We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind experience, wonderful people, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra La Casona
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
northCarolina USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience, wonderful people, great service”
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed at La Casona in Oct of 2008, shortly after they opened. My daughter Alex and I had a wonderful stay as part of our tour with Inkaterra Amazonica, Urubamba, and Machhu Picchu. Elizabeth and Tania looked after us with tea and oxygen when I had altitude sickness, and suggestions for sights to see and restaurants. Everyone, from Alex the manager, to Davide, our driver, was geniune and helpful. I can't say enough about their kindness. The accomodations are marvelous, its a rennovated house from the 1600's done with impeccable taste and a sparing touch, no detail overlooked. The rooms are beautifully appointed , comfortable beds, lovely shower/bath area, everything spotlessly clean. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and the plaza des armas. I will warn you of one thing, you'll become permanently enchanted with the place and it's people, and, like me, you'll be plotting and planning your next trip to Peru not too long after your return home!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank long99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    32
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
270
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Unbelievable property, beautifully designed, great location and the service was superb! Erick Torres, the manager, made us feel like home and provided us everything we needed, always with a great smile. The breakfast was excellent, do not miss the quinua pancakes. Staff is A+.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithmom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This looks like a brand new hotel, but it is and old mansion re-built, a really good merge of luxury with Incan Style, fabulous!.
Pretty quiet, this property just has around 10 suites, very exclusive. Really good located, just a couple of blocks to the main square of Cusco. The rooms are the best I've see in my entire life, at least for now; with a huge bathroom with a roman tub, warm floor, Spanish shower, etc. Also you can ask for the breakfast in the room, this is a really good service!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luatito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

My wife and I just completed a 12 day stay in peru, staying at a total of 6 hotels. The Inkaterra La Casona was by far the best. Fantastic location, rooms, service and restaurant are wonderful. Pass up the other Inkaterra properties but consider staying at La Casona, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysocal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, it is a small, boutique place, perfect for couples, homeymoons and those wishing to just splash out and indulge on a luxury trip. Inkaterra really does cater for your every need, and they pay attention to even the smallest of details, including slippers with your size, hot water bottles ready in the bed, under floor heating. The bath-tubs are just a delight - completely over-sized - you won't want to get out!!

The location is perfect, just a 5 minute stroll to the main square. The hotel is situated in a rather affluent area of Cusco opposite the Monasterio Hotel and next to the fabulous Fallen Angel steak restaurant/bar - which is a MUST!!!!

The food here is exquisite and the service formidable! Recommend at least 3 nights here. It isn't cheap -but it is definitely worth the price!

I booked my stay with 360 Luxuries, who tailor make luxury travel arrangements in Peru.

http://www.360luxuries.com/luxury/latin-america-holiday.asp

  • Liked — The sheer size of the rooms and the luxurious decoration throughout
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ltrace81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, eCommerce Manager at Inkaterra La Casona, responded to this review, 14 April 2009
Many thanks for your positive review about Inkaterra La Casona. Indeed, encouraging evaluation such as yours make us strive to work harder to maintain the standards and service brand that is Inkaterra. Likewise, we are glad to see that you recommend a 3 nights stay minimum at La Casona which is certainly ideal. In fact, we offer specials ideal for romantic getaways, a vacation of a lifetime, a special gift or a perfectly private wedding or honeymoon destination. Also, Inkaterra La Casona combines the best aspects of a villa rental, a luxury hotel and private mansion concept all in one. Think luxury private villa for your family and friends in Cusco -it offers more space, seclusion and sumptuousness in an exclusive and exquisite experience.

We hope to welcome you back or your family and friends to La Casona in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights in the Patio room which has 2 basins, a shower and a freestanding bath (which unfortunately I didn't have time to use). The room also has a fireplace and complimentary mini bar. Everything about this hotel is beautiful and luxurious and the staff are very helpful. Being such a small hotel it's very quiet so don't expect to see many other guests - we didn't, although that just made us feel like we had the whole place to ourselves! If I had to give any negative feedback it would be that the room doesn't have any full length mirrors and that the mirrors in the bathroom aren't very practical for doing make-up. (Ok, So I may be a bit vain!)

My advice to you is to book this hotel if you can afford to. It's definitely one of the highlights of Cusco!!!

  • Liked — The decor of the hotel and the size of the room
  • Disliked — lack of full length mirrors
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mohito_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Although it will sound as if I am just repeating the praise of the previous reviewers, I had to add to the chorus. La Casona is simply excellent and may easily be the best place to stay in Cusco. My husband and I arrived after a wonderful but exhausting few days in the Sacred Valley/Macchu Picchu, feeling the effects of travel. The beauty, comfort, and especially welcome at La Casona were perfect.

La Casona is an exquisite renovation of a beautiful colonial building. The decor is both lovely and understated. Guests enter from a quiet square through into a building arrayed around a private courtyard. The eleven suites open onto the fresh air and quiet of the courtyard. The public spaces are equally lovely. Yet you are only a block from Plaza de Armas and the Cathedral, the and only a few blocks from the San Blas district and major museums. From this convenient location, travelers can walk to everything in the central historic district and then return to a hotel that continues their experience of a visit to Cusco, but with all the amenities.

The suites are very comfortable: excellent beds, linens, decor, etc. The bathrooms are superb with shower and roman bath, and suites come with TV, DVD, sound system, refrigerator, and good internet. (That is not always easy to come when traveling in Peru.) But as other reviewers have noted, one is most impressed by the staff who, without exception, were excellent. As one reviewer stated, attentive yet discrete.

For many travelers, a visit to Peru will be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. You owe it to yourself to stay at La Casona.

  • Liked — Excellent setting and perfect service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyseEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra La Casona

Property: Inkaterra La Casona
Address: Plaza Nazarenas 113, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inkaterra La Casona 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Relais & Châteaux property in Peru, an exquisite 16th century colonial manor, located just steps away from the picturesque main square. Once occupied by the conquistadors of Peru, it is now an exclusive boutique hotel that has been carefully restored to retain its historical heritage and décor. With suites set around a Spanish courtyard, the manor offers sober elegance without sacrificing authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Inkaterra La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra La Casona Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing