We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great common areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I liked it here! The rooms were very basic (but clean) and are mostly without aircon and breakfast isn't included. But the big common area is great and the location is fantastic, no tuktuks needed:) If you're a light sleeper, make sure you bring some earplugs, the hostel is very quiet, but the rooms all have connecting holes to the neighbors room, so if he showers or talks on the phone, you'll hear it.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed at Europa, Maranon, and several other hotels in Iquitos and I was pleasantly surprised with La Casona . It is very clean, pleasant staff that speaks some English, good location. Huasai restaurant next door is good breakfast.

Room Tip: In some rooms the AC is a lot quieter than other rooms so you may want to check the room and noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldClassBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a very cute and charming little hotel. It is perfectly located, you have everything very close and a lot of good restaurants in the area. The rooms are clean and all have fans or air conditioning (which is an extra 20-30 soles). The breakfast is very simple and minimal (4 pieces of white bread, some jam & butter, an Orio pack, a fruit salad containing papaya & banana, tea and coffee and a fresh juice. It is not an open buffet but if you want to have breakfast you need to tell them at what time you would like to have it (from 7-9) and you can either have it in your room, in the courtyard or in their common kitchen. The kitchen is open 24/7 for all the guests to use. There is coffee, tea and water for free at all times and there is a fridge and a little oven to cook. All in all I would def. recommend this place! the staff is very friendly and are helpful if you need anything. Also the wifi is great :)

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have a window and if they do it is looking on the courtyard. So make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is within walking distance to the square and eating joints and suited us well for a quick stay.. you get what you pay for ...the room was basic but shower was hot and pressure good ... The receptionist was extremely helpful (we dont know spanish) and helped us figure out our flight bookings...the wifi was not working in our room the day we were there.... you need to book the breakfast separately... no eggs but adequate...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had a pretty good stay here. It might not be what you'd visualize: Think of a long, slender multi-level space with pockets that are like small courtyards and exposed to the rain, and windows on most rooms facing the hall or courtyard, not outside to any street. This is just as well in Iquitos, as the prevalence of trikes as the main means of transport really adds to street noise.

Because the hall isn't totally enclosed it doesn't trap heat, which is a good thing here. I guess some people can take fan rooms, but I had to have the air conditioning even at an extra 15 soles per night (rooms have wall units but you need a remote from the front desk to operate them). There was also a smallish first-generation flat TV with a great selection of cable channels (including a few movie channels), though the transmission was very prone to hiccups.

I didn't see any bugs, but I'm sure they're lurking (don't leave food uncovered). But then, same could be said everywhere in town.

Location was excellent...no need for a trike to walk to the Plaza, Malecon or blocks surrounding it, as the hotel was a half block from the north end of the plaza. Go up to the stoplight, turn right and walk for a block and you're at roast-chicken-corner, including the famous Kikiriki (huge portions!) and 3 or 4 other places as an option for affordable food.

The hotel also had a guesthouse feel, with public areas with couches, books to read and art and pictures along the walls.

I had booked through hotels.com and there was a misunderstanding on check-in, as I'd thought I'd booked an air-con room but they told me at the hotel it was only a fan room. My prinouts didn't say one way or the other, so I had to pay the difference for air-con (maybe $6 extra a night), but in going back to the listing I discovered I hadn't read it wrong and it was inadvertently misleading. I reported the discrepancy and hotels.com promptly sent me a voucher credit for the difference, so they're paying attention and trying to get it right.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Good location, cheap and clean. The rooms and TV are too small and wi-fi service was intermittent. But the air conditioner was very effective. They give you free coffe or tea 24 hours a day. Breakfast not included, you have to ask for it the day before.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcoleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lots of charm, nice atmosphere, i loved playing with the two birds in the central garden
very well located, very close to the main place (plaza de arma)
but need some improvements :
there are small coakroaches in some rooms (not all), and they should work on this !..
Also internet is not working good (but it's everywhere in iquitos though...)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.2 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 28 in Iquitos
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 28 in Iquitos
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#10 of 28 in Iquitos
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 28 in Iquitos
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona Iquitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona Iquitos

Address: Calle Fitzcarrald 147 | Plaza de Armas, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range: £21 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casona Iquitos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Casona Iquitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing