We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Madre Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Madre Tierra
Ranked #60 of 399 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our tour group of 13 stayed here a couple nights, the staff made it feel like home. They were welcoming and warm, place was clean, food was good! Candles and fire always lit, a nice little gem in Cusco, I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKLish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    33
    6
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Preface: before comming to Cusco we've booked this place for one night only. But eventually turned out into 4.

The looks: all nice, cozy and clean. Though not heated, thus might be cold to jump to and out from bed.

The staff: very friendly and willing to assist but they have problems with English, we even used google translate to arrange smth.

The breakfast: consists of jam, butter and buns for starter, omlet for the main and some freshly made juice for the end. All days it was the same, minimalistic but I totally loved it.

The Wifi: was the fastest one I got to encounter during the whole Peru trip..

The location: really nice, though on pedastrian street only, thus taxi wouldn't be able to drop you there.

The price: above the average for a private double room in a hostel in Cusco. Tips, try some bargain. After spending a night here, we got the price drop by around USD 10 for night. Not too much, but...

I would stay in Madre Tierra again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

stayed there for a week while at cusco and machu picchu and it was the best money i ever spent on a hostel, the receptionist and the staff are great , nice and polite and always available, the room is spacious and very rustic, great vies of the city and the classic roofs, love breakfast , great service and for me who was everyday sick there was always tea waiting for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I stayed at this property for 3 nights, but found another one for the rest of my cusco stay. I was really happy to switch. It is an place that tries too hard (stemware and white gloves for a very modest breakfast) and then doesn't try hard enough (night attendant thoughtlessly blasting the TV on full volume that echoed through the house.) It is just not worth what that they were charging when compared to either more simple hostals, or some of the other newer mid-range hotels. As for price, it was also disappointing to learn the range of rates people were paying. IT seemed to go beyond the normal bargaining that is typical for the region, for example one couple paid $49US, I paid $40 as a solo and 3 in a triple paid $30. Go figure.

Pros - location, cute living room, some of the staff were friendly (but as noted, most did not have much English if this is important to you.)

Cons - rooms are VERY small. I do light exercises in the morning and it was a challenge to negotiate the space to even do sit-ups next to the bed. Breakfast is way too simple for the price (only bread, juice, jams) and you can't even pay extra for eggs.

Some might not like the breakfast setup, which is all at one shared table.

Room Tip: The first night was in the room directly over the lobby. It was very noisy from downstairs as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explore_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Flying in from Lima it was reassuring to arrive in this lovely little family B&B. Its charmingly quirky, well-located, clean and the staff are really helpful and friendly. It really isn't that far from the main square, maybe a 10 minute slow walk but nothing too arduous for a couple like us of nearly 60. We stayed for 3 nights and then came back after trekking to Machu Picchu for a well-earned rest. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makaranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This little family owned hotel is a real gem in the bustling city of Cuzco. The staff are extremely nice and smiley all the time, even though they don't speak English which could be a problem for some people, but not for us;)
The building is very original and made out of clay and wood. In a feng shui tradition all rooms are organised in a particular manner and style. The breakfast in the morning is simple but satisfactory with a freshly squeezed orange juice and toast with eggs any style.
The only problem we had was the hot water. There was some but it seems there is a problem with regulating the stream and while taking a shower suddenly from very hot the water will turn to extremely cold, which generally is not the most pleasant thing. That of course wouldn't stop me of coming back to this beautiful "homey" place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ileto_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

A lovely, good value little hotel with friendly staff (although they don't speak English). The hotel is like a hobbit hole with cute little cosy rooms and a homely communal area. Nice bathrooms with hot water but no heating in the rooms (this is the same all over Peru).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#32 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#15 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Grial
Hostal El Grial
#34 of 399 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andenes al Cielo
Andenes al Cielo
#5 of 339 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Madre Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madre Tierra

Property: Hostal Madre Tierra
Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 647 - A | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 399 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Madre Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Madre Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing