We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms ( double, twin for 54 US $ each) for 3 nights altogether.
All rooms were spacious with private bathroom, air condition , safety deposit box. Air condition in one room and ceiling lights were not working properly, but we could change the room without any problems the next day. Beds were all comfortable,room clean. If possible request room facing the pool, otherwise the street noise is disturbing. Wifi signal in all rooms very weak. Shower was usually hot, only later in the evening hot water ran out. Pool very nice and was lovely to use after a humid day.
Breakfast provided as a buffet, but very basic with white bread, jam, butter, fresh juice, some fruit, tea and coffee. We needed to have breakfast at 5.30 twice for early departure which wasn't a problem , except it was minimized to only jam, butter and toast with tea and coffee.
Free luggage storage was possible for a 10 day trip and nothing went missing. Also free airport shuttle service in both directions . The pick up at the airport was also on time and the E mail response was prompt.
Location was on the outskirts of time, but motorcar was only 2 soles transport to the town center. Service was always prompt and willing.
All in all we would give 8/10 and would come and stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool, otherwise you hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is clean and spacious quarters, an excellent jacuzzi in my bathroom with water of any temperature you wanted. Clean drinkable water coming out of the taps. Service staff friendly and helpful, especially the barman-waiter, who will give you tastes of different Pisco to show you which ones are the nicest, he also makes a terrific pisco sour and a version with passion fruit (maracuja) as well. But in order to make one he had to send someone out to buy an egg! I was just there for 3 nights, May 25-27, I live in Manaus, Amazonas, so I am used to heat and humidity. But this place was too hot, little circulation, The small airconditioner in the bed room did not cool the room down until about midnight. The pool was warm and greenish yellow the first 2 days, was clean the last day but did not venture in it, it is too small and shallow to swim in. Restaurant was closed without any warning on Sunday night. The term buffet breakfast is just not so, it was a spartan hotel breakfast EVEN by Brazilian standards. NO protein of any kind, unless you call margarine protein. Coffee was good, but cold, had to add hot water to it. The papaya was good every day, the apples edible, the watermelon was rotten, and some of the bananas were ok. No cheese, yogurt,or cereal of any kind, just strawvberry jam, small balls of margarine floating in water and plain white sandwich bread which you could toast, the first day they had whole wheat, but again just the typical supermarket stuff. No hard boiled eggs or ham or cheese. So with the sweating heat and not a lot to stimulate your appetite you could actually lose some weight here, no enticing food to wet your appetite. Nearest restaurant is about 2 km, and they were closed on Monday. The hotel restaurant makes good fish and ceviche and a nice heart of palm salad with grated palm hearts The fried bannanas are greasey and the chorizo too salty and fatty. BEWARE of the wireless system that works good from 0400-0700 and then is iffy until night.I was here to work not play, and the internet system cost me $170, because I could not get through to cancel my room reservation in 2 hours of trying, ended up canceling after 12 pm and was fined! Price was fine, they did not come to change the towels or make the beds until evening, like 8 pm every day, a bit strange. But staff are nice, signs in your room and in lounge says you can not bring in your own liquids to drink, but no one blinked an eye when I was walking around with my own bottle of tequila and juices. I had the executive suite, which is nice in that you can be shut off from the other person with you and work, has a good kitchen area (nothing in it but a sink, counter top and shelves, and a good small stocked refrigerator. Then to make sure you lose weight go walk around the central market for an hour before lunch, and you will not eat lunch till supper time.

Room Tip: The place looks like the catacombs of calcutta, staircases and halls going every which way, 4 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

If you're looking for clean hotel, excellent food and drinks, outstanding staff, comfortable beds, and a refreshing pool with a tropical environment, than this hotel will fulfill the bill. I stayed 4 nights in complete comfort with impeccable service. During the heat of April a pool with a nice atmosphere was a must. Before deciding to stay at this hotel, I looked at a few other hotels with pools...this one met my expectations and more. Gracias for providing a great service and facility in Iquitos! I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Feel free to look at a few before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I spent 6 nights at this very nice hotel and enjoyed every minute there. The three different front desk managers were absolutely outstanding in helping me with all sorts of questions and requests. The all speak excellent English and this was a great help to me since I do not speak much Spanish.

The rooms were large, clean and the entire hotel is maintained in excellent condition. There was a nice inground swimming pool right outside of my room, breakfast is served daily and included in the room rate ( eggs, toast, coffee, juice, fruit). Drinks are available for the poolside.

I will definitely stay at this hotel when I return back to Iquitos this fall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyde m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The best asset is the people that works there and the swimming pool. They were at the airport to pick me up and took me back with no charge, that was great. It should be known that the breakfast is not " buffet " , could be considered basic continental. The hotel, the rooms and restaurant is neat, they try their best to solve any problem that comes up. I have to thank mr ".Dx..t.."..and miss " N....a " for their turistic assistance. I spent and learned a lot with them.

Room Tip: Just make sure the toilet works good before you stay in the room. The internet is not fast, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecroachjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My wife and I travel a lot. We found this hotel and staff of high excellence ,clean and quite,only 2 or 3 soles from the action of town. The pool is great .
Thank you to all the staff.
Muchas gracias.
Daniel and France
Boucherville , Quebec , Canada

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaklee182198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We just took a change by booking this hotel when finding it in the net and did not regret it at all.

Very friendly helpful staff and the rooms are large and clean. We stayed in the suite by the pool which was perfect when having restless kids.

The hotel is not in the center but for 3 soles and 10 minutes away you get to the center with the local mototaxi. Unfortunately the only and fastest way to get somewhere is by mototaxi which to us was a new experience even if not being a safest way.
If planning a visit to Belen market the staff will gladly help you with a guided tour which is recommendable due to being little unsafe. Do not bring valuable or expensive camera gear to attract unnecessary attention.

We would gladly come back to this hotel if visiting Iquitos again :-)

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.9 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 29 in Iquitos
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#11 of 29 in Iquitos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amazon Apart Hotel
Amazon Apart Hotel
#25 of 29 in Iquitos
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 29 in Iquitos
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#15 of 29 in Iquitos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle Cabo Pantoja No 417 | Altura del Parque Zonal, Iquitos, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range: £30 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites is located only 3 minutes from the main square and just 3 block from the stadium and coliseum of Iquitos, We have 31 well-appointed rooms for the comfort you deserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing