We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Madre Tierra
Ranked #55 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed at this property for 3 nights, but found another one for the rest of my cusco stay. I was really happy to switch. It is an place that tries too hard (stemware and white gloves for a very modest breakfast) and then doesn't try hard enough (night attendant thoughtlessly blasting the TV on full volume that echoed through the house.) It is just not worth what that they were charging when compared to either more simple hostals, or some of the other newer mid-range hotels. As for price, it was also disappointing to learn the range of rates people were paying. IT seemed to go beyond the normal bargaining that is typical for the region, for example one couple paid $49US, I paid $40 as a solo and 3 in a triple paid $30. Go figure.

Pros - location, cute living room, some of the staff were friendly (but as noted, most did not have much English if this is important to you.)

Cons - rooms are VERY small. I do light exercises in the morning and it was a challenge to negotiate the space to even do sit-ups next to the bed. Breakfast is way too simple for the price (only bread, juice, jams) and you can't even pay extra for eggs.

Some might not like the breakfast setup, which is all at one shared table.

Room Tip: The first night was in the room directly over the lobby. It was very noisy from downstairs as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Flying in from Lima it was reassuring to arrive in this lovely little family B&B. Its charmingly quirky, well-located, clean and the staff are really helpful and friendly. It really isn't that far from the main square, maybe a 10 minute slow walk but nothing too arduous for a couple like us of nearly 60. We stayed for 3 nights and then came back after trekking to Machu Picchu for a well-earned rest. We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makaranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This little family owned hotel is a real gem in the bustling city of Cuzco. The staff are extremely nice and smiley all the time, even though they don't speak English which could be a problem for some people, but not for us;)
The building is very original and made out of clay and wood. In a feng shui tradition all rooms are organised in a particular manner and style. The breakfast in the morning is simple but satisfactory with a freshly squeezed orange juice and toast with eggs any style.
The only problem we had was the hot water. There was some but it seems there is a problem with regulating the stream and while taking a shower suddenly from very hot the water will turn to extremely cold, which generally is not the most pleasant thing. That of course wouldn't stop me of coming back to this beautiful "homey" place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileto_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

A lovely, good value little hotel with friendly staff (although they don't speak English). The hotel is like a hobbit hole with cute little cosy rooms and a homely communal area. Nice bathrooms with hot water but no heating in the rooms (this is the same all over Peru).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Hostal Madre Tierra saved our bacon. We were booked at a hostel across the road and no one answered the door - we rang the bell, knocked and waited for ten minutes. Then looked across the road and saw the beautiful Madre Tierra, with a lovely lounge and perfectly decked out for Christmas. We knocked, they answered us immediately and welcomed us with a cup of tea, and checked us in. The staff are amazingly friendly, the breakfast is excellent and we had a wonderful stay and are going back for a couple more nights. The location is also brilliant up in picturesque San Blas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynseyBinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We loved the hotel and the staff who were very attentive the rooms comfortable and showers good. However they use a travel agent 'Magda' who cannot be relied upon. She charged us a premium price which we were happy to pay but were left with a very inferior tour with a guide who had to be reminded constantly to translate to English. She agreed to refund part of the money but failed to do so at the promised location and time. Do not book anything with them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

After confirming our late check in on booking.com the hotel refused to honor our reservation. Upon arrival, we were taken around the corner to a clearly inferior hotel. Although we had reserved a triple room, the staff member from Madre Tierra asked if we would instead take a room with one double bed and one single bed at the new inferior hotel. We declined and he became upset. Eventually at the second hotel we were given 2 double rooms. The staff member from Madre Tierra wanted us to pay the Madre Tierra rate for these rooms ($64). We argued until he agreed to charge us $45, which he claimed was the rate for a triple at the new hotel. I doubt it was this much. Furthermore, one of the rooms at the new hotel had a glass wall covered only by a curtain that separated it from the breakfast room. Needless to say, we slept very poorly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unescolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica M, Propietario at Hostal Madre Tierra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

We are very sorry for your comments but are gratefull as it helped us to change our people in the Hostal. We have a new Staff with better service and specially respecting the reserve of the passengers.

If you would decide to come back to Cusco we will give you a night free beside a 50% discount over our normal rate.

Kind regards
Mónica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#27 of 171 in Cusco
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#21 of 512 in Cusco
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Grial
Hostal El Grial
#35 of 512 in Cusco
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#151 of 171 in Cusco
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#68 of 512 in Cusco
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Madre Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madre Tierra

Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 647 - A | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £35 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Madre Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Madre Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing