We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best of the hotels in Iquitos?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best of the hotels in Iquitos?”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It is difficult to write this review because we had arrived from staying at a 5 star hotel in Lima which we loved. It is evident that Iquitos does not have much to choose from so, perhaps this is among the best available - we don't know. Overall, it has a 1960 'motel' like feel to it. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room facing the street. the window glass is single pained so we heard the nearby nightclub music until about 2 or 3am. not a great start. The restaurant is really not great but it was pouring rain and we were too tired to go out looking for something else. The staff were pleasant and tried hard. The room was clean though very tired. if you need to spend a night in Iquitos, set you expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    91
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
37
69
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Ideally placed on the Plaza de Armas in the centre of Iquitos, hard to better for convenience, and some 15 years after it was built still the best jumping off point for travel on the rivers or visiting the many rain forest lodges. The Spa was closed at the time of this visit, and the fitness centre was encountering maintenance problems - both aspects hopefully soon to be overcome.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel to enjoy the evening activity in the Plaza; rear of the hotel overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

we did not stay here but stopped in for a meal on our first night in Iquitos as it sits right on the square and provided a lovely view. unfortunately the food was disgusting and we barely ate any of it, yet one of our group had food poisoning as a result. to top it off, the service was rude in the extreme.

Room Tip: avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easternsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Iquitos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel briefly between the time that we completed our Amazon River expedition and left for the airport. Our room was very nice and comfortable. The pool is small, but refreshing. The buffet lunch was average.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldEagle1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff was very accomadating. The breakfast was on the gross side. However, dinner in the restauarant on the 2nd level was awesome. Need to be careful as several friends got bug bites from the hotel bed and room. Room looked ok but there were roaches in the bathroom....gross. Bed was hard. Only one elevator so used the stairs quite often...thus great workout since was on the 5th floor! rooms had beautiful wood doors but just not as clean as one would hope. However, bellman were very helpful in getting luggage to rooms!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for one night on return from the Amazon. What a wonderful night. Superb service, everyone was very helpful and cheerful. Our rooms on the 5 th floor overlooking the square were fantastic. Sure there was great activity and noise going on outside, but isn't that what we travel to see events like this? The reception areas were stunning. Very tranquil inside and beautiful pool area we were delighted that we had the chance to stay there. Early morning wake up call right on time and the early breakfast buffet for very early departures was appreciated. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We ordered room service after a busy day so we could sit and enjoy the action In the square below us. Food arrived hot and in no time.

Room Tip: If you enjoy people watching and don't mind a little noise, go for level 5 overlooking the squar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy,Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived late and the staff was very efficient checking all 31 guests into their rooms. The entertainment outside was very noisy so they cheerfully exchanged outside for inside rooms. The food was good and the staff very helpful. The porters did a great job bringing our luggage to the lobby prior to our departure for the Amazons and Ceiba Tops considering only one elevator. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were very clean and well appointed with dark wood furniture.

Room Tip: Request an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#20 of 27 in Iquitos
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#26 of 27 in Iquitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business

Property: Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Address: Jr. Napo No. 258, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Plaza Hotel And Business
El Dorado Plaza Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing