We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is the only thing to recommend this hotel.”
Review of Cusco Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cusco Plaza
Ranked #104 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights on a Gap Adventures tour. The hotel has a great location very near to the Plaza de Armas. But that's about all I can say. The inside of the hotel has spacious courtyards but the rooms need a remodel. The hotels rooms are on the lower end of 3 star with old towels, questionable cleanliness and icy rooms. Even the radiators that aren't in every room barely take the edge off the cold. And worst of all is their extremely limited running water in evening hours and I had at least 2 days with no hot water whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mybincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights before and after the Inca Trail and Machu Picchu. On all 3 nights there were problems.

There were no towels on either arrival and we had to ask. There was only hot... no, actually, warm... water on 1 occasion out of 6 attempts for showers at different times of the day. There was no water at all on our first night!!

The breakfast was included and ok although basic. We got eggs cooked for us on one of the 3 mornings and the cook was the only pleasant member of staff we encountered at this hotel the entire stay.

The receptionist on out second night was the rudest woman I have ever had to deal with. While I was there to ask for something another guest ame to ask for towels and when she walked away the receptionist cursed the guest as she walked away, while I was standing right there!!! She wasn't interested at all in sorting out any of our problems and clearly hates tourists.

The worst part of the experience was that we had left luggage there in their "secure storage" while doing the Inca Trail. When we arrived back to check in we were all told that our bags were already in our rooms. There were no bags in our rooms at all. Eventually my bad turned up in someone else's room. Thankfully an honest member of our group who returned it to me but it could have been anyone's room! My friend's bag was still in the storage room but it took her and another member of the group 30 minutes to persuade the receptionist (same awful one I had problems with) to actually look for the bag. We then found that on out departure all our bags had spent hours just sitting in reception unattended before being put in the storage rooms.

The design of the hotel also means that you can hear very loudly anyone walking or talking in the central hallways, not conducive to a good nights sleep.

The only positive thing I can say at all about the hotel is the location is ok. There are plenty of other options nearby though so just don't stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

location was good. like 2 blocks from the plaza
not sure about value. stayed here as part of our GAP tour
breakfast was free. go down to the basement. cereal, fresh fruit - i tried passionfruit here, bread, juices and tea, and they will cook you eggs. you gotta ask the guy at the end
tons of room
stylish. old spanish style building that they have glassed in the previous open space where rain could fall in.
our rooms did not have any towels when we arrived. this happened twice as we stayed here before and after Machu Picchu
toilets have seats!
one internet computer in the lobby but it didn't work well
i would just go to an internet place 1 block away. same place let me call home in N America for something like 0.5 soles per minute
no space heater but this place was warmer than puno
shampoo provided. no soap in the bathroom
they did fix our toilet problem. no hangers in the wardrobe

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredShuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This hotel is in a historic, courtyard building. We really enjoyed being here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandmanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed a total of three nights at this hotel before and after our two day trip to Macchu Picchu. I would definitely not recommend this hotel, I travel alot and have never had such a bad hotel experience in my life.

When we arrived the first night the front desk gave us room 210 (a triple), when we were getting ready for bed that night two of the three beds had dirty sheets. The beds had been made up after the last person checked out but they hadn´t changed the sheets. There was hair in the beds and they were obviously dirty. So I went to the front desk and asked to talk to the person in charge. This guy had a very bad attitude and actually laughed when I told him about our room. He did however move us to another room where we stayed two nights.

However, on our return after Macchu Picchu (very late at night I might add) we were assigned room 210 again, we didn´t think anything of it....but would you believe it...they still didn´t change the damn sheets. The sheets were still dirty...hairs, stains and all!!! So ok perhaps once you can forgive...but a second time....and after we complained and were moved to another room!!! Come on! We called the front desk again very ticked off this time, and they sent a guy up to change the sheets. Actually he brought us the clean sheets and we changed them. If we hadn´t booked the trip through a package and had paid the hotel directly I would have asked for our money back and found another place to stay. When you stay in a hotel at the very least I expect a clean bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urugringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Rooms fairly basic. Small bathroom like the towels, had no water when we arrived.
Breakfast not amazing either.
Staff lovely very helpful.
Hotel location very good also.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This Hotel /Hostel is barely a 2 star we stayed three nights the room was basic and drab and led into a courtyard, one could hear people at all hours passing your bedroom window. The wash room was basic, no shower gel. The shower was hit or miss water running cold as the evening went on, the bath towels were small, what we call hand towels and were worn and grey.
Breakfast was located in a basement again the selection of food was poor and basic.
The only plus point was that it was near to the Main Plaza, and there were better restaurants to be found.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#97 of 172 in Cusco
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#147 of 172 in Cusco
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andean South Inn
Andean South Inn
#94 of 172 in Cusco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amerindia
Hotel Amerindia
#92 of 172 in Cusco
75 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
#125 of 172 in Cusco
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Home Hoteles Casa Arcopunku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusco Plaza

Address: Calle Saphi 486 | Plaza Nazarenas 181, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hotel Cusco Plaza II)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cusco Plaza Saphy is located one block from the Plaza de Armas, in a colonial mansion from the 19th century, which has been restored preserving much of its traditional architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Ii Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing