We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scams at Hostal Madre de Tierra - Don´t get trapped like we did”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Madre Tierra
Ranked #54 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I stayed here with my wife and mother in law in early January, 2011. The place seemed nice and the location was ideal in the San Blas district. However, things turned sour at breakfast when the staff tried to say that the hotel doesn´t serve fruit or eggs with breakfast despite the fact we were told when quoted the price per night that it did. Worse still, we had seen the Peruvian guests before us enjoying a full breakfast with eggs, fruit and the works. When I showed a staff member an unwashed pan full of scrambled eggs she became very nervous and actually left the hotel! Unfortunately, we had already paid in full the night before and had to catch a plane back to Lima so we never had the opportunity to take the issue up with management. Don´t make the same mistake we did, there are tons of places to stay in San Blas. Madre de Tierra takes advantage of tourists.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank tpaul55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica M, Propietario at Hostal Madre Tierra, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

We are very sorry for the experience you had at our Hostal. We would offer you two nights free in compensation for the inconvenient you had. We have renewed all our staff and are sure you would feel kindly welcome again.
Kind regards
Mónica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

Madre Tierra is a charming and beautiful place in the San Blas neighborhood that I would highly recommend. Immediately upon arriving, we were served coca tea and welcomed by friendly staff – Eddie and Alfa - that humored us by speaking Spanish but that, we learned later, spoke very good English. They were well-informed about the area and were always willing to help us find our way. When my spouse got food poisoning (not from food at the hotel), they checked in on him and brought him tea and crackers. The breakfast served each morning was basic – eggs and toast – but always served with bottomless tea, coffee and a freshly-squeezed juice. The hotel was always very clean, and we never ran out of hot water in the shower. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was concerned with the climb up the stairs to get to the hotel, but it wasn’t bad at all – a good way to help acclimatize to the high altitude. And it also provided a beautiful place to view Cusco. The only minor complaint I’d have is that the walls are pretty thin, and we did hear the children in the neighboring room up early our first morning. But earplugs solved that problem for the remainder of our time there, and it was otherwise a perfect place to stay and enjoy Cusco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

When we arrived in Cuzco it was pouring rain and much colder than our previous stop, Argentina. When we found Madre Tierra, we walked in to a crackling fire, beautiful surroundings and a friendly offer of coca tea, before any business was discussed. We could not have been more relieved or welcome, and it set the mood for the rest of our visit.
The beds were comfortable, the water was hot and breakfast was available from 5:30 - 10am. They offered free coca tea, at all times and stored our bags for free when we went up to Agua Calentes (and Michu Picchu). We easily walked down to the square and many shops and restaurants. The walk back up was not far but took a little getting used to at 11,000ft. One of our favorite places was the huge, local market by the Cuzco train station that had everything, fresh from the farm. We ate and shopped there on two days and enjoyed all the local flavor. Be sure to get a fresh fruit smoothy and a fried egg sandwitch (total cost about $2 US).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The hostel was a 2 minute walk from la Plaza de San Blas. The hostel lobby has a nice ambiance, with plenty of plants and couches. The staff is friendly. Breakfast includes freshly-squeezed juice, eggs, coffee. The double room we had was tiny but functional.

Three disappointments:
- There was a pervasive smell from the fires burning in the lobby (And without a window in our room, it got stinky)
- The walls were a little thin, you could hear people in neighboring rooms
- They are cash only

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawkondamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Some friends and I stayed here once when we got to Cusco before our Inca Trail hike and one more time on the way back through. The hotel is very quaint and accomodating. A couple of my friends did not have reservations and they were still able to find them rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a place next door where you can drop off laundry. The location is away from the hustle and bustle on the square but it is quite a climb when returning to the hotel for the night. It could be considered decent practice if you are going to be hiking the Inca Trail. The first room I had was very cold at night and the hot water was hit or miss. They will also hold any bags or luggage for you if you are hiking the trail. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtbank75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Situated in San Blas, this little hostal is absolutely great to stay at!
Taxis can't bring you to the door, you will have to walk the stairs up to the hostal, but it's worth the location!

If you can, get the panoramic view room on the very top! Absolutely beautiful!
Staff is great - you will be served a big breakfast sharing the living room table with other guests. Fabulous.
There is no wifi access but you can use the computer in the living room (connection is a bit slow).

We only stayed for a night because the panoramic room was occupied - the room we stayed in instead was unfortunately directly over the kitchen and we heard every word said which was too noisy. Also the bathroom was too small. So we changed the hostal. But - see above - if you get the panoramic room, this will be an excellent experience!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theeternaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed at the hostal Madre Tierra on December for New Year's Eve.
Ok, this is a good hotel...it's nice and clean... but I must say that there are positive and negative factors.
First, the positive : it is very cozy and friendly, it's clean, the people who work there are very polite and always welcome you with a smile, the breakfast is good specially the orange juice, the rooms are clean and nice.

But, unfortunately I must say that there were some negative things as:
1. at night the room is very very cold and there are not available heaters
2. the hostal is really far away from the main plaza and you have to walk a lot
3. the last day when we paid they didnt had change so they kept the money and we lost about 5 dollars
4. when we arrived too late from the parties, we had to wait outside the hostal for a long time because the man who was supposed to open the door was sleeping

We are not trying to say that this hotel it's not good at all , actually we enjoyed our stay, but in life there are good and bad things and this is what happened here...

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fatically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 171 in Cusco
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#21 of 512 in Cusco
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Grial
Hostal El Grial
#34 of 512 in Cusco
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#151 of 171 in Cusco
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#66 of 512 in Cusco
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Madre Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madre Tierra

Address: Calle Atocsaycuchi 647 - A | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £35 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Madre Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Madre Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing