fireplace...dinner at the hotel was private and delicious (try the pear for dessert). All in all, this was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlaBestFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing