We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy chicken”

El Pollon Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 100 Restaurants in Iquitos
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Yummy chicken”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I'm usually a vegetarian but my friends wanted chicken and for once I broke down. Very tasty and authentic.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely roasted chicken”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Great nice-spiced, roasted chicken and terrific fries. What more needs to be said? The fruit drinks looked good too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yuk”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

What a smell coming out of that place! I thought for just a minute it would be nice to try some of their chicken. I don't know if they do not clean their kitchen or garbage cans but there must be some endemic bacteria there because I have never smelled something so rancid wafting out of a restaurant

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
213 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pollo a la brasa”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The restaurant is right on the Plaza de Armas and has the typical Peruvian dish - pollo a la brasa (rotisserie chicken) served with fries, fried banana or rice. They also have an extensive menu (with some interesting English translations :) ), but when the restaurant is called "El Pollón" (the big chicken), it's best to go with the chicken. Fast service, decently priced and good chicken.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katebruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iquitos, Peru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a typical broasted chicken, french fries and Chaufa rice house”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This chicken house sits directly across from the main plaza. Over the years, I see less and less tourists in there as there are some better than average places popping up in the same area, but I used to eat there all the time.
Good enough, cheap, fast. In the center of the plaza activity.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iquitosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pollon Restaurant also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to El Pollon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing