We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern and comfy”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Located in the very center of the city this hotel was a positive experience. Check-in and service were fast and friendly and the lobby was attractive. We had a room with a great view to the amazon river. The room also had a jacuzzi and was spacious with a separate sofa area, I'm not sure if it was a junior suite although I had only booked a regular room. The minibar was packed with drinks. Breakfast was served next to the pool area. Dined in the evening at the hotel restaurant, they served decent pizza. After that we wanted to go to the Noa Noa disco and a staff member friendly escorted us there. Could definetly have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    91
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
37
69
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton Cda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Although maybe a three star by North American standards, it was a good place to stay except the hot water was scarce. The food was good,the service was goog.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmontonab63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This is for far the best hotel in town, we stayed there prior and after staying in the rain forest.
The staff made everything posible for us to enjoy our visit. They are very helpful and nice, they introduce us a guide that take us to the best attractions in town and to buy at the best price some things we need like SD cards for my camera, softdrinks from brasil that we find only in a special place "sacachoros".
The food at the restaurant was great. The breakfast was nothing special.
The room was Ok, great air conditioner.
We also had a early check in, 7 am and a late check out 4:00 pm.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Seems to be the best hotel in town - still appears pretty worn and would need some refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farfaraway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This hotel has a great location, in the main square of Iquitos. The staff is really nice, actually the Iquiteños are really nice people. This place has good design American style with a pool to refresh the warmly days. Hopefully the rooms has A/C because outside the hotel the temperature is really high; almost 40oC. They can also prepare a tour if you want it and go to visit the Boras, the Amazon River to see the dolphins and other attractions around the city. Be prepare for the Iquitos night life, it is intense!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luatito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

…but by no means a 5 star hotel. It is located on the main plaza and is only 5 min (or less) from the river. It is about a 15 min. ride from the airport. The Hotel has a bar, restaurant, pool, bellmen, and security at the front door all the time. The rooms are clean, the AC works and there is a reasonably priced mini-bar in each room.
Breakfast is included with the room and served buffet style by the pool…better than most. The restaurant is OK for lunch, but there are many places to eat around the hotel that would be better for dinner.

Iquitos can be kind of crazy with fairly pushy street vendors and three wheel taxis everywhere. Even so, we felt very safe with the strong police and military presence. We walked around with expensive optics and video camera and felt safe. Of course you must use common sense. The hotel is a nice cool break from all the hustle outside.
Tip: If the vendors are bothering you too much…just tell them Compro’ ayer (I bought yesterday) or Tengo una (I have one) usually will have them move on.

We stayed there at both ends of a trip down the Amazon with Explorama. Once in the back of the hotel and once in the front. The front has a nice view of the square but can be a little noisy and the back is quiet but no real view. The stay was part of a package so I do not know how much I paid to stay there.

Remember not to drink or brush your teeth with the water. The hotel is very nice but it is not recommended to drink any non-bottled water anywhere in Peru.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

As a place to stay for a pre or post Amazon visit this is fine in that it supplies airconditioning and clean beds. With better management it could be a much better place as there is an "Old Rio" charm to the public area architecture. The breakfeast is pathetic. Central but noisy location.

  • Liked — Good airconditioning
  • Disliked — The breakfeasts
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amanvari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Iquitos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#20 of 27 in Iquitos
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#26 of 27 in Iquitos
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business

Property: Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Address: Jr. Napo No. 258, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Region: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Plaza Hotel And Business
El Dorado Plaza Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing