We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel but trekking arrangements not good (KB Adventures)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospedaje Casa Elena

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Casa Elena
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but trekking arrangements not good (KB Adventures)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I was pleased to stay in this hotel next to the center of Cusco: the room was nice (but not water after midnight) and had personalized sheets and towels, the breakfast very good and the staff nice.

This hotel also provides a tour operator service which was recommended to me by a friend who did the Choquequirao trek. I therefore decided with my friends to choose the same. Unfortunately you have to note that you should choose Casa Elena’s agency only if Yves Chemin is the guide. Otherwise – as he did for us – he outsources the service to another company (KB Adventures, www.kbtourstravel.net) which is expensive (nearly twice the price as most agencies in Cusco – the difference is that private transport is provided) and not professional. We walked the Choquequirao trek with this agency for 4D/3N, we were 4 customers with a guide, a cook, a horseman and 3 horses. The cook was excellent but the guide a disaster: no security (was not walking with us most of the time, did not have a flashlight when we walked in the dark and did not help one of us who was very sick), told us it was a punishment for him to walk this trek, gave us very basic and unprofessional information when we reached the site (2nd biggest after Machu Picchu) and forgot to show us the most important attraction on the site (llamas del sol – cf Inka museum). The only positive point: he could speak good English and was quite friendly! So go with Yves (Elena’s husband) or find another agency on your own!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine7503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    49
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
45
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Casa Elena is a very special place. It's more than a hotel, really a home. Rooms are large and well decorated. The breakfast room and the sitting room/library with fire place are very nice. What makes it all so perfect is Elena, who organises everything in the best way possible. Without her help we would never have been able to organise our trips to Machu Picchu and the Valle Sagrado in such a comfortable way. Casa Elena made our stay in Cusco absolutely unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187147Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Casa Elena

We spent 4 nights at Casa Elena, with our initial intent being just the one night. The are hundreds of varying types of accommodations in this tourist town, however the $130 Sols (approx. .$50.00) per night was right for our budget and we were quite satisfied with the overall accommodations. You are really minutes away from restaurants, the principal Plaza (Armas), Inka museum plus several others in the area, ATM are scattered about this town and you won't have far to walk to find one, and shops catering exclusive to the tourist are in the 1000's. Needless to say you won't have walked very far before some with something to sell will approach you, however unlike in some countries they don't continue to hassle you. Best approach is either say No Thank You or just ignore their approach. You will find the local authorities see the importance and value of the tourist in that we have seen more regular and Tourist Police out and about the streets of Cusco than in any other place in our 3 months in Chile & Argentina. Just a 2 minute walk down the street from Casa Elena is one of the few, if not the ONLY restaurant in Cusco, where you will see at the front entrance, Please Wait To Be Seated. Jack's is very popular with tourist ranging from the backpacker to those of us now more accustomed to 3 star hotels / B&B. Food is great and beautifully presented. Our room in Casa Elena was #11, quiet, clean and aside from the absence of a closet just great. We opted for the two beds, one Queen and a single, the latter seving as our 'closet' as it were. Their breakfast was ample and given our 3 months experience with
'breakfast in South America' we place it at the top area of the list with a few others. We did use their laundry facilities and were satisfied with result and price. In late April it can be cool some nights at this altitude so we requested and received a portal electric heater which was quite adequate. We noted later a sign downstairs indicating this 'service 'cost $15 Sol per night of use. They will allow you to store/leave your luggage should you have time to spare well before flight time. Would return here should we have a 3rd occasion to visit Cusco.

Room Tip: We found Room #11 quite adequate in most respects, cf comments no closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnanayog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I should have written this note a year ago when I stayed at this beautiful hotel. My husband and I have nothing but good things to say about the place. The hospitality was heartwarming, the rooms large and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and the price was right. I would recommend Casa Elena without hesitation to anyone wanting a special experience of Cusco.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda33342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
155 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a very quaint hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Not much English is spoken here, so be sure to have a Spanish/English dictionary handy. The rooms were spacious and clean. Free hot breakfast was available. This hotel was easy to find and only a few blocks away from the main center. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel itself is quite basic but clean and the location is great (not in the middle of the centre but only a couple of streets away, which makes it quiet in this busy town).

It can be a bit cold at times as the rooms do not have any heating but additional blankets can be provided upon request.

We really felt welcomed by Elena and she is definitely looking after her guests. We also received plenty of good tips on what to do/visit in the area.

Overall good but basic hotel and with the special service touch!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPistachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I had a very good time at Cuzco, definitely a place I would recommend.
Part of this positive experience was my accommodation at "Casa Elena".
This family run business is very friendly, tidy and the location is superb. All the staff was very helpful and I would definitely go back there in the future. Happy trip everyone.

Room Tip: All room are good and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
#82 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#142 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Casa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Casa Elena

Property: Hospedaje Casa Elena
Address: Calle Choquechaca 162, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Cusco
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Casa Elena Hotel Cusco
Hospedaje Casa Elena Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing