We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed in - absolutely faultless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed in - absolutely faultless!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

No words can describe the sheer elegance of this hotel. Absolutely impeccable - 10 out 10 without question - rooms are beautiful - chocolates and a hot water bottle each evening - breakfast just lovely and they will deliver coffee in the mornings - a definite plus for us! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    33
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
275
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Beautiful private hotel, more than a hotel is like being at your own home. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Food is gourmet. Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viptravelconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We recently visited Peru and had an excellent itinerary organized by Kuoda Travel. Recognizing our taste and preferences, they recommended the smaller boutique style hotel, La Casona Inkaterra in Cusco. We spent 3 nights there and cannot praise the hotel for their outstanding accommodations and service by the staff. Everyone was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to meet all of our needs.

The room was spacious, the linen was of fine quality and the amenities were well above par. The breakfast selection wasn't elaborate but it was tasty and adequate and the coffee was excellent.

La Casona is centrally located and just a short stroll from the main square and excellent restaurants. This is definitely a great place to stay when visiting Cusco and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel and definitely one of my favourites.

First off, it is located near the town square, which is where the amenities for tourists are.

But it is not a hotel for everyone. It has only 11 rooms (I would not call them suites), which means limited services.

The philosophy is that you are entering a home, not a hotel. So you knock on the large door, which looks slightly worn from knocking. The living room is on the right, where you sit in comfortable sofas where you are served coca tea with mundya, a kind of mint, which takes the edge off the coca. It’s literally tastefully done. Meanwhile your luggage is brought in and you are checked in.

From the room, the large windows enable you to see the square.

You then go to your room. You see an internal courtyard, typical of a Spanish mansion. And indeed the entire area was owned by a Spaniard.

My room was on the ground floor. It had a king bed, a sofa on the left side of the bed, a table on the other side, two luggage racks at the foot of the bed, a table with two chairs next to it, and the tv and minibar close to the two chairs. At the left corner away from the bed was the fireplace.

Then, there is the bathroom, which feels the same size as the bedroom. The bathtub is the first thing you see, his and her sinks on your left and right, wardrobes opposite them, and then the shower on the left and the toilet on the right. There were also heated towel ranks, which was good for drying small items. Slippers were provided. Toiletries were of good quality.

Everything in the minibar fridge was free: two bottles of sparkling water, three bottles of soft drinks, a bag of chips. Daily, we had three chocolate coins. And we had hot water bottles, which actually is an energy-efficient way of keeping warm.

Heat came from under the wooden floors so heating was even.

There is a lot of wood and natural stone (as opposed to tiles) in the place and that gave the entire hotel a warm cosy feel.

Breakfast was limited but sufficient—cereals, eggs and pancakes on order, different varieties of bread, some cakes, and fruit. Coffee was in a plunger and varied in quality in our three days, from good to not-so-good.

The dinner in the hotel's restaurant was actually surprisingly good if a little pricey. Surprising because no one had mentioned it before and we were just too jetlagged so we ate in. The pasta tasted home-made and is highly recommended. So is the lamb stew. We tried Fallen Angel next door and we thought that was not as good. Be careful not to over-order. My wife and I ended up sharing a lot of meals because our appetite shrank, we think because of the altitude.

One minor downside is that the laundry was more expensive than in Lima, to my surprise. There are nearby shops doing laundry but I did not want to take the risk.

Service was, as a previous reviewer had observed, either excellent or non-existent. To be sure, it was excellent for the most part. Our experience with the non-existent happened on the day we were headed to Machu Picchu. We requested a fire from the concierge, who seemed to have difficulty understanding us and did not know when the train would arrive. But as we were leaving, another reception staff asked us if we wanted a fire on our return. And she said the train arrives at 9.45 pm and she would get the fire going. Nice touch, we thought.

But when we returned, there was no fire. We did not want to complain as that day was warmer than expected and also it did not rain. I’m still not sure how something like that can happen.

Nevertheless, should I return to Peru, I will try the other two Inkaterra hotels, one in Amazonia and another in Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is a wonderful hotel and it's located in the heart of Cusco (3 min walk to the Cusco Cathedral). The staff was very friendly and the room service food was delicious. We had trout, pasta and risotto and they were all very tasty. The hotel itself only has 11 rooms so it is very secluded and intimate. We had a double room on the lower level and it was very large and it contained a king size bed, sofa, 2 chairs and a table. The bathroom was just a large as the room and it had a separate shower and bath and the marble and stone work was beautifully done. The electrical sockets worked for US appliaces and no converter was neccessary. It even comes with a fireplace, overall a spectacular hotel.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the upper floor to avoid hearing lots of footsteps and definitely get a humidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaBia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

If you want an exclusive address, style and exceptional service, you don't need to look further than La Casona, an all suite boutique hotel in the center of Cusco. A perfectly restored colonial house, decorated with antiques, fireplaces, large bath tubs, and all amenities, La Casona is perfect for the discriminating traveler.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites are larger, but even standard courtyard suites are most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izumishikibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We really enjoyed the Inkaterra in Cuzco – it is right in one of the busy squares, so there is a lot to do, the hotel is very nice and the suite was wonderful. We were not driving our own vehicle, but it is worth noting that, if you do have a vehicle, this hotel is not going to be an easy one for you. The front of the hotel is on a busy square and there is no parking that we could see. Once again, this is only an issue if you have a vehicle, which we doubt many foreign visitors will have, so we did not detract from the rating for this. The hotel is set up in a kind of quad with a gorgeous little court-yard in the middle. We had a great suite overlooking the square and it had two windows that provided really marvelous views. There was a street market that setup in the square each day, so it was nice to roam the stalls and shop. The restaurants in Cuzco are great, the nightlife is fun and the huge, main square is an easy walk down the hill from the Inkaterra. The hotel has free internet, which was a big deal for use because we had just finished up a week’s worth of mountain climbing, Machu Picchu climbing, and white water rafting and needed to plugin for a while before we headed down to the Amazon jungle. The breakfast was wonderful, the staff was great and the service was impeccable. We did have a slight billing issue and we did not get the room we thought we had reserved, but we are fairly certain now that this was due to issues with our travel agency, not the hotel, so we did not downrate the hotel for this. We highly recommend the Inkaterra La Casona.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux

Property: Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing