We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GTA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this Inkaterra for a total of 3 nights...2 enroute to Machu Picchu and one night following our overnight at the Inkaterra Pueblo. This spot in cusco deserves every star they have earned to date? from the Plaza the main entrance is totally un assuming, then you step inside and the peace and tranquility envelops you. Nothing is missed from the welcoming warm hand cloths, to a cup of coco tea to luggage management . Rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The coordination of travel between this location and the sister hotel in Machu Picchu certainly made our excursion easier. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WARDENGta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you taking the time to write this lovely review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your experience at our property.

Thank you for choosing Inkaterra during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    33
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
275
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had booked for 4 nights in this hotel but due to a strike which meant that we had to return earlier than planned from Machu Picchu actually stayed for 5 nights. This hotel is small with only 11 rooms and was a 16th century manor house. It is quite unlike other hotels in that there is no reception and you knock on the wooden door to gain entry. There was always someone there ready to open the door instantly you knocked no matter what time you got back to the hotel. The rooms are set around a courtyard and the bathrooms are enormous.

It is impossible to think of a bad thing to say about this hotel, the staff were exceptional, breakfast and afternoon tea were well presented and the location is perfect, an easy walk into the main areas of Cusco and also San Blas. We stayed 3 nights and then went onto the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu and were then due to return for a further night before travelling to the Amazon. However due to a strike we had to get the train back to Cusco a day early and were so pleased to be able to spend an extra day at this fantastic hotel. As it is small it is necessary to book early to avoid disappointment but definitely the only place to stay as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona provides our guests the privileged exposure to Cusco’s hybrid history and the secrets surrounding its majestic past. Centrally located on the original Inca settlement near Cusco’s present-day main square,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience and we would like to thank you for your kind comments specially those related to our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney and Dinard
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A marvellous small hotel in a great location.
We (two couples and a single) stayed three nights in this hotel.
The rooms were very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms. Very deep baths which were hard to resist after a day of sightseeing.
A small central courtyard and a beautifully maintained old building.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Service was attentive and excellent.
Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our property.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is gorgeous and comfortable. Only a few rooms, so there is no big crowd. The rooms are large and bathrooms are modern. An easy walk to the Cusco Square. A museum next door.
This place is right across from the Monastery Hotel which costs much more. You get the same experience because the hotel layout and concept is similar. Food and servise are top notch.
A very comfortable bed after a long day of walking.
This was a wise and memorable choice.

Room Tip: Any room. Suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panchali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra La Casona operates as a private manor for a small limited number of guests; our property extends all possible assistance so guests will experience utmost relaxation, privacy and tranquility during their stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and that you keep great memories of your stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our family stayed two nights at the Inkaterra La Casona in Cuzco in August 2013. An Amazing Place! A house from the 17th Century that has been carefully turned into the most charming boutique hotel that you could ever imagine. This is by far the most exquisite small luxury hotel that we have ever stayed at. A lot of the old building details and furniture have been kept. The most luxurious beds. Charming fireplaces in the bedrooms. Superb bathrooms with all modern facilitities and details in an Century old setting.
The hotel is situated two blocks from the city centre. Walking distance to all the Cuzco historical sites.
Really professional and superfriendly staff. Excellent and truly Amazing cleaning of the rooms. Really good breakfast and dinner.
It can not possibly be better!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us these lovely comments.

It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in Cusco and that you keep great memories of your Inkaterra experience.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in a next occasion. Thank you for staying at inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

With the Rolling Stones front man reportedly having made this his Cusco base, you can be pretty sure that it will meet your requirements. Excellent service from attentive staff, in the best traditions of understated luxury. Nothing is too much for them to do for you. They will light the fire in your personal open fire place in your room and make you feel totally at home. Winter nights in cusco can be cold, but Casona will make you feel cosy and well looked after. Excellent breakfast service and minibar are all included. If you are doing a tour of he region and returning to cusco, the hotel will look after any excess baggage and have any laundry waiting for you on our return.

Totally flawless hotel. You cannot hope to find better in cusco...and maybe nowhere else either.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property.

La Casona provides the privileged exposure to Cusco’s hybrid history and the secrets surrounding its majestic past.

Centrally located on the original Inca settlement near Cusco’s present-day main square, Inkaterra La Casona offers walking access to lovely streets where guests can enjoy the perspective, comfort and exclusivity of those who lived in the manor during four centuries.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere warm!
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at La Casona as part of a trip to Peru where I also stayed at 2 other Inkaterra properties (Machu Picchu and Puerto Maldonado). All 3 of the properties were wonderful, but this one definitely blew me away. It is an amazing property that has been renovated to give you all the modern amenities, but done so in a way that pays tribute to the history of the building. All of the furnishings and decorations are super luxurious without being fussy. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was delicious. There are plenty of cold buffet items and they will make you entrees to order.

The best part of the hotel were the special little touches from the staff. We stayed in September when it was rather chilly at night. Upon returning to our room after dinner, we would find a fire already lit in the fireplace and hot water bottles under the sheets. What a wonderful surprise that was! It is definitely more of a splurge as compared to the hotels in the area, but you really felt that this was worth every penny -- and that's not something you can say about every luxury accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our property.

We are really glad that you keep great memories about your stay with us and we appreciate your lovely comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need. Inkaterra La Casona services reflect the ultimate in opulent privacy — pampering guests, and anticipating their needs.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux

Property: Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Ebookers so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing