We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, good location”
Review of Hotel Maranon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Iquitos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Maranon
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Adequate, good location”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed here for one night on the way to Tabatinga, Brazil. The room was large, clean, with a small fridge and a comfortable bed. Location was good for restaurants and close to a corner store should you need water or snacks. It was also very close to the office where the tickets are sold for the Fast Boat to Tabatinga.

The hotel is at a busy street corner so its quite noisy with all the moto-taxis roaring by. Front desk receptionist was not too engaged and had a lukewarm demeanour.

The convenient location was it's best feature. On the downside there was no breakfast available for our very early morning departure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
5
10
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

May 14; May 19, 2011
We selected this hotel for the day before and after we went to Otorongo Expeditions (jungle lodge). because of its great location. Our room was fine, we had hot water, there was free internet and the breakfast was okay. For $45 US per night, it was good value.

Room Tip: Check that the shower is hot and the A/C works
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundthenextcorner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Hotel is ok...rooms are small and street side rooms are loud! Breakfast was good. Overall, just ok.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Free pickup/return to airport. Never got up for their free breakfast-so no info. If you are looking for basic, clean lodging with central location - then this is your choice!!
Staff was always friendly, helpful and looking for ways to make your stay great.
Located 2 min walk from big plaza, 3 min walk from boulevard. CAUTION - near Casinos. But then again there are more casinos than churches.
Only down side is no elevator, but they take your luggage up for you. Their pool seems nice from what people said, but I never used it.
When I return to Iquitos, I would not hesitate to stay here - but might try a new sister hotel they are building 3 blocks away.
If you are going on an amazon tour, I would suggest staying here the day before your tour leaves and the day after returning. Nice town to hang out in!!!

Room Tip: Pay in cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fractaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel in September 2010. The standard rate is 100 soles which at the time is only about US$37. It is very centrally located. It is only two blocks from the main plaza and the famous "Boulevard". It really is within walking distance to about everything you need. The best part about the hotel was the bed. At least the room I stayed in had a huge king size comfortable bed. One day I checked out 3 other hotels around this one and the problem was finding a hotel with a comfortable bed. The receptionist Martha is great and helpful along with the night time bell boy Raul. I will be returng to Iquitos in 3 months and plan to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GringoEnMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Hotel staff picked us up at the airport, fast service to the hotel and easy check-in. First night a triple room on the fourth floor, no elevator. Next three nights in a double on first floor. (Change because a fourth friend met up.)
The triple were ok, last floor, high up and away from the traffic, more silent than the double on first which fased the front of the hotel. Both rooms were spacious and had great quiet aircon. Fridge in the rooms. A small supermarket behind the hotell, convinent.
Breakfast alright but nothing special, toast, scramled egg, freshly made juice, te-coffee.
When it was time to leave Iquitos hotel staff drove us back to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Given that Iquitos is pretty much the back of beyond (it is only reachable by air or boat, there is no road connection and saw its days of glory end over a century ago) one has to adjust one's expectations of hotels accordingly. The grading I have given takes this in to account. We stayed at the Marañon as part of a group before departing in to the rainforest. There is no obvious reason one would otherwise go to Iquitos. The hotel is very simple but clean and the staff are friendly and helpful (including happily lugging ginormous suitcases upstairs - there is no lift). I was scheduled to be collected from the airport but due to a misunderstanding the hotel thought I was arriving the next day. When I called they said they would send somebody along in 15 minutes to pick me up and (to my surprise) the guy arrived right on time. Breakfast is rudeimentary: coffee consists of hot water and small pots of nescafé on the table. There are two computers with free internet access in the reception area. I have no experience of other hotels in Iquitos but imagine that the Marañon is probably as good as it gets in the town, and certainly within the category in Iquitos.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 27 in Iquitos
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#13 of 27 in Iquitos
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#22 of 27 in Iquitos
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palau Amazonas Hotel
Palau Amazonas Hotel
#6 of 27 in Iquitos
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 27 in Iquitos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maranon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maranon

Property: Hotel Maranon
Address: Nauta 285, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Number of rooms: 217

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing