We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs and terrible service. Avoid at all costs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Qori Kintu Apart Pachacutec
Ranked #188 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bedbugs and terrible service. Avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights, in December 2011. We had planned to stay for four nights, but on our second night, my wife woke up in the middle of the night with a bedbug actively biting her on her back. We have been travelling in South America for three months and this is the first time that we have ever encountered bedbugs.

What was worse was the hotel staff's reaction. Their first reaction when we told them that we were checking out because of the bedbugs was to blame it on us and their second was to try and rip us off since we were checking out early. Warning - they offer prices in dollars, but then convert to Soles at a terrible exchange rate, which adds an extra 10% onto their reported room rates.

Thankfully, I had not pre-paid for the room as they had requested (since I did not have a visa card and did not really trust their pretty amateur looking web-payment site (never heard of paypal?)).

We never received an apology, nor did they even seem to think it was a problem.

Our hotel room (204) had no natural light, was really small and had no hot water in the sink. These things would have been fine, since you don't expect great rooms in a hostel. However, the price was still not cheap and the breakfast was hands down the worst I have ever experienced. Only white bread, congealed jam and some dodgy looking ham to accompany the luke-warm hot water.

There are plenty of nice hostels in Cusco, and San Blas in particular for same price or cheaper. Go for one of those.

Room Tip: Don't go here at all, but there were certainly bedbugs in room 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverC-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    38
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
37
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Nice clean hostal with friendly people, nice breakfast

Room Tip: You can ask them to show you the room. I like a room insie withnot a lot of noice and with a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Looked forward to this place but found it over'rated. I was initially in a prison type room with no window which was a bit grim. I then moved up to 3rd floor and that was better but no window there either except facing the courtyard which was a bit better. Pretty cold at night in June so needed extra clothes and blankets. No breakfast included which was a bit of a let down. Staff were ok. Free internet is good, also free coca tea self service. Free ride from airport was good. Location is very good. Noise travels a fair bit. In saying that this seems to be the standard in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hostal Koyllur is a nice place to stay in Cusco. It is in a good neighborhood, with nice shops and restaurants. The pictures on the hostel's website are an accurate representation of what you're going to get, except when we stayed there (summer 2010) there was a bit more wear and tear on the furniture and carpets. It does not have that "brand new" look. That being said, we were still satisfied with how clean the place was. Our room had two beds, one of which was fine and the other was absolutely terrible. It was impossible to sleep on. Fortunately for us, we're both small and we could both sleep in one bed. If we had really cared, I'm sure we could have switched rooms, but just be careful if you stay here.
The bathrooms here were clean, the shower was nice and hot. I believe this was the only place we stayed in Peru which had hot water in the sink, not just in the shower (nice when I needed to shave). The decor was a little funky, but we don't really care about that kind of stuff. There was free internet and wifi in the hotel (like every place we stayed in Peru, I wouldn't call the internet "high-speed," but it does the trick). We didn't try the breakfast as we only stayed one night and we weren't hungry when we left at the crack of dawn. This is a good option if Casona Les Pleiades is already booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossdaily8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I never quibble about hotels and I would like to say that this was a great hostal, in fact it would have been if we didn't have such an issue with our shower. The one thing that we really were looking forward to after the Inca Trail was a shower... Not only did the shower spray directly at the ceiling but it was so moldy that we had to keep the bathroom door closed to keep the smell out of the room. We asked them to fix the shower and the next day when we arrived back at our room... it sprayed at the wall instead....

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OooootNAboooot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Spent a few days here and judge it to be good value for money compared to other similar local establishments. Rooms are small but cozy (a bonus in Cusco in Springtime). Breakfast very good with plenty available. Good room servicing on a daily basis and a warm indoor patio area under skylight to let plehty of sun in. Rooms are set back from the road so are quiet from outside street noise, however walls are a little thin so you may still need earlplugs if you´re a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueVisitor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Koyllur Hostal is based in the old town of Cuzco, a fabulous location only a short walk from really great bars and restaurants.

Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable...although if you like a lot of light I'd recommend specifically asking for one of the rooms on the top floor at the front of the building as the rest are pretty dark all day long.

Breakfast was one of the best we had in Peru with a choice of cereals, fruit salads, toast, eggs and drinks.

Staff were also very friendly, going out of their way to help us in various activities. A bonus for the non-Spanish speaking customers is that a few of the staff speak English very well.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Manco Capac
#137 of 165 in Cusco
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qorikintu San Blas
Qorikintu San Blas
#201 of 445 in Cusco
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacha Hotel Museo
Pacha Hotel Museo
#99 of 351 in Cusco
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Qori Kantu  Lodging House
Qori Kantu Lodging House
#157 of 445 in Cusco
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#40 of 351 in Cusco
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inkas Garden Suites
Inkas Garden Suites
#90 of 445 in Cusco
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qori Kintu Apart Pachacutec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qori Kintu Apart Pachacutec

Property: Qori Kintu Apart Pachacutec
Address: Av. Jorge Chavez Z2-11 | Pasaje las Palmeras, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Koyllur Hostal)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 445 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Qori Kintu Apart Pachacutec 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QorikintuApart Pachacutec is an special Peruvian hotel chain offering visitors an original way to know Peru and to experience the spirit of the Andean world.Our hotels' warmth and our staff's hospitality allow guests to enjoy the wonderful experience of discovering the magic and splendor of the Andes. We have comfortable locations,single double, triples rooms with private toilet and included the pick up and breakfast.We invite you to know more about our 3 hotels in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qori Kintu Apart Pachacutec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing