We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“purest, most adventurous jungle experience”
Review of Tapiche Reserve

Tapiche Reserve
Ranked #8 of 57 things to do in Iquitos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE #1 place to see wildlife in its natural habitat. BEWARE: we have recently learned of local scammers selling cheap rip-off tours using our name. We are the only company that operates in our private property. Book directly through our website linked here on TA or at our office in Iquitos inside the Green Track Hostel. NEVER trust the street guides and vendors in Iquitos, for your own safety and well-being! When you sign up to go to the jungle with us, you're not just going to experience one of the purest, most pristine primary rainforests on earth. It's not just about witnessing wild animals of the air, land and water in their natural habitats, undisturbed, like you've probably never seen before. Those things are a given. But you should also know that when you visit, you are helping us protect this precious place. We can't do it without you. The Reserve is located in primary rainforest, and it is our mission to coexist with the jungle environment without disturbing its natural processes. We have ongoing efforts to save a species of river turtle known locally as taricaya (Podocnemis unifilis), which can live to 60 years of age and plays a crucial part in the region's ecosystem. We have also been monitoring our populations of red uakari monkey (Cacajao calvus), which is nearly extinct in Peru due to hunting and the destruction of its habitat. By choosing to visit the jungle with us, you are directly helping us maintain and protect these projects, the Reserve and the local people. Your presence on the trails and in the creeks shows local hunters and loggers that we are watching and patrolling the property. Your financial contribution pays for lodge and boat maintenance and the local people's salaries. Quite frankly, the area's (and Peru's, for that matter) conservation laws are few and weak. Those that do exist are not enforced, making them equal to non-existent. To add insult to injury, the government continues to support business interests over the environment, effectively turning the rainforest into a giant lumber yard/oil well. We don't get support from any other organization, government nor private, local nor international. You absolutely make a difference. We'd like to highlight two main areas of concern with regards to conservation in our area: the illegal animal trade and the illegal logging trade. Both are booming business sectors that have been deeply entrenched in the local psyche and economy for years. Yet, like all businesses, they are driven by demand. And who is doing the demanding? Tourists, clients, customers, buyers...basically you. You can help change the landscape of the market simply by making conscious decisions about what you spend you spend your money on, regardless of whether you're buying experiences, food, souvenirs or furniture. Get ready for a life-changing experience at the Tapiche Reserve!
Reviewed 17 April 2014

i did this jungle tour in november and was absolutely blown away by this unique experience. for me it was not only adventure but one of the most enlightening and beautiful experiences i've had on my journey. going on the boat towards the reserve felt like being on the way to freedom.. disconnecting from all the things we don't need and at the same time (re)connecting to nature making our body, mind and soul healthy and fulfilled and letting them flourish!

the reserve is so far away from any civilisation that i could see the untouched, pure jungle without any human disturbance or destruction. katoo's incredible knowledge about all animals, plants and survival tricks made this adventure so enriching and unique. he's so passionate about what he does and gives his best to make it an unforgettable and unique experience for every individual visitor according to his/her wishes, passions and abilities.

not only can i recommend this tour because of the absolute beauty of this part of the jungle, all the animals, the plants, the trees, the information and unique service but also because you contribute at the same time to protect this part of the jungle, its animals, plants and biodiversity from destruction!

i feel this adventure has the potential to (re)awaken our original human instincts and connection to nature, to enlighten us when we come with an open heart and open eyes and to bring peace to our heart because it makes us understand that nature has it all perfectly designed!

i'm very grateful for this experience, thank you, malou

3  Thank Mariekun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great review , and for chosing to see the wild life untouched, I remember you specificaly asked that you didnt want to see wild animals in domentic conditions.
I wish more people were like you, and there were no animals held for photos.
The beauti lays on the eyes of the viewer, the enlightening in the Nature lover's hearth.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"green track hostel"
in 7 reviews
"howler monkeys"
in 8 reviews
"jungle experience"
in 13 reviews
"his passion"
in 5 reviews
"jungle walks"
in 7 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 8 reviews
"primary rainforest"
in 4 reviews
"authentic experience"
in 7 reviews
"remote location"
in 3 reviews
"the owner"
in 13 reviews
"pink dolphins"
in 13 reviews
"old trees"
in 3 reviews
"observation tower"
in 3 reviews
"river dolphins"
in 6 reviews
"rain water"
in 3 reviews
"the managers"
in 2 reviews
"conservation area"
in 2 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

What can you say about Tapiche Reserve that hasn't already been said. This was a highlight of my month long holiday in Peru. Tapiche Reserve is not the Hilton nor does it serve fine cuisine. What it does have is a passionate operator & staff. Anyone heading to the Amazon Jungle within Peru should forget the others & stay here. The experiance & eagle eyes of the guides is invaluable. They would see things that most of us would never see. Traveling along the rivers & creeks in a canoe folowing rare Bald Uakari monkeys for nearly 3 hours was priceless. The bird hatchery although difficult to get too was an experiance all should attempt.

This reserve is an asset to the world. A special piece of paradise & the more people who support it by attending & experiancing it the better.

Hi Katoo & Deborah, thank you for a wonderfull experiance.

PS Next time I'll expect steak, wine & tripple layered cake.

Thanks Chris.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

I also can find the wright words to thank you and all that support the Tapiche Reserve, and chosing the "dificult " way to see wild life in the wild.

Katoo
PS I dont know about the stake ,wine & tripple layered cake. but for sure there will be more wild life to be seeing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I went into this tour having no idea what it would be like (a friend picked it) and it turned out to be incredible. Katoo led my friends and I on boat and on foot through the jungle with a machete in his hand, getting us reasonably close to all sorts of animals (like birds, monkeys, dolphins, caimans, otters). Because he owns the land and cares about conservation, everything is intact -- he's not wrecking things to make it tourist friendly, which is great. He also hires local people to work at his camp and they're all quite friendly.

Our trip wasn't physically demanding but it did get really hot, there were tons of bugs, and we were out searching for animals for most of the day. If you're up for that then I think you'll have a great time.

Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

:)
Thank you so much Mike for the positive review, the easy way of protecting the rain forest is helping the people that live in it to have a alternative income, and visitors like you and your friends provide that to us so we can keep the Tap[iche Reserve dream alive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

When selecting our Amazon experience we had a number of requirements we were looking for. Katoo was easily able meet these and offered much more.

1. We did not want to go to a petting zoo or have a fake "jungle" experience where animals are kept as pets to show to tourists. We wanted the real deal and we got it.

2. We wanted to be far from the city, far from other tourists and in a small group. Once out of Iquitos/Requena we saw only the staff on the reserve and local people in the villages we visited on the way or traveling on the river.

3. As much as possible we wanted our money to go directly to local people and businesses, not to a national or multinational corporation. Our conversations with Katoo confirmed that this is a local operation with the profits being used to support the reserve.

4. We didn't want the guide or any staff to feel compelled to hunt down, pester or bait animals for us tourists. During our stay no one pursued or distressed any animals. We saw the animals at the appropriate distance and always in the wild.

5. We wanted to support conservation and help promote an alternative to the habitat destruction and hunting that often occurs in this region. Again our conversations with Katoo confirmed that this is certainly his intention and he is doing all he can to promote this way of life.

6. Finally we wanted to see some awesome animals, plants and unique scenery in an amazing and beautiful place. We got this and much more!

Highly recommended. Thank you.

4  Thank suzie_somewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much pointing it all out, I really dont think it should be different. Every point you made was exactly the things that are most important to us. I hope others from the tourism industry see this and start making changes, and also that other travelers and tourists realize that this is the best way to both appreciate wildlife and protect it at the same time. Thank you again for your visit and for supporting the Tapiche Reserve.

Katoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The 5-day trip to the remote and beautiful Reserva Tapiche Ohara was one of the highlights of our trip through Southamerica.
Katoo, owner and guide, is more than familiar with the jungle so we learned a lot about the animals and plants we saw ("only" saw, as Katoo has principles that include not catching animals for the sole purpose of entertaining tourists). A truly great experience!
And a fair price, compared to other operators (which also do not go as far into the jungle). The food was really good as well.
Throughout the trip we felt more like part of a family than part of a tourist group.
By taking a trip to the Reserva you not only have a great experience but you also contribute a lot to the preservation of this beautiful place. Since Katoo owns the property, no hunting and tree-cutting is allowed and a lot of species have recovered or have reclaimed their niches.

We also recommend staying at the affiliated Green Track Hostel in Iquitos before and after your trip. Best breakfast so far.

Thank Angie2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Ja, Danke Ihr beiden,
It is not great just to see ? why should we catch animals, why there are people willing to hold animals for photos and worse why there are people offering such thing.
Comments like your just make it worth it all the hard work to keep the reserve the way it is now.
There is no luck involved in seeing the Real jungle inhabitants, the animals are out there, first you need skills, than you go meet them. Tourism is a way of create a alternative income to locals so they don’t have to harm the jungle to eat.
Thank you for not choosing and helping the Tapiche Reserve and the Green Track hostel to stay in Iquitos.


Katoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapiche Reserve also viewed

 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Tapiche Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing