We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and the Suite was great, the a/c was perfect to sleep with in the humidity, and the staff where always smiling and friendly, it is in a great location 2 blocks from boardwalk, 3 blocks from belen market and 4 blocks from main square.

The restaurant and bar are reasonably priced and we ate their most nights, the pool was great to relieve the heat.

The internet can drop out due to being mobile internet, but the owner was soon on it, and couldn't do more for us to enjoy our stay

Room Tip: If you wont quite get non street side, if you can afford get the suite it has two rooms spa and two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrien19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    128
    50
    9
    7
See reviews for
36
59
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I'm sure we were ready for the "luxury" of the Victoria Regia, having spent 6 days at a jungle camp on the river. Even if that had an influence on our experience, still, this really is a lovely hotel. The beds are comfortable, the air-conditioning is (pardon the pun) a breath of fresh air after the heat of the Amazon and Iquitos. As others have said, some rooms are quite dark but that might work for some. The hotel restaurant is quite good if a bit pricey by Iquitos standards but the included breakfast was the best we had in Peru. Altogether, a welcome retreat.

Room Tip: If brightness is an issue, ask for a room that receives lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCKSaintJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

If you have ever visited Iquitos you will understand rating this place with very high marks. It is almost luxury given the location. I wasn't comfortable with the closet elevator but stairways are nice even having been on the fifth floor. We stayed here twice at two different times in January and while the first room was efficient and clean but nothing to write about, the second room was very nice. A huge upgrade from the first. The location is fine and within walking distance of the waterfront and parks. Not to shabby.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Bottom line:
Pro:
Great AC
Pool
Clean rooms
Solid location
Hot showers

Con:
Horrible, rude staff
Very inconsistent wifi


We stayed here for a night after coming back from our very rustic jungle lodge. It was heaven to have working AC, a pool and wonderful showers. It isn't in a fantastic location, but it's good. Just a quick walk or cheap mototaxi ride to the Plaza de Armas.
My only complaint is the staff. We were checked in rather coolly, but I didn't think much about it until later when we were blatantly ignored and actually snarked at by one of the people working reception. The wifi was VERY spotty, and we were trying to print our boarding passes for over an hour (we ended up going to the airport early because it never worked). We were charged 1 sol per piece of paper to print them! In all of my travels around the world, I've never had to pay for paper to print a boarding pass, not at business hotels, 5-star hotels or low-down hostels. Really lame. (I should mention one other staff guy ran out in the rain to buy printer ink because they were all out. That was nice.)
I'm actually having a hard time expressing just how rude this woman was. Hello? You're in the hospitality business, you don't yell at your guests (btw, I speak Spanish, so it wasn't an ugly American issue). Anyway, I would've given three stars, but my husband made me say 4 because of the fantastic AC.

Room Tip: We had a room with a window that didn't open and was facing an ugly, internal airshaft type thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the Victoria Regis for 5 days, on and off. As other reviewers have noted, it's in a relatively quiet side street close to the action around the Plaza de Armas. The staff are friendly and helpful, with generally a good understanding of English. The air-con in the rooms can be set to chill, and it'll take your breath away! The beds themselves are comfortable and the hot showers excellent. The wi-fi is available in the rooms but, in common with the rest of Iquitos, the internet operates at speeds which seem positively glacial - 50 b/s anyone? OK for emailing at least. The rooms are pretty quiet thanks to the qualities of the glazing but, having stayed on both the 4th and 5th floors, the higher the quieter. The buffet breakfasts are pretty good with a decent choice of fruits, juices, breads and the usual scrambled egg and bacon. In the evening meals are served in the bar and are really good, not that you need to walk very far for umpteen alternatives. The waiters are fun guys though. The area feels completely safe to walk in even late at night. The hotel has an ATM in the lobby which saves a 5 minute walk, and there's a Heliconia Lodge desk for booking jungle trips.

Room Tip: Aim high for a more peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beulah, CO
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We used the Victoria Regia as a base for our medical trips up and down the Amazon. It proved a pleasant place to stay, with clean rooms, very good breakfasts, and fine pisco sours in the evening. The only downside was that the elevator was so slow that we usually walked the 3 flights up to our room! The location is convenient. I fully expect to stay there happily again on future trips.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barring C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days and must say that we had a nice comfy experience
The hotel transport van picked us up from the airport and back too which was good as the motocaros seem to swarm us and being in a strange city we were not too sure if it was safe or not
Our room was on the 4th floor and was very quiet .the air conditioning was most welcome but we had no views of the city
When we went down to breakfast which was very good with lots of fresh fruit we did notice that most of the people staying here were business people who were looking for a certain level of peace and comfort so I felt we made a good choice staying here
It was most amusing in traffic hours to walk to the main road and watch all the motocaros and motor bikes jostling for positions and when the lights changed it was like watching formula 1 at the start of the race !!,
Belen market was fantastic for me but my wife was not too thrilled but I was in heaven !!!! I even ate the b b que worms which tasted better then roasted pork much to my wife,s ??.???
We did a day trip up the amazon which was very nice on the dawn of the amazon who operate a very nice service

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavier f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.5 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 27 in Iquitos
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#21 of 27 in Iquitos
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites

Property: Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
Address: Ricardo Palma 252, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites is located only 4 blocks from the main square of Iquitos. The Hotel is ideal for tourist and business travelers. Room Features • Cable TV• Phone with direct national and international dialing • Air conditioning • Safe deposit box • Wireless internet access • Hair dryer (only in Junior Suites and Suites de Luxe) • Jacuzzi (only in Suite de Luxe) • Mini bar • 220/110 V. power supply Facilities & Services • Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 12:00 m • Room service (from 7:00 am to 23:00 pm)• Bar - Restaurant "Los Vitrales" • Elevator • Laundry service • Luggage storage • Swimming pool • Conference room "Rio Amazonas". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Regia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing