We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent introduction to Iquitos”
Review of Al Frio y Al Fuego

Al Frio y Al Fuego
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Saanen, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Iquitos”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was the first place we visited in Iquitos after the airport and our hotel, so we were very pleased to experience the boat ride out to the floating restaurant and the good food and friendly service once we got there. We recommend this to other discerning travellers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    388
    97
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place in the river, bad service and poor food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we went in a group of 20 and the service was really bad. the location is good and the whole experience is not bad at all because you are floating in the river with very good views.
In places like this, we may expect some better food and professional service

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jorge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Slow slow service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went at dinner time and there were only 12 other people. Service was slow, waiters did not get orders correct and they did not even ask if dessert or coffee was wanted. It was so dark that you could not easily read the menu and the music was loud.
If you want to see Iquitos from the water, then go to this restaurant for lunch to get a better view of the harbour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathladyca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really neat concept, average food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was really excited to try this "floating" restaurant on the river. It really builds anticipation to arrive at the entrance, follow the corridor down to the dock, and take a 5 min boat ride to the restaurant itself. The staff were friendly and professional, and the ambiance was like nothing I had experienced in Iquitos before. The only advice I would give is to still wear bug spray like you are at a jungle lodge! We sat at the upper deck overlooking the river and the pool area, and my legs got bit to pieces.

This would have been a 5 star experience except for the food itself. We ordered 2 chicken dishes (I don't remember which) and both were quite bland and did not live up to expectations, especially for the high price (around 36-40 sols). But if you would like a night to remember in Iquitos, definitely check this place out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Good food and nice view”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice little boat ride over from the entrance to the restaurant. Be prepared to maybe have a few minute wait if you are too early or the boats are on the other side.
Sat up on the top deck overlooking the pool and river. The pool had some kids in it and is surrounded by covered tables. Not sure the policy on swimming but looks like you can bring a swimsuit.
Enjoyed a nice fish dish and juice. Would go again for the food and view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fencrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Frio y Al Fuego also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Al Frio y Al Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing