We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is a must if your traveling in this area. Charming, accommodating and a gracious well trained staff. We probably won't get back to this area again but if we do I will stay longer. The location is ideal

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usmc63m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind comments for our property and service.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona and for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    32
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
270
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights over the Easter weekend at this hotel and found every aspect of it to be outstanding. The hotel is decorated in an authentic colonial Spanish / Inka style, with every detail very tasteful done. The service was exemplary and the breakfasts where very good. The only reason not to have given 5 stars is that the room I was staying in on the first night overlooked the square and was very noisy during the night. The hotel gladly offered me another room for the second night which was very quite and peaceful. Its perhaps a bit unfair to mark them down for this as its out of their control, however if that sort of thing would worry you, I would recommend that you request a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the square. The manageress, Yvonne, was exceptionally helpful and attentive to all me needs.
P.S. Really good, fast internet throughout the hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our property.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you keep great memories of your visit. Inkaterra La Casona is an exquisite 16th century colonial manor that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. We also appreciate your feedback that will help us to keep improving.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The best we had in Peru. Perfectly located close to the Plaza de Armas. The rooms with balconies are beautifully furnished and decorated, very big with same spacious bathrooms and fireplace. The rooms are warm but you still get your hot bed bottle at night - which feels additionally cozy. The breakfast is delicious with lots of healthy choices such as fresh fruits, natural yoghurts, avocado and whatever you wish the helpful waiter will kindly bring you. The service is impeccable. Great Boutique Hotel !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are really pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and appreciate your kind comments for our property and service; Inkaterra La Casona extends all possible assistance so guests will experience utmost relaxation, privacy and tranquility during their stay.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Cusco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A magnificent hotel, only 11 suites located right in the center of the city. The place is more than you can ask for, all the rooms are suites decorated in an absolutely lovely way, with everything you could ask and more. Great beds, amazing bathroom, wonderful food and a superb staff that make you feel at home away from home. To get inside you have to knock on a big wood door and once inside the decor is so nicely done that you wish you could take home some of it. Highly recommended for that special trip to a special city like Cuzco

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review about our property. It is a pleasure for us that you keep great memories of your stay and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Both myself and my wife are in complete agreement that this is the finest hotel we've had the pleasure of staying at. We spent a total of four nights here, two pre-Inca Trail and two post-Inca Trail, and enjoyed every second.

The hotel (home) has been exquisitely restored and is tastefully decorated / filled with some amazing pieces of Peruvian history.

The door to the hotel is always shut and it simple requires a gentle knock for it to be opened and for you to be personally welcomed back by the members of staff. There is also no front desk but your room key appears from the staff who are there to welcome you back and inquire about your day. The staff are all incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and they always appeared eager to help - nothing was ever a chore.

There are 11 rooms located around the courtyard and we stayed in a patio suite for the first two nights before being upgraded to a balcony suite on return from Machu Picchu. Both rooms were very large with ample seating and storage space, very large king beds, big bathrooms with large standalone baths, separate shower, multiple sinks and more than enough towels.

The restaurant is open for guests and the food is excellent Peruvian cuisine. As with all other staff, they know who you ask, what you have been doing (i.e. if doing Inca Trail, etc) and what you have previously tried so that they can recommend other dishes that you may enjoy. We ate dinner on two occasions which were both excellent and the breakfasts we equally superb. For having only 11 rooms the selection of breads, cereals, fruits, hot food was impressive.

Location is excellent set on a little square a short walk from the main square. Within the same square are the Orient Express's hotels which while both luxurious are much bigger than La Casona and not quite as appealing.

I really could go on about how impressed we were by La Casona. We also stayed at Inkaterra Machu Picchu which was equally as enjoyable but La Casona was on an entirely different level.

Recommended to anyone in Cuzco.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Inkaterra La Casona is a striking 16th century mansion that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage. It operates as a private manor for a small limited number of guests and is the first Relais & Chateaux property in Peru.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate your kind comments that encourage us to keep providing our guests with great service.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. Only 11 rooms. Very intimate & special. This was once the home of one of the original conquistadors who conquered the Incas, Diego de Almagro. We loved the antiques throughout the property, as well as in our room. The charm of the old is combined with the new. The bathroom was huge. And next to the beautiful separate tub sat several antique chairs, a table, and a chest. Antiques on the mantle of the working fireplace. Beautiful wood doors. The large, oversized bed was very comfortable. The hotel is set on a quiet plaza, and we never had any concern with outside noise. The staff was extremely helpful. The restaurant staff were great, as was the food. Didn't want to leave this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxtravgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you keep great memories of your visit. We appreciate your kind comments for our property and for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra La Casona during your visit to Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a stunning hotel right in the centre of Cuzco (which is an excellent city in itself). You get in by knocking on the imposing wooden door and wait to be admitted. It doesn't feel like you are entering a hotel.

Rooms are huge. I suppose you might get noise from the city but (apart from the odd firework) we didn't get bothered.

The real attraction is the charming colonial house which has been converted to the hotel. Food also is excellent.

I can't really rate this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: Internal rooms overlooking the courtyard are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing