We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it's good enough for Jagger...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #2 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Global
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“If it's good enough for Jagger...”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

With the Rolling Stones front man reportedly having made this his Cusco base, you can be pretty sure that it will meet your requirements. Excellent service from attentive staff, in the best traditions of understated luxury. Nothing is too much for them to do for you. They will light the fire in your personal open fire place in your room and make you feel totally at home. Winter nights in cusco can be cold, but Casona will make you feel cosy and well looked after. Excellent breakfast service and minibar are all included. If you are doing a tour of he region and returning to cusco, the hotel will look after any excess baggage and have any laundry waiting for you on our return.

Totally flawless hotel. You cannot hope to find better in cusco...and maybe nowhere else either.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property.

La Casona provides the privileged exposure to Cusco’s hybrid history and the secrets surrounding its majestic past.

Centrally located on the original Inca settlement near Cusco’s present-day main square, Inkaterra La Casona offers walking access to lovely streets where guests can enjoy the perspective, comfort and exclusivity of those who lived in the manor during four centuries.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    32
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
266
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anywhere warm!
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at La Casona as part of a trip to Peru where I also stayed at 2 other Inkaterra properties (Machu Picchu and Puerto Maldonado). All 3 of the properties were wonderful, but this one definitely blew me away. It is an amazing property that has been renovated to give you all the modern amenities, but done so in a way that pays tribute to the history of the building. All of the furnishings and decorations are super luxurious without being fussy. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was delicious. There are plenty of cold buffet items and they will make you entrees to order.

The best part of the hotel were the special little touches from the staff. We stayed in September when it was rather chilly at night. Upon returning to our room after dinner, we would find a fire already lit in the fireplace and hot water bottles under the sheets. What a wonderful surprise that was! It is definitely more of a splurge as compared to the hotels in the area, but you really felt that this was worth every penny -- and that's not something you can say about every luxury accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our property.

We are really glad that you keep great memories about your stay with us and we appreciate your lovely comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need. Inkaterra La Casona services reflect the ultimate in opulent privacy — pampering guests, and anticipating their needs.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

La Casona really deserves to be a Relais & Chateaux. Great location, excelent service, amazing (only 11) rooms. The difference is in the details.
Much more than expected.
Hope staying there again, soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leirbagesoj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco.

Hope to be at your service in a next opportunity.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Have stayed at many luxury hotels but this one stands head and shoulders above the majority. It is simply sublime. From the moment you arrive, you'll be charmed and bowled over by the warmth of the welcome, the kindness of the staff and the exquisite beauty of the place itself. It is just stunning. The rooms are an absolute delight - spacious, tastefully decorated with large, gorgeous bathrooms. The courtyard is divine and so peaceful with little benches and chairs with rugs positioned around it for you to simply sit and reflect. Breakfast here is just perfect - everything has been thoughtfully put together and the service is superb. Fantastic poached eggs! I can't find enough superlatives to describe Inkaterra and wish we had been able to stay longer. If you're going to Cusco, you have to stay here. Treat yourself - it's worth it.

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are as special as each other. We had patio suites - ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property and for your lovely comments.

We are really glad that you keep great memories of your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a next opportunity.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

La Casona is the PERFECT hotel. I can honestly say there is nothing that needs improvement. From the time you enter this beautiful building, which is like visiting a friend's home, to having cocktails by the fireplace in the lobby (more like a living room) to enjoying a lovely breakfast you will be swept up in it's beauty.
The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are a dream. The staff could not be lovelier or anymore accommodating...it is perfection!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachNyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing this lovely review and for your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing our guests with authentic experiences.

Inkaterra La Casona is a 16th century mansion that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It has been equipped with modern comforts without sacrificing authenticity, capturing the sense of privacy and privilege shared by those who once lived there.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your stay in Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My favorite hotel, ever? Probably! I rarely am overwhelmed by the beauty, service and style of a hotel as much as I was by Inkaterra La Casona. Its history is reflected by the fine decor and the very beautiful furniture that attracted my attention from the very fist step into this former monastery. It is luxury at its height. Attention is individualized bringing Incan design and colonial style to contemporary excellence. The rooms are very beautiful yet simple offering high quality beds and amenities. It is almost like your private (huge) house!
The location is ideal because you walk everywhere in Cusco and it is on a calm and charming square.
The staff was outstanding! Given the small number of guests I should not be surprised that the waiter on our second day of breakfast remembered what we asked for and actually adjusted the jams and bread on the table before our arrival accordingly- this is great service!
The restaurant was really good and I highly recommend eating at least one dinner at this hotel. Tea time is also a treat and offered with good cakes and tea. In the afternoon there is a gentle classical music that rises from the lobby area to the rooms and there is perfect harmony between the lieu, the court yard and the music chosen. Out of curiosity, I visited some of the other big hotels in Cusco and I felt so privileged to be at the Inkaterra La Casona. It was much more charming and exclusive than its top competitors so I was very happy with the choice. The bathroom (if you get one of the larger rooms on the second floor) is fantastic.
One minor comment: the plastic slippers were uncomfortable and almost irritating. Other than that, I loved this hotel. It sets the standard for excellence, not only in Peru, but internationally, very high.

Room Tip: Get the second floor rooms that overlook the courtyard they are beautiful. Ask for a room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments about your stay at our property and we would like to thank you for your kind comments that encourage us to keep working on providing great experiences to our guests.

Inkaterra La Casona has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It has been equipped with modern comforts without sacrificing authenticity, capturing the sense of privacy and privilege shared by those who once lived there.

Thank you for preferring Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

From the minute you walk into the Inkaterra La Casona, you feel at peace. The "living room" is comfy and welcoming. The rooms, around a small courtyard of this country manor, are huge and well appointed. White marble bathrooms and every amenity one could wish for. The breakfast area has an outdoor feel and they will make any hot dish you want. The service was amazing. Restaurants, shopping, and sites of Cusco are all within a few blocks. There were 6 in our family group and everyone enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOrry_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed the experience at our property.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing