We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Cusco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Inn Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eco Inn Cusco
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
219 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A good choice in Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Located a ten-minute walk from the main square and cathedral but directly across the street from an enormous handidrafts market on a pretty square with a big mosaic and waterfall. A nice touch is that is was the only hotel on our ten-day trip that provided bottles of drinking water free of charge. (Its sister hotel, the Eco Inn Puno, did not). A big concrete hotel built around a concrete courtyard but with little touches of culture here and there. Nice buffet breakfast included. Good service. Comfortable rooms. A good place to sleep and shower between visiting Inca ruins. Turn right when you go out and go next-door to Valentino's Restaurant: nice atmosphere and good-sized portions of local cuisine with a free Pisco sour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    633
    154
    27
    21
See reviews for
239
491
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrey, Utah
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Recently my tour group stayed at the Eco Inn in Cusco. We were pleased with the helpful and friendly staff. Anai at the front desk and Elvis the bellman were some of the most service-oriented hotel professionals I've met. The buffet breakfast was excellent. They even opened early (4:30 a.m.) for our group on the day we went to Machu Picchu. The rooms on the street (Avenida del Sol) were a bit noisy. The hotel is clean, easy to find and not too far from the center of town. I'm happy to recommend this for other travelers.

Room Tip: If available, you may want to request a room off of the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our small group of travel agents visited the Eco Inn as part of a tour package. We enjoyed the experience very much. Although not fancy, the hotel provided very clean rooms, most around a courtyard overlooking the breakfast area and lobby, where coco leaf tea was ready.

We enjoyed great service and on the day we visit Machu Picchu, the staff had our breakfast ready at 4 am! it was hot and good...

Room Tip: Try to pick a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pathager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

First of all get your expectations right, Cusco has only relatively recently opened up tourists and is in one of the poorest countries in the Americas, so the Eco Inn represents good value for money, we stayed there three nights.

It is a modern medium sized tourist hotel and will meet the requirements of most experienced travellers. It is clean, the rooms are a decent size and resonably equipped, all four floors are accessible by lift. The staff are helpful and eager to please, but the service is rough around the edges. I suspect it compares well to other similar priced establishments in that part of the world.

The hotel is built around a pleasant atrium in the front and an open courtyard around the back. The main problem is the noise from the atrium, which is quite intrusive and has been commented on by other reviewers. A suggested tip is to ask for one of the rooms around the rear courtyard, it might cost a little more but is probably worth it for the quiet.

Another tip is that when you arrive the alltitude will probably effect you and you may choose not to walk up the gentle hill to the town centre and eat in the restaurant. The food at dinner was perfectly acceptable, but the service somewhat chaotic, but we were suffering from the alltitude and didn't care. Breakfast was was a good buffet with a varied selection, another tip is try and avoid the times when large coach groups desend.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy atrium and choose the rear courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wapping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed recently at the Eco Inn in Cusco. Other reviewers mentioned the noise and I have to agree with them. Most, if not all rooms face the atrium of the hotel. They really did not put much thought into insulating the rooms against sound when building this hotel so you hear just about everything. We were on the fourth floor so I can only imagine how much louder it was on the lower floors. Now that the negative is out of the way there are many positives to the Eco Inn. It is clean and has all of the basic necessities covered. There is a restaurant on site so if you are tired you do not have to leave the grounds for a meal. Breakfast is included and while it is different from what anyone outside of South America may be used to it is plentiful and I am sure everyone can find something to satisfy them. Lots of bread products and a very interesting hot dog stew dish that seems popular in Peru. Or at least at the hotels we stayed at in Peru. The staff was very helpful. I ran into a few language barriers a couple of times but nothing really inconvenient. I feel if I am a guest in another country they should NOT be required to know English so I try to pick up a few key phrases for any country I visit. (Bathroom location, thank you and how to order a bottle of wine are my main language requirements). cocoa tea provided in the lobby at no charge. Drink it! Don't get your knickers in a twist about testing positive for cocaine like a previous poster. Yes you will test positive for about 72 hours. Can't imagine anyone coming back from vacation and immediately being sent for a drug test. The cocoa tea helps with altitude sickness. Many people have a problem with the altitude in Cusco. The hotel will bring an oxygen tank to the lobby for you also if you are having problems with the altitude. That was very helpful for my husband.

The hotel is a short walk from the main tourist square. So for the location and price I will not hesitate suggesting the Eco Inn. As far as the noise? I understand that this could be deal breaker for some so if noise bothers you look elsewhere. The Eco is not luxurious but is clean and has all of the basic necessities you need.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and it was noisy. I would try to stay on as high a floor as possible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

We stayed in the Eco Inn when part of a tour group. The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfy beds and all the required facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. Cocoa tea was always available. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the main square and there are plenty of shops,banks and restaurants close by. We experienced no problems with noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiltshireAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire,England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel looks good and is a short walk from the main part of the city. Unfortunatly the design of the building, around a large atrium, causes noise problems. In the evening I was aware of dinners just below my room and early risers setting off on excursions or to the airport as the sound echos up the atrium. Those with rooms over the frontdoor also had problems with traffic noise and the sound of loading coaches. The hotel is fine otherwise with clean rooms, nice helpful staff and a full breakfast buffet. There is a resturant which some of my group used but I though it was a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#51 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Cusco San Blas
0.9 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Terra Andina Hotel
Terra Andina Hotel
#25 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Inn Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Inn Cusco

Property: Eco Inn Cusco
Address: Av. El Sol 1010, Cusco 00000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#10 Business Hotel in Cusco
#22 Family Hotel in Cusco
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eco Inn Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eco Inn Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Cusco Hotel Cusco
Eco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing